Imagery

Comments

105 comments posted
Visual Imagery

Can someone please help me find an example of visual imagery in literature?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/29/2014 - 06:15
Thank you.

This is a great site for people starting IB English, especially when writing or prepping for a commentary.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/24/2014 - 11:14
Thank you, kind stranger.

This site has helped me with my honors classes. It does a great job of describing what the teacher said (or didn't say) more clearly. So thank you.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/09/2014 - 08:12
Amazing site!

This site has also helped me with my english-9 honors classes it is a great "tool" for any student that were to use it.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/12/2014 - 07:20
A question

Does Imagery entail simile,
metaphor, personification,
vivid description, symbols and
repetition?
I thought it's abou the 1st 3...

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/08/2014 - 13:16
is this imagery?

i pour the rest of my Milo directly into the sinkhole leaving no traces.

Is that imagery?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/21/2014 - 08:27
Negative Ghost Rider The Pattern Is Full

well you see, no i do not believe this is imagery due to the fact that milo is not a living thing and cannot re-produce as hard as i have tried to make it ;) hehe

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/27/2014 - 06:03
Sort of...

Imagery is when the reader can picture the story that the writer wrote while reading it. I can picture your sentence, but its mostly the whole story coming together in picture.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/24/2014 - 23:45
really helps me

I can use this site for everything

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/06/2014 - 20:33
Light vs Dark Imagery

What is the difference between light and dark imagery?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/11/2014 - 02:37
poetry

thanx a lot..

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/22/2014 - 13:22
I just learned Imagery and figurative language

So,
Metaphors and Similes are a part of figurative language.
Examples of a simile:
1. as white as snow
2. as fast as a bullet train
They phrases compare two unlike things using the words 'as' and 'like'.
Examples of a metaphor:
1. He is a bullet train
These phrases compare two unlike things without using the word 'as' and 'like'.
Imagery is completely different.
These words are used to create mental images in the reader's mind which appeals to the five senses - sight, hear, touch, taste and smell.
I hope you figured it out now.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/11/2014 - 23:45
literary devices

thank u

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/06/2014 - 17:07
help

Btw, what is the difference between an imagey, metaphor,simile?
Help please....

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/04/2014 - 14:30
Imagery, Simile, Metaphor

Imagery is like a picture in your head using words

Simile is a comparison using like or as

Metaphor is a simile but not using like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/12/2014 - 03:48
A metaphor is when u compare

A metaphor is when u compare two unlike things with out using the words "like" or "as".
A simile is when u compare two unlike things using the words "like" or "as".

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/06/2014 - 15:50
metaphor and similes are a

metaphor and similes are a form of imagery.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/06/2014 - 02:36
This is great for

This is great for poetry
Thanks

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/27/2014 - 01:02
very helpful

If you're doing an English assignment that needs you to talk about literary devices, this is your website!

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/06/2014 - 22:29
AWESOME SITE!

I HUGELY recommend this site- it is really helpful!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/26/2014 - 23:00
Love it!

A great resource-really helped

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/26/2014 - 22:57
Good Job

I had no clue there were so many literary devices. Totally raised my grade from C to A in LA.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/26/2014 - 22:26
thank u

it helped a lot!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/20/2014 - 14:54
Great site! :D

Thank you so much, this site is fantastic! :) :)

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/16/2014 - 03:31
<3

This site is so helpful :)

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/03/2014 - 04:15
helpful with major works data sheet

My teacher wanted us to come up with 5 different literary devices for our assignment and i could only come up with four that I understood. Thanks to this website, I was able to find another Literary device and understand the meaning of it easily! Good examples by the way

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/13/2014 - 16:10
love lave lave

so much love for this place thank you

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/14/2014 - 05:17
YAY

The definitions of all the literary terms are so simple to understand here!! Thanks! :) :P

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 12/07/2013 - 11:42
YAY!!!!!!!!!

# :)

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/05/2014 - 21:15
Awesome

Thanks so much for this site! I needed it for my readers response :[)

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/31/2013 - 22:14
same here i love this site

same here i love this site

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/01/2013 - 00:48
I love this website

I love this website

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/30/2013 - 02:40
YES

so helpfull thank you i have a huge quiz on this tomorrow!

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/14/2014 - 05:15
XD

helped me out on my review sheet love the web site

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/19/2014 - 14:16
Does this count?

"... take off those crazy medieval tights" from "Sonnet" by Billy collins. It bring an image of medieval garb, but I'm not entirely sure if its imagery or something else

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/27/2013 - 22:36
Thank the Great English Teacher in the sky

YES

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/23/2013 - 02:09
This helps me so much in my

This helps me so much in my lit class! so many definitions....so little time!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/09/2013 - 03:01
TYBG

THANK YOU BASED GOD FOR THIS WEBSITE

i LOVE YOU AND YOUR FAMILY - LIL B

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/26/2013 - 16:36
awesome!!

helped me in english

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/20/2013 - 21:14
GOOD JOB!!

GOOD JOB!!

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/08/2013 - 20:03
lol

k bad job :c

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/19/2013 - 16:17
thank u! that's exactly how

thank u! that's exactly how it was

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/27/2014 - 05:43
gee

bravo!

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/21/2013 - 19:53
my go-to site for literary devices

This is probably the best site for literary devices. I used to only use it for school work but now I actually reference to it in my personal writing as well.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/01/2013 - 02:49
YEAH

this will help me impress my hot english teacher!

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/28/2013 - 07:42
Stud.

whichever kid said he is impressing his hot english teacher, I think you deserve a round of applause my goodman.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/12/2014 - 07:21
Nice

love it

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/19/2013 - 20:40
Really? wow...

Really? wow...

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/15/2013 - 15:53
yeah

yeah

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/28/2014 - 19:33
you're my favorite.

you're my favorite.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/12/2013 - 21:28

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options