Hyperbole

Comments

343 comments posted
Answer

I'm pretty sure the first is simply a metaphor.
The second quote would be personification

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/24/2014 - 09:08
Help!

I have "I can't go on. My stomach is bursting." Would that work

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/01/2013 - 02:24
Yes.

Stomachs can expand, but it isn't realistic to suggest it bursting. It's an exaggeration, so yes. It's a hyperbole.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/02/2013 - 22:52
is this a hyperbole?

"Rasheed's house was much smaller than Jalil's, but, compared to Mariam and Nana's kolba, it was a mansion."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/01/2013 - 00:55
Nope

No, that's more of a metaphor.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/23/2014 - 02:06
Nope

No. There's no way. That's a comparison. Not technically a Hyperbole! XD

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/04/2014 - 01:22
I dont think so.

I dont think so.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/25/2013 - 20:15
is this a hyperbole?

Is "everywhere you look" a hyperbole?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/23/2013 - 00:51
Re: is this a hyperbole?

No, it is not. A hyperbole is an exaggeration. I can look everywhere myself, therefore, means this is not exaggerated.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/02/2013 - 16:17
terrifying experience, in the

terrifying experience, in the very jaws of a cat

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/13/2013 - 20:35
is this hyperbole?

gentlemen may cry

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/24/2013 - 21:06
No

It is not impossible for a man to cry. It can be common and it puts no emphasis on the men crying.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/29/2013 - 02:28
is this a hyperbole? =/

"They have tons of money."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/20/2013 - 01:27
Sort of

It is a really basic form of a Hyperbole.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/23/2013 - 02:08
Help!

Now lies the Earth all Danae to the stars,
And all thy heart lies open unto me.
What type of literary device should I use for this stanza?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/14/2013 - 23:47
is this a hyperbole?

"girls melt when i get near them." ?????

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/09/2013 - 01:32
NO

If girls could melt, I'd be a puddle!

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/04/2014 - 01:24
yes

Yes it is. Girls can't melt.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/12/2013 - 01:29
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/21/2013 - 06:20
hyperbole

"Crank these amps up to 11!"

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/26/2013 - 15:52
No

Not a hyperbole. In the movie, the amps actually do go up to 11.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/02/2013 - 15:43
Is this a Hyperbole?

The despair that lay on their hearts was incalculable.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/23/2013 - 08:25
Yes

Despair cant actually be on your heart

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/12/2013 - 23:20
Rule of thumb

If the base statement falls within the confines of reality, but it is exaggerated to levels outside of reality, then it is hyperbole, e.g. "Bolt ran as fast as his namesake would imply."

So I would say that your statement is indeed hyperbole.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/21/2013 - 17:35
I always got my papers marked

I always got my papers marked up for what I remember the professor calling hyperbole. But I thought it was because I was saying something twice in the same sentence. What would that be called?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/08/2013 - 06:42
Is this a hyperbole?

should bury his head in the sand and pretend he is not there.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 07/05/2013 - 01:08
no!!

no!!

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/18/2013 - 22:35
help!

is this phrase considered a hyperbole?? "we whirled around and my heart droped."

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 07/03/2013 - 21:17
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/04/2013 - 14:02
is this a hyperbole?" well,

is this a hyperbole?" well, Lord knows, we've put enough rent into this here rat trap to pay for four houses by now"

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/11/2013 - 00:32
A Raisin in the Sun?

A Raisin in the Sun?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/02/2013 - 04:29
IS THIS A HYPERBOLE?

"you can be the shoes and I can be the laces" or "you're the apple to my pie" Please someone tell me what this is. I think its a hyperbole, or a metaphor not really sure

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/31/2013 - 04:01
Its an anology

yeah it's not a metaphor or a hyperbole... it is an analogy . (well at least the 2nd one is... I'm not so sure about the 1st one though. If you changed it to "you can be the shoes to my laces" it would work.) ;D

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/24/2014 - 04:45
nope

nope

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/08/2013 - 17:01
metaphor

When you call something another thing, it's a metaphor. "Her eyes were twinkling stars." If you say it is like something else, it's a simile: "Her eyes were like twinkling stars."

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 07/29/2013 - 00:32
Metaphor

No I think it is a metaphor.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/24/2013 - 20:10
answers?????? maybe

i believe it is and did you get that from that one girl auburn's song?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/04/2013 - 14:01
I hate this

I hate doing a project about this. Doing a project about Germany I can handel, but finding literary devices in a book is NOT my cup of tea... And my teacher says reading should be fun... (._.)

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/23/2013 - 02:26
now that's Hyperbully

LOL

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/27/2013 - 06:26
NOTICED YET

did anyone notice that everywhere you look that there is some type of figurative language?i learned that the hard way!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/11/2013 - 01:02
soo would this be an example?

soo would this be an example? .. "let us not wallow in the valley of dispair"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/06/2013 - 03:49
No

That would be an allusion, because it is making a biblical reference.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/27/2013 - 21:46
Is this one?

Coin is so mean, she could marry snow

Hunger Games Rules
But
The Vampire Diaries Rock

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/06/2012 - 04:50
ye

yesh, thats hyperbole.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/27/2013 - 00:35
This is so helpful, I can do

This is so helpful, I can do anything with ease!!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/29/2012 - 03:39
Thankyou

Thankyou so much! This website helped me a lot! <3 Now I go on it all the time when it comes to Literary Devices. =D

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/24/2012 - 04:15
book i read

I just made up a bunch of literary devices for a book I just read. This site is helping me.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/08/2012 - 05:22
Okay................

Good to Know

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/12/2013 - 07:47
boom, pop, snap, crack are

boom, pop, snap, crack are onomatopoeia, not hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/04/2012 - 13:15
is this a hyperbole?

is this a hyperbole? Buzz,boom,pop?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/19/2012 - 05:28

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options