Allegory

Comments

103 comments posted
Booker T Washington's 1895 Speech

5. In the next to last sentence, Washington's phrase, "in a willing obedience among all classes to the mandates of law" helps him create:
A. climax.
B. allegory.
C. antithesis.
D. elaborate simile.
E. understatement.

I think this would be an allegory, because none of the others make sense to me, but I'm not positive?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/30/2016 - 21:31
animal farm is a really good

animal farm is a really good allegory

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/19/2016 - 04:46
Allegory

Is "With forms that no man can discover' an allegory?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/04/2016 - 00:59
allegory??????????????

" DOES A CAT TALK LIKE A COW, OR A COW TALK LIKE A CAT?"' NO DEY DONT"' ... "' WELL, THEN, AIN'T IT NATURAL AND RIGHT FOR A FRENCHMAN TO TALK DIFFERENT FROM US?"'
- The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/02/2015 - 03:59
No

They are different species, whereas a Frenchman is still a human.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/30/2016 - 18:22
No way

they belong to different regions so technically they will have different qualities. also why don't we say he is not likea frenchman

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/11/2016 - 18:21
lol

no it dont

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/03/2015 - 23:54
help

Does "The Alchemist" use allegory?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/16/2015 - 05:01
help

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/23/2016 - 19:21
Yep. The Alchemist is an

Yep. The Alchemist is an allegorical novel.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/23/2015 - 08:45
?

you mean the anime?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/08/2015 - 09:45
what are those

what
are
those

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/19/2016 - 17:30
What are those

I'm those are my sandles

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/31/2016 - 15:13
Those are my chanclas!

Those are my chanclas!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/25/2016 - 07:08
those are my hobbit feet

Hello I am Sam and those are my hobbit feet.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/14/2016 - 22:07
??

I think they mean the novel by Paulo Coelho.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/18/2015 - 20:47
I think they mean the novel

I think they mean the novel by Paulo Coelho.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/18/2015 - 20:46
I think they mean the anime,

I think they mean the anime, full metal alchemist.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/14/2015 - 14:26
Anime

anime is not exactly known for its use of literary devices...

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/18/2016 - 00:31
You are so wrong

try looking at some decent anime and you'd see- neon genesis evangelion has had dissertations written on its use of literary devices and more and cowboy bebop has an entire episode as an allegory to the series ^-^

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/30/2016 - 01:06
yay

this information is helpful

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/14/2015 - 16:28
yo dawg I luved it

truly beuatiful thanks dog helped a lot

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/28/2015 - 23:28
clumxiemhie

Allegory is nothing but an improvised metaphor.... o_O
hmm...maybe!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/05/2015 - 14:40
allegory

not really

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/20/2015 - 17:52
Help needed!

Is this an allegory, "I rationalized the omission: there was no point in getting all worked up about a kiss." ?!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/05/2015 - 00:30
No, sorry.

Sorry, but that's not an allegory. You're not describing anything; greater or otherwise. I dunno if you still need this answer, but I just learned what an allegory is so...no.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/04/2015 - 00:23
GRAMMAR IS NEEDED

You people need to watch your grammar- capitalization, spelling......once again.....no wonder why your failing. :-)

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/08/2014 - 04:29
you're*

you're*

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/17/2016 - 00:22
Check your own grammar FIRST (-:

Your- Belonging to or associated with any person in general
Ex: Your grammar skills need to be checked.

You're You + are =you're
Ex: You're bad at using the terms 'your' and 'you're'.

:-))))

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/28/2015 - 17:07
You used the wrong

You used the wrong 'your'...it should be 'you're' which is short for you are as in you're failing.....Those in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/11/2015 - 18:30
Irony

O' the irony !

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 07/02/2015 - 01:27
yes, grammar is needed

you're, not your.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/30/2015 - 01:03
You're

You're

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/25/2015 - 22:47
You're*

You're*

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/17/2015 - 08:35
Hahaha

Hoo Neds gramar wen u have a phone

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/03/2015 - 16:41
Wow

People these days*sighs*

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/14/2016 - 22:11
*you're failing

*you're failing

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/17/2014 - 02:47
YOU'RE

So funny!!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/07/2015 - 18:07
litrature

i like this for my sub ^_^ ;*

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/28/2014 - 04:36
The Crucible

THE CRUCIBLE IS AN ALLEGORY FOR MCCARTHYISM. I FINALLY GET IT!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/24/2014 - 19:25
FAIL

3rd week of school officially feel like I'm failing AP English...

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/29/2014 - 04:00
Omg sameeeee

Also in the third week in ap English. Came on this site cuz we need to know this for the ap exam!!!
:(

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/06/2015 - 22:49
lol

lol

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/20/2015 - 04:26
me to bro

me to bro

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/27/2014 - 19:29
MISTAKES!

How ironic... you should have spelled it, "Me too, Bro." Otherwise, you're saying "me to bro"... which sounds just plain wierd. Wonder why you're failing... :)

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/10/2014 - 14:49
*weird

*weird

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/21/2014 - 05:19
The donkey talking about ears

The donkey talking about ears XDDDD

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/27/2014 - 08:37
Don't give up, and remember

Don't give up, and remember to relax. Everyone has their favorite methods but meditation is seriously one of the best breaks one can give their mind during times of chaos!

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/21/2014 - 10:22
I think this may be the

I think this may be the literary device, but I'm not sure. I need the device that means that the author says something, but it is much more profound in meaning than what's on the surface.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/29/2014 - 02:37
it is

What grade are you in?????? I am in fifth and this easy!!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/18/2015 - 22:29

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options