Hyperbole

Comments

285 comments posted
Is this hyperbole or an idiom? ....had set his blood on fire,

Is this hyperbole or idiom? ....'had set his blood on Fri.e '

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 07/26/2016 - 20:40
what is a Hyperbole for the sun

Pls someone help me ...... what is a hyperbole for the sun?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/20/2016 - 10:55
the sun is melting me

the sun is melting me

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/23/2016 - 03:04
Is this a hyperbole

His face lights up

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 06/18/2016 - 12:50
Hyperbole

Is this a hyperbole, "I'm so hungry I could eat a horse."

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/07/2016 - 22:11
Of course. Can you literally

Of course. Can you literally eat a horse? No, it's too big. That's why it is exagerration

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/08/2016 - 17:03
The cat grew so quick that it

The cat grew so quick that it began to have its own gravitational pull.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/20/2016 - 03:06
is "they laughed their brains

is "they laughed their brains out" a hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/20/2016 - 03:04
Yes

essentially yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/01/2016 - 05:10
hyperbole???????

looking straight into my soul

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/22/2016 - 21:51
Not really

it's more figurative language than hyperbole. Hyperbole is an exaggeration like walking into a candy shop and saying, "I'm going to eat all of the chocolate!", or getting off a ride and saying, "We went a million feet in the air!"

Though the exclamation marks are unnecessary, the point is that there is exaggeration. Figurative language more describes one thing as something more dramatic, as your example does

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/01/2016 - 05:16
Hyperbole

Is "You couldn't love without this doughnut" a hyperbole?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/11/2016 - 22:39
hyperbole

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/16/2016 - 00:21
no

no , a hyperbole is an extremely extended exaggeration

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/19/2016 - 19:41
is this a hyperbole ?

"Is tomorrow May 3?" ,current date is April 9

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/08/2016 - 21:17
Well...

I guess it could be if the message you were trying to say was that it feels like time is passing by extremely quickly, or slowly, and so it feels like tomorrow should be May 3rd. However, that example is pretty specific for a hyperbole.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/25/2016 - 04:05
Is, "they were starring into

Is, "they were starring into the eyes of death" a hyperbole?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/29/2016 - 22:20
no

i dont think so

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/29/2016 - 03:21
thats a metaphor

thats a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/17/2016 - 20:55
no that is not a hyperbole

no

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/05/2016 - 19:11
I feel like it is more

I feel like it is more personification than hyperbole. You would be personifying death, not exaggerating their action.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/30/2016 - 03:43
it is staring not starring

it is staring not starring

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/16/2016 - 22:48
Is this a hyperbole

Everyone knows that!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/25/2016 - 16:50
We're on fire

We're on fire

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/16/2016 - 00:00
This is a hyperbole

I'm drained from all the commotion

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/14/2016 - 04:00
Is this a Hyperbole?

Keep your mind on death...?

is this a Hyperbole?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/09/2016 - 04:13
keep your mind on death...?

no

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/11/2016 - 18:14
hyperbole and exaggeration

so whats the difference between hyperbole and exaggeration?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/10/2016 - 11:03
Hyperbole and exaggeration

There seems that there is no difference between those two none at all

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/24/2016 - 02:55
NONE

No difference.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/01/2016 - 20:25
They are the same

They are the same

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/31/2016 - 19:30
They're synonyms.

They're synonyms.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/29/2016 - 16:45
Hwlp

Is bored to death a hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/06/2016 - 00:29
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/25/2016 - 12:42
Is this a hyperbole

I'll spend the rest of my life in doubt

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/17/2015 - 21:40
it depends

it depends on the context: if you are literally going to spend the rest of your life in doubt --> no (because you're not exaggerating) .
If you are going to be in doubt for a very long time, but at some point will end your doubting it is a hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/19/2016 - 19:43
I agree

Completely right- I would lean to the side of "no" though.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/01/2016 - 20:26
Like the hole that was left in me

Is that a hyperbole??????????????

Help!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/10/2015 - 00:17
No that is a metaphor.

No that is a metaphor.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/11/2015 - 08:46
*hyperbolic metaphor

*hyperbolic metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/01/2016 - 03:50
simile

Actually that's a simile because it uses "like"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/27/2016 - 03:50
not a simile

No. It's not comparing two things so it's not a simile. :)

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/01/2016 - 20:28
Is this a hyperbole??

She was so hungry that she ate the whole cornfield.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/04/2015 - 03:40
Yes

Yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/09/2015 - 20:41
Is this a hyperbole?

"The Earth Has Burned The Sky"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/02/2015 - 00:57
Would this be considered a Hyperbole ?

broken loose from the paralyzing chains of conformity

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/23/2015 - 09:43
No

This would be considered a metaphor relating chains to conformity.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/18/2016 - 03:47
Poetic device?

She was stone cold

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/19/2015 - 14:49
She was stone cold

Yes

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/22/2016 - 14:59
Reading

A simile is when two words connect. Words:like and as

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/10/2015 - 01:30

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options