Metaphor

Comments

471 comments posted
Can this be a metaphor I just

Can this be a metaphor

I just wanna be free
Not a slave to the stereotype

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/18/2018 - 16:15
Metaphor or hyperbole?

“ get off my back” (not literally)

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/07/2018 - 03:59
as it is not literal, it is

as it is not literal, it is an idiom- a phrase that has a meaning beyond the words it is madeof.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/12/2018 - 11:59
Simile vs. Metaphor

A simile uses like or as, while metaphors simply declare. "You are the apple of my eye" is a metaphor, as it simply states, as " You are like the fries to my burger" is a simile, it uses 'LIKE'.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/01/2018 - 01:48
simile vs metaphor

thanks that helped

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/04/2018 - 23:16
Metaphor?

You are the happiness of the house

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/27/2018 - 10:52
isn't that personification,

isn't that personification, giving inanimate objects human qualities/traits?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/30/2018 - 05:00
Yes

I think so :)

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/01/2018 - 10:53
wow

wowowowowow

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/28/2018 - 22:55
Metaphor

Is " Nation of leeches" a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/26/2018 - 07:30
Is Nation of leeches a metaphor?

Leeches, in the sentence above is a metaphor. The author compared people to parasites.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/01/2018 - 21:26
Is this a metaphor?

"Her skin sparkled with beauty"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/07/2018 - 06:16
no it is not a metaphor

no it is not a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/15/2018 - 18:53
She's a sparkle of beauty

She's a sparkle of beauty --is a better example of a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/26/2018 - 20:32
No, I do not believe so. It

No, I do not believe so. It is, however, a great example of personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/14/2018 - 04:56
Metaphor?

I climbed in the stillness broken only by the noise of snow.

Metaphor or not?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/19/2018 - 01:38
Is this a metaphor: Dandelion vs human being

"...all the personality traits we attribute to the ferocious animal..."

Is it necessary that ALL the personality traits are embodied. If a human being is compared to a dandelion for fragility and complexity of structure, doesn't that establish a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/14/2018 - 20:12
Good Metaphor book

From Mrs. Hoys Class the novel MAUS 1 is a living legend for metaphors

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/29/2018 - 18:38
Africa

Adds feather to ones cap is a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/01/2018 - 01:19
Is this a metaphor?

That silence bubbled all the way home, the theme threatening to burst...

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/27/2018 - 15:58
Seems like personification to

Seems like personification to me. Silence is not capable of action.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 07/26/2018 - 23:20
Nice Work!!

This is a very helpful and usefull websites good job making it :) 5/5

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/12/2018 - 22:54
Literature

“The yard was so dark that even Scrooge, who knew its every stone, was fain to grope with his hands. The fog and frost so hung about the black old gateway of the house, that it seemed as if the Genius of the Weather sat in mournful meditation on the threshold.” Is that a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/26/2017 - 18:35
is this a metaphor

Uncle Carlos makes him hand that over.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/12/2017 - 08:17
Reply

No because you are not comparing anything to Uncle Carlos.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/01/2018 - 03:59
no

no i dont think it is

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/29/2018 - 17:46
Is this a Metaphor?

We are the ones who will never be broken

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/25/2017 - 23:49
Is this a metaphor

"But once it finally dawns that you have lost, then get off your high horse".

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/22/2017 - 19:20
Yes, that is a metaphor

Yes, it is a metaphor (high horse is the metaphor).

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/04/2017 - 00:38
is this a metaphor?

and I am a diamond to him who loves me;

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/13/2017 - 03:00
Yes it is

Yes it is

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/30/2017 - 19:56
Which literary device

"with the weapon of knowledge" would that be a representation of a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/11/2017 - 16:25
i think it would be a

i think it would be a personification since you are attaching human fellings to an object

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/17/2017 - 01:36
Is this a Metaphor?

A candle loses othing by lighting another candle

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/08/2017 - 23:01
Aphorism

Hi,
Perhaps the device you are looking for is "aphorism:"

An aphorism is a concise statement that is made in a matter of fact tone to state a principle or an opinion that is generally understood to be a universal truth. Aphorisms are often adages, wise sayings and maxims aimed at imparting sense and wisdom. It is to be noted that aphorisms are usually witty and curt and often have an underlying tone of authority to them.

But there may be an even better term for you of which I am unaware!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/18/2017 - 04:31
Nope

No. A metaphor compares two things

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/15/2017 - 21:37
is "if you are tossing and

is "if you are tossing and turnin and you just cant fall a sleep" a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/08/2017 - 18:55
No because it is just

No because it is just describing how you are feeling. Its not really a comparison. It is referring to how people tend to turn over and change positions when they are trying to sleep.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/23/2017 - 16:28
Is it a metaphor?

Is "I felt as if I was being wrapped in a blanket of sorrow" a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/20/2017 - 04:11
no because you said as

no because you said as

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/06/2017 - 20:03
no that is a simile

no that is a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/27/2017 - 01:16
Is this a metaphor:

"I was the seed of the coming free".

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 06/10/2017 - 18:15
Yep. It would be a simile if

Yep. It would be a simile if you used 'was like' though.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/13/2017 - 20:47
Metaphor in poem

Would "heart has left" be considered a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/20/2017 - 02:48
Its a personification

Its not a metaphor as its not being compared but its a personification

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 07/15/2017 - 16:37
NO IT WOULDNT

NO IT WOULDNT

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/06/2017 - 20:47
no because nothing is being

no because nothing is being comparaed

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/20/2017 - 02:00
is this a metaphor

“The backyard fun of my homemade hockey rink had melted away”

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/26/2017 - 09:17
"Is this a metaphor"

That looks like a pun

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/20/2017 - 02:04
Its simile

Its simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/28/2018 - 14:28

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options