Hyperbole

Comments

171 comments posted
this website...

i think this website is very great! it has helped me a lot.. thank you

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/18/2014 - 17:06
Help?!

Can a hyperbole be a comparison literary device????????? Someone plz help me! I have a presentation tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!! :(

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/16/2014 - 02:50
satire

Its like a horror movie that is a comedy

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/15/2014 - 21:24
fire in your eyes?

fire in your eyes?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/10/2014 - 03:35
is this a hyperbole

you were knee-high to a cricket is this a hyperbole or a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/07/2014 - 22:43
Hyperbole question please

What does "Letting go of those hyperboles" mean??

Thanks!
Brenda

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/05/2014 - 23:51
Is this a hyperbole?

"Creak across my soul"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/03/2014 - 02:11
yes

that is a hyperbole :)

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/05/2014 - 11:41
help please

what are the differences and similarities between a hyperbole and a paradox? please.....

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/04/2014 - 00:14
Help

Is "heart of pure gold" a metaphor or hyperbole?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/13/2014 - 05:46
Metaphor.

Metaphor.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/12/2014 - 02:35
heart of pure gold

metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/20/2014 - 19:46
heart of gold

i think both - but probably more of a metaphor than a hyperbole......

hope this helps :)

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/15/2014 - 20:25
I'm not sure if it's a

I'm not sure if it's a metaphor but i know it isn't a hyperbole.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/14/2014 - 01:00
i think metaphor

i think metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/13/2014 - 17:15
Metaphor

It is a hyperbole, for sure.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/13/2014 - 01:46
(Starship) Heart of Gold

I'm sure you don't necessarily need any more opinions, but personally I would definitely consider it to be a metaphor, and most certainly not an example of hyperbole: the narrator describes this character's (presumably) heart as being pure gold. Were xe to refer to the character as someone who is always right, or does the right thing every time, than it would be hyperbole; were xe to say they were worth all the gold in the world, it would be hyperbole; however, in this instance only a metaphor is used.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/22/2014 - 06:03
Not a Hyperbole

I agree with you. I know for sure that it isn't a hyperbole. "A heart full of gold" isn't exaggerating anything, no one's heart has any gold in it, much less filled with it, therefore, a "Heart full of gold" is not a hyperbole. (sorry, I know that you probably don't need any more comments but here I am... hope that this helped)

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/24/2014 - 04:33
Daydreaming

I can't find a good hyperbole to go into an daydreaming poem. Could someone help me?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/10/2014 - 02:13
daydreaming hyperbole

how about:
i had my head in the clouds

my head was so high in the clouds that i couldn't see the ground

the daydream unfolded like a film and all sense of reality slipped away....

hope this helps :)

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/15/2014 - 20:22
The Scarlet Ibis

Would The Scarlet Ibis by James Hurst be an example of a hyperbole? Specifically the prt when the narrator is about to kill Doodle?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/20/2014 - 18:00
The Scarlet Ibis

yes it would be considered a hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/10/2014 - 22:50
scarlet ibis

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/10/2014 - 22:49
Okay For Now Hyperbole

What is a hyperbole and symbolizim for the book okay for now?=

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/17/2014 - 03:27
The house of spirits

Is it a hyperbole when Rosa is described as having green hair and translucent skin?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/03/2014 - 00:28
it should be imagery

it should be imagery

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/05/2014 - 14:33
is this a hyperbole

They were ready to eat him alive?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 08/30/2014 - 20:00
Hyperbole

No it's not

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/11/2014 - 20:37
Hyperbole? or Not?

Is "ocean-blue eyes" a hyperbole?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 07/21/2014 - 02:33
not

no, it's metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/04/2014 - 05:10
I wonder

when we use "too" in a sentence (this is too perfect) would it also be considered a hyperbole?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/13/2014 - 05:04
No

No probably not you need more detail and exaggerate more maybe " This is so perfect even a perfectionist cant compare... " something like that

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 07/02/2014 - 17:48
can anyone see if there is a hyderbole in this poem?

there are so many islands!
As many islands as the stars at night on that branched tree from which meteors are shaken
like falling fruit around the schooner flight
But things must fall, and it always was
on one hand is Venus and the other mars;
fall, and are one just as this earth is one
island in archipelagoes of stars.
My first friend was the sea. Now is the last.
I stop talking now . I work, I study the stars
sometimes is just me, and the soft-scissor foam
as the deck turn white and the light over me
is a road in white moonlight taking me home
S
Shabine sang to you from the depths of the sea.

PLEASE HELP ME!!
♦ ♦ ♦ help me please

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/12/2014 - 00:23
Poem's Hyperbole

I believe the hyperbole within the poem would be: "...tree from which meteors are shaken like falling fruit around the schooner flight..."

Shaun

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/19/2014 - 06:22
Poem

That's is a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/13/2014 - 01:53
Yes ,it is a simile

Yes ,it is a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/23/2014 - 18:33
As many islands as the stars...

this is exaggeration but gets across the point of there being numerous islands...

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/18/2014 - 12:53
Romeo and Juliet quote

Is "married to her grave" a hyberbole?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/09/2014 - 11:05
is thiis hyperbole?

my head knocks against the stars
please help!!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/26/2014 - 23:36
is this a hyperbole?

“...I feel my blood burning, my anger mounting..i push hard, and finally he must let me go”

this is due in like 2 hours. please help.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/24/2014 - 04:29
no this isn't

this is a metaphor on a hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/29/2014 - 18:48
Is this a hyperbole?

nope! Like this: its an exaggeration, i.e. "My pillow is made of stones" "I ran hundred's of miles today!" Neither of which is true, but to get the point across you fib a bit.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/25/2014 - 15:12
but

but what if it is really made of stones?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/09/2014 - 01:06
Is This A Hyperbole

I told you a million times to clean your room!

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/09/2014 - 21:57
Yes it is, because that

Yes it is, because that statement is an exaggeration. Your didn't really tell you to clean your room 1,000,000 times.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/16/2014 - 13:45
what if they did tell you a

what if they did tell you a million times

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/20/2014 - 08:10
Is this an hyperbole?

Yesterday is gone faster than the blast of a comet

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/07/2014 - 15:18
huh

the boyz at gym are prettayyyy

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/09/2014 - 16:55
yes it is. A hyperbole is

yes it is. A hyperbole is basically being over dramatic about things such as; "I'm so hungry i could eat a horse."

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/10/2014 - 20:40
Is this Hyperbole

If we could drive the words we say Every single line would lead the way. With the speed of light here on our side We're chasing time. Can't afford to lose velocity When your going places never seen. With the speed of light here on our side We're chasing time, chasing time.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/30/2014 - 21:11

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options