Faulty Parallelism

Comments

11 comments posted
helpful

i lke it

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/20/2014 - 14:03
Pomato

"Better than yours, it is," they're like.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/20/2013 - 04:46
None of the previous comments

None of the previous comments use parallelism OR faulty parallelism correctly.

Bad: "They are laughing, not WITH ME." There is nothing for "with me" to parallel.
Good: "They are laughing AT ME, not WITH ME." The preposition and pronoun are repeated, helping the two phrases "parallel" each other.

Bad: "He liked to PLAY basketball and RIDING horses." These verbs are not in the same tense.
Good: "He liked to PLAY basketball and RIDE horses." These verbs are in the same tense.
Good: "He liked PLAYING basketball and RIDING horses." Again, same tense.

Faulty parallelism is something to be avoided.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/09/2012 - 23:57
Thank you! this helped a lot,

Thank you! this helped a lot, but are faulty parallelisms a literary device or something to avoid?!?!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/22/2013 - 04:42
dude....

of course they are. they gave examples of FAULTY parallelism. so congratulations, you caught onto it SOMEWHAT.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/07/2013 - 18:00
haha

all the boys to the yard, my milkshake brings

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/14/2012 - 20:58
Mmmmm!

Yoda, you must be.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/09/2014 - 00:28
is it just reversed

is it just reversed

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/29/2012 - 08:22
No.

No.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/09/2012 - 23:57
Simple

Approve of this, Yoda does.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/26/2012 - 19:29
Simple: Reply

lol

does, yes Yoda

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/20/2014 - 22:53

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options