Imagery

Comments

204 comments posted
Imagery?

The air was heavy with the stench of blood, and as he looked down, the normally white floor was covered in dark, congealing liquid.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/25/2016 - 21:00
Is this imagery

The conch was smash to a powder

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/20/2016 - 02:27
Is this imagery?

Montresor and Fortunato are down in the “catacombs.”

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/14/2016 - 03:47
Are these Imagery???

Are these Imagery? " It's time to strap our boots on " and " Wipe the blood out of our eyes " Please help. This is for an important assignment!

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/23/2016 - 03:51
poetry

no this is not imagery. Imagery appeals to our five senses **Hint Hint***

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/22/2016 - 08:56
Not imagery

This wouldn't be imagery because it isn't depicting a mental picture, it's just someone giving a speech to some other people, not the narrator talking

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/26/2016 - 03:50
Is this imagery???

Your love is like a river, that I am floating down.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/16/2016 - 22:13
This is more like symbolism

This is more like symbolism

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/18/2016 - 17:46
This is a simile and imagery.

Your love is "like" a river, "that i am floating down." The "like" makes it a simile and the part after the "," is a form of imagery.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/20/2016 - 22:59
that is a similie

that is a similie

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/19/2016 - 07:00
simile and imagery dude-bro

simile and imagery dude-bro

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/19/2016 - 03:12
No, it is a simile. Its

No, it is a simile. Its comparing the love to a river using "like".

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/19/2016 - 02:59
imagery

"then he mended the mossy wooden fence" is this imagery pls help

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/23/2016 - 09:09
dunno if this will help

dunno if this will help anyone reading this in the future but the answer is no. this sentence only describes the fence. the fence is mossy and wooden. imagery would be more like "as he mended the mossy wooden fence, the gloomy air filled with thick and suffocating fog, as humid as a sauna".

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/04/2016 - 00:22
In "The Two Streams" by

In "The Two Streams" by Oliver Wendell Holmes, the repetition of sounds in the descriptions "sloping sides," "rushing river-tides" and "foam-flecked Oregon" are examples of which literary device used to provide imagery of nature?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/30/2016 - 22:40
Alliteration is what you call

Alliteration is what you call that literary device.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/21/2016 - 14:25
i love this website!!!!!

It helps me with so much especially my literary journal for my English class! :) <3

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/21/2016 - 17:29
imagery

our imagination

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/20/2016 - 15:53
image?

"I´ll go out in the FROSTY DARK."

Would this be an image??

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/10/2016 - 19:36
Make it a little more descriptive

I'll go out into the frosty dark environment; the night sky black as the depths if the ocean and colder than a bucket of ice. that was terrible but something like that give it a little more.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 07/30/2016 - 03:02
if an image in ur mind pops

if an image in ur mind pops up yea

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/18/2016 - 22:23
Help!!!!

What's it called when someone uses all types of imagery. My teacher said it was tableau d'avant but I'm in French 2 and well that doesn't sound right. I have no idea if I heard him right or wrong but help please.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/01/2016 - 21:40
imagery

words in pictures

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/01/2016 - 21:29
It's a metaphor

Because it's implying that friendship is in the air, yet it's not, it means that free ship is all around.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/08/2016 - 21:10
What technique is this?

'friendship is in the air'

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 03/05/2016 - 07:29
Friendship is in the air

I would say a metaphor. This is because friendship isnt literally in the air (for obvious reasons) and a metaphor is a figure of speech in which a word or phrase is applied to an object or action to which it is not literally applicable. Hope this helped :)

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/10/2016 - 20:18
Metaphor

Friendship is compared to air to show that friendship is everywhere, i just like air we see everyday. In another aspect, since we cannot see air but we feel and know that it's there, here we can imply that the voice uses imagery (tactile) to show that friendship is just the same as that (DO NOT TRUST ME)

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/08/2016 - 10:15
Metaphor

Metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/15/2016 - 02:19
Is this imagery HELP PLEASE MY ESSAY IS DUE TOMORROW!

When daylight comes thought and the day is anew

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/22/2016 - 05:26
lol

hjhhjhjhjhjjhjhjhjhjhjhjhjkhjkhjjhjhjkhjhjhjhjkhjjhjhjhk haha lol

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/19/2016 - 01:45
is this imagery ?

“With his ebony hands on each ivory key”
“Swaying to and fro on his rickety stool”

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/17/2016 - 17:54
wonderful!

wonderful!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/23/2015 - 20:37
Wonderful

The images in my head are simple wonderful

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/12/2016 - 23:40
Is this imagery

It seems like it was only yesterday

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/01/2015 - 02:56
No

This is Flashback

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/15/2016 - 05:27
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/04/2015 - 05:07
Imagery???

what would be an example of bastille imagery??

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/01/2015 - 02:03
Is this imagery?

Is this imagery? "Staned with rotting brown magnolia petals.." Plzz need it for my essay

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/16/2015 - 08:50
I'm imagery lol

Yes it is mr imagery

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/01/2015 - 10:43
"is this imagery?" response

Yes it is, because the quote describes the object in a way that creates a mental image of this object in the readers mind. Specifically it would be considered visual imagery because the type of "mental image" it creates in the readers head is a visual representation of what this object looks like (rather that what the smell of the object is or the texture or sound, etc.). The specific "stained" and "rotting brown" gives specific visual detail on the object.
Hoped this helped!

( English has been on of my best subjects my entire life, so I'm pretty certain my answer is accurate)

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/17/2015 - 04:56
thank u so much

thank u so much

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/10/2016 - 17:19
I like imagery

IF I were to do sominthing it would be imsgery

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/28/2015 - 02:10
Is this Imagery?

"Really?" I don't tell Sarah I lied yesterday. But I put the box of Frosted Flakes back in the cupboard and eat the Corn Pops instead. They're too hard and too sweet and too full of puffed air. I eat a whole bowlful and still feel totally empty inside.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/22/2015 - 23:06
No

I don't believe so....

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/26/2015 - 01:27
HELP

Is John Winthrop's work "City upon a hill" imagery???

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/16/2015 - 04:18
is this imagery

and bounded into the sun like an angel entering a brightly heaven

.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/12/2015 - 18:26
More like a simile

More like a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/12/2015 - 23:37
A simile is imagery.

Just read the description above. Simple.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/18/2016 - 12:45
HELP

Is this imagery?

"Hope no longer hid in the dark palmetto thicket but perched like a cardinal in the lacy toothbrush tree."

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/06/2015 - 16:55
Yes

It is imagery as you would be able to imagine how hope is perched like a cardinal. Also, there is a bit of personification as perching is something that a person would do

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/21/2015 - 03:20

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options