Metaphor

Comments

227 comments posted
HELP!!! QUICK!

is "She's a bit long in the tooth, but she has a certain attraction" and how about "‘he still never forgets the ruling passion of his life"????

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/10/2014 - 14:01
Metaphor

Is Smart as a bag of rocks a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/05/2014 - 16:26
simile--it uses like or as

simile--it uses like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/15/2014 - 02:41
I am sure its a similie since

I am sure its a similie since it uses 'as'

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/11/2014 - 04:00
is it

i was wet with anxiety is it a metaphor if not what is it

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/01/2014 - 07:57
Is it a metaphor?

"The music set the tone for a movie whose main character was a personification of Death."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/31/2014 - 00:16
what literary device is this?!

What literary device is, "...as the devoted phalanx prepared to take the field."???

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/20/2014 - 00:24
is this a metaphor

he heard it more with his stomach than his ears

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/17/2014 - 17:21
HELP

Is "...she could see her broken heart, in two pieces. Each half was glowing, and beating under all that white." a metaphor?? If not what is it??

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/12/2014 - 00:12
im having trouble . please help !

Is "I wake up this morning to a thin blanket of white covering our front lawn" a metaphor? or nah? lol

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 08/16/2014 - 21:36
i think the second sentence

i think the second sentence is a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/14/2014 - 02:13
IS THIS A METAPOHOR?

IS "IRON ROD OF OPPRESSION" A METAPHOR. IF IT ISN'T THEN WHAT KIND OF LITERARY DEVICE IS IT? ANSWER QUICKLY

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/06/2014 - 22:32
its a iron of opression a

its a iron of opression a metaphor, if it isnt then what kind of literary device is it?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/10/2014 - 17:03
.

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/11/2014 - 06:03
metaphor?

"it is the festival of guns, the carnival of misery" is this a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 06/01/2014 - 17:12
Yes it is.

Yes it is.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/27/2014 - 18:12
unknown

really!?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/05/2014 - 12:48
Help.. what type of literary devices is this?

I try to block it out, but the thought keeps springing up. More weeds in my garden of worthiness.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/22/2014 - 01:17
I'm really late, but here's some enlightment.

There's multiple literary devices in that sentence. The "thought springing up" is an example of personification, and the metaphor is the thought being compared to weeds.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 07/24/2014 - 00:57
Social Methaphor?

What is the definition of a social metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/14/2014 - 15:05
metaphor

I would like to sit on the rock surf at sea

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/08/2014 - 14:42
is this a metaphor or hyperbole

is "I feel as though everything was gone to hell inside of me."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/20/2014 - 23:50
metaphor bud

metaphor bud

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/20/2014 - 10:46
Not exactly

Not exactly

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/07/2014 - 13:23
It IS a hyperbole as it is

It IS a hyperbole as it is not compared to anything

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/02/2014 - 13:20
Is this a metaphor? If not, what is it?

"...and the solemn silence of this glorious..."

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/11/2014 - 18:24
Personification

Also known as anthropomorphism. Solemn is a human trait given to an unhuman thing (silence)

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/19/2014 - 23:04
Is this a metaphor? She used

Is this a metaphor?
She used to sing. He killed that too

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/02/2014 - 10:19
Nope. It's not a comparison.

Nope. It's not a comparison.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/04/2014 - 08:01
Is "The reason is you"

Would that be considered a metaphor? I'm looking for literary devices in the song Reason by Hoobastank. I've only got characterization and Point of view. I need 2 more.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/28/2014 - 01:41
not exactly

not exactly

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/02/2014 - 15:25
is this a metaphor?

Rats are filth.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 03/15/2014 - 22:31
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/02/2014 - 15:24
no that's not a metaphor

no that's not a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/26/2014 - 00:39
Help

But the hands were the hands of death

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/12/2014 - 06:45
Metaphor?

Is this a metaphor:
" It was like talking to the wall of the house"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/09/2014 - 23:02
Yes

Metaphors don't use like try: It was practically talking to the wall of the house

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/12/2014 - 03:55
simile

uses like

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/20/2014 - 23:51
Its a simile

That is a simile because it uses the word like

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 03/15/2014 - 23:07
Is This a Metaphor & Personification?

Mama said, "You're a pretty girl".

(Mama is referring to society)

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/04/2014 - 21:59
Using pretty would be

Using pretty would be personification but as it says "a pretty girl" it makes it a metaphor.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/06/2014 - 03:01
Symbol and Metaphor

What is the difference between a symbol and a metaphor if the metaphor is extensively used in a longer work? Can they be used interchangeably?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/02/2014 - 13:46
is this a metaphor? if not what is it?

Destroy it and man is destroyed

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/27/2014 - 03:54
Help!

Is this a metaphor?? :The man left without a backward glance

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/27/2014 - 03:02
Metaphors

Hi, I am writing a free verse poem for ELA and I was wondering about a line in my poem.
Is this a metaphor?
"She had washed the inside"
It's pertaining to hunger because we are writing about Anne Frank during the time of the Holocaust in which many Jews died from malnutrition in concentration camps. Please answer ASAP (-: Thank you

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/25/2014 - 04:21
Nope

No this is not a metaphor. Something like
"Hamsters were running in her stomach"
would be much more metaphorical,however it has waaaaaaaay more syllables than your line has..but then you said it was a free verse poem.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/04/2014 - 16:57
Is this a metaphor?

im slicker than an oil spill

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/25/2014 - 01:34
Simile not Metaphor

This is a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/06/2014 - 03:03
Not a similie

No... It says Slicker than an oil spill. Not Slick as an oil spill. Keep in mind similes are "Like" or "As." This is likely a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/18/2014 - 19:18
Is this a metaphor?

I was trying to fly without leaving the ground.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/13/2014 - 21:50

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options