Imagery

Comments

183 comments posted
image?

"I´ll go out in the FROSTY DARK."

Would this be an image??

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/10/2016 - 19:36
if an image in ur mind pops

if an image in ur mind pops up yea

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/18/2016 - 22:23
Help!!!!

What's it called when someone uses all types of imagery. My teacher said it was tableau d'avant but I'm in French 2 and well that doesn't sound right. I have no idea if I heard him right or wrong but help please.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/01/2016 - 21:40
imagery

words in pictures

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/01/2016 - 21:29
It's a metaphor

Because it's implying that friendship is in the air, yet it's not, it means that free ship is all around.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/08/2016 - 21:10
What technique is this?

'friendship is in the air'

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 03/05/2016 - 07:29
Friendship is in the air

I would say a metaphor. This is because friendship isnt literally in the air (for obvious reasons) and a metaphor is a figure of speech in which a word or phrase is applied to an object or action to which it is not literally applicable. Hope this helped :)

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/10/2016 - 20:18
Metaphor

Friendship is compared to air to show that friendship is everywhere, i just like air we see everyday. In another aspect, since we cannot see air but we feel and know that it's there, here we can imply that the voice uses imagery (tactile) to show that friendship is just the same as that (DO NOT TRUST ME)

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/08/2016 - 10:15
Metaphor

Metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/15/2016 - 02:19
Is this imagery HELP PLEASE MY ESSAY IS DUE TOMORROW!

When daylight comes thought and the day is anew

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/22/2016 - 05:26
lol

hjhhjhjhjhjjhjhjhjhjhjhjhjkhjkhjjhjhjkhjhjhjhjkhjjhjhjhk haha lol

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/19/2016 - 01:45
is this imagery ?

“With his ebony hands on each ivory key”
“Swaying to and fro on his rickety stool”

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/17/2016 - 17:54
wonderful!

wonderful!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/23/2015 - 20:37
Wonderful

The images in my head are simple wonderful

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/12/2016 - 23:40
Is this imagery

It seems like it was only yesterday

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/01/2015 - 02:56
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/04/2015 - 05:07
Imagery???

what would be an example of bastille imagery??

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/01/2015 - 02:03
Is this imagery?

Is this imagery? "Staned with rotting brown magnolia petals.." Plzz need it for my essay

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/16/2015 - 08:50
I'm imagery lol

Yes it is mr imagery

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/01/2015 - 10:43
"is this imagery?" response

Yes it is, because the quote describes the object in a way that creates a mental image of this object in the readers mind. Specifically it would be considered visual imagery because the type of "mental image" it creates in the readers head is a visual representation of what this object looks like (rather that what the smell of the object is or the texture or sound, etc.). The specific "stained" and "rotting brown" gives specific visual detail on the object.
Hoped this helped!

( English has been on of my best subjects my entire life, so I'm pretty certain my answer is accurate)

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/17/2015 - 04:56
I like imagery

IF I were to do sominthing it would be imsgery

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/28/2015 - 02:10
Is this Imagery?

"Really?" I don't tell Sarah I lied yesterday. But I put the box of Frosted Flakes back in the cupboard and eat the Corn Pops instead. They're too hard and too sweet and too full of puffed air. I eat a whole bowlful and still feel totally empty inside.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/22/2015 - 23:06
No

I don't believe so....

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/26/2015 - 01:27
HELP

Is John Winthrop's work "City upon a hill" imagery???

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/16/2015 - 04:18
is this imagery

and bounded into the sun like an angel entering a brightly heaven

.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/12/2015 - 18:26
More like a simile

More like a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/12/2015 - 23:37
A simile is imagery.

Just read the description above. Simple.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/18/2016 - 12:45
HELP

Is this imagery?

"Hope no longer hid in the dark palmetto thicket but perched like a cardinal in the lacy toothbrush tree."

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/06/2015 - 16:55
Yes

It is imagery as you would be able to imagine how hope is perched like a cardinal. Also, there is a bit of personification as perching is something that a person would do

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/21/2015 - 03:20
NO

It seems more like anthropomorphism. Giving human or animal characteristics to hope which isn't alive.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/15/2015 - 02:00
Yes, I think it is

Yes, I think it is

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/07/2015 - 04:09
Please Help.... Is this Imagery???

"And then-the watcher at his pulse took fright.
No one believed."

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 08/29/2015 - 14:26
no

i like this

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/27/2015 - 14:56
Uhhhh... Kind of..

the thing about this is that it doesn't really describe what the scene is. It describes what he did, but it doesn't necessarily allow me to visualize it in my head. I am not an expert, but this seems to be some other device.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/21/2015 - 01:13
Is this imagery or is there a better literary device?

Rattled an entire magazine of ammunition.
We were all flat on the ground.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/21/2015 - 19:24
Yes

I see kids rattling magazines of ammo while laying flat on the ground
Or a gun and its rough power and forces pushing a magazine back and forth in a rattling motion while innocent civilians fall like a bag of potatoes on the floor. The eye inputs information and the brain translates it. That's how you see. Your imagery lacks information. It's an open interpretation

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/06/2016 - 17:44
is this imagery?

I believe if a pebble is thrown upwards
I can pierce the heavens
And see the angels at play

I think the last line can be..will it be ?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/18/2015 - 19:04
it is .

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/23/2015 - 02:30
Best Website

it help a lot for my essay

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/10/2015 - 09:25
Help please

Is this imagery or...? I can't figure it out and it's really frustrating me:
"For three years, since that girl left, his front has been impeccable. Now it peels from his skin, leaving the truth of him at the wheel of the car."
The book I'm reading has a lot of these and I never know what type of language they are. Thanks if you help :-)))

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/10/2015 - 02:44
Thinking metaphor

I would need more context to be sure, but I'd call this either metaphor or synecdoche. His peeling is a representation of an emotional tearing, that this girl gets at his facades and leaves him bare.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 08/22/2015 - 19:07
thank you so much!

this website really helped me study for finals!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/18/2015 - 02:28
imagery

i really found it helpful...its SUPERB!!!......thanks a lot

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/25/2015 - 11:38
I agree

Yeah I agree

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/02/2015 - 06:49
Thanks!

This website really helped me make a book of common literary devices! Thank yo sooo much for this website!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/15/2015 - 02:45
its a great site!!!

its a great site!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/08/2015 - 17:37
thanks

this is a useful sight it helped a lot with my English essay

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/05/2015 - 23:15
Thanks it helped me

Thanks it helped me

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/30/2015 - 11:40
thnxs this helped a lot :)

thnxs this helped a lot :)

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/27/2015 - 20:41
is this imagery??????????????????

April Rain
It isn't raining to me,
It's raining daffodils;
In every dimpled drop I see
Wild flowers on the Hill.
The clouds of gray engulf the day
And overwhelmed the town –
It isn't raining rain to me,
It's raining roses down.
It isn't raining rain to me,
But fields of Clover Bloom
Where any buccaneering bee
May find a bed in room.
A health unto the happy,
A fig for him who frets –
It isn't raining to me,
It's raining violets.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/09/2015 - 22:46

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options