Metaphor

Comments

287 comments posted
Is this a metaphor?

Is "the breeze sank to stillness" a metaphor? Thanks.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/20/2015 - 01:20
is this a metaphor i can

is this a metaphor

i can hardly see

for smoke blinds my eyes

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/06/2015 - 15:12
No, that's a haiku.

No, that's a haiku.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/19/2015 - 01:46
is Tv was a babysitter a

is Tv was a babysitter a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/30/2015 - 00:45
yes it is :)

yes it is :)

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 07/31/2015 - 14:35
Example

"Shot me out of the sky
You're my kryptonite
You keep making me weak
Yeah, frozen and can't breathe"

Kryptonite makes superman weak. Harry used it in describing a girl, who makes her weak.
both are different but have something in common.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/11/2015 - 15:45
Is this a metaphor

The sight seemed to paralyse me

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/09/2015 - 19:49
no, i think this is more

no, i think this is more along the lines of a hyperbole. there's no comparison really, and it's not saying that something /is/ something.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/29/2015 - 19:58
is this a metaphor?

"you could not use magic in the great arts"

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/07/2015 - 03:08
Is this a metaphor

Nobody said life would be easy

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/28/2015 - 20:32
I think it is not

I think it is not a metaphor, just saying.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/02/2015 - 06:04
He's a pig.

He's a pig.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/18/2015 - 23:34
Yup.

it compares two things without using like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/05/2015 - 14:22
Is this a metaphor?

They crowned them with medals

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/15/2015 - 05:19
Is this a metaphor? If not, what is it?

"I wouldnt have to fight that little part of myself that wants to wake up, come alive."

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/15/2015 - 02:25
i think it should be

i think it should be considered personification? Giving something that isn't human a human attribute?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/01/2015 - 13:16
'face swollen with regrets"?

'face swollen with regrets"?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/08/2015 - 02:20
Is this a metaphor"keepin up

Is this a metaphor"keepin up with the pace"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/13/2015 - 22:27
is this a metaphor??or not??

die of happiness?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 03/28/2015 - 04:42
Not... i would say it is an

Not... i would say it is an oxymoron...

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/05/2015 - 22:33
its a paradox

its a paradox

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/06/2015 - 02:25
metaphor

is "truth held in the jaws of crocodile" a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/26/2015 - 15:03
i think it is cuz similes

i think it is cuz similes relate things using as or like but this phrase has neither word so maybe

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/20/2015 - 05:59
a metaphor

Personification makes a strong comparison by giving human qualities to an inanimate thing, emphasizes themes.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/11/2015 - 12:45
is he flies from person to

is he flies from person to person a implied metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/11/2015 - 23:08
unless he actually flies

unless he actually flies

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/20/2015 - 06:00
Metaphors

Yes it is

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/09/2015 - 22:41
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/06/2015 - 00:17
Metaphor

Is "He is a giant" a metaphor ?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/04/2015 - 14:53
or it might be real (jack and

or it might be real (jack and the beanstalk)
This "He is a giant" is considered subjective/relative, really depends on what you plan on writing.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/07/2015 - 16:39
Hyperbole

Hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/25/2015 - 15:21
WHAT IS...

Is Skeleton in a closet a Metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/29/2015 - 12:11
Metaphor

Skeleton in the closet is an good example of a metaphor. In fact, it's a double metaphor. In this expression, a misdeed of someone's past is being compared to the skeleton and the secrecy behind the deed is represented by the closet.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/25/2015 - 17:21
Metaphor

I believe this is an idiom. The phrase "skeleton in the closet" means that you have an embarrassing secret that you wish to keep secret. It does not literally mean there is a skeleton in the closet, unless you really do mean that there is an actual skeleton is in the closet.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/16/2015 - 00:24
What do you think? If you

What do you think?
If you think it is then it is.
~Annonymous

I think it isn't one because first of all its not comparing to things. Secondly, its not even a literary device...common on is that seriously one a skeleton in a closet that's to literal.
Although, it depends how its taken...you...will...never..know.*

*Everyone would know if you respond to this though :)

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/18/2015 - 02:33
What literary device?

What literary device could the following sentence be categorized under: "Looked at him with a question in her eyes"?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/18/2015 - 00:52
Simile

A simile uses 'like' or 'as' to compare 2 ideas/objects/etc.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/05/2015 - 03:59
simile or metaphor

I was at school a long time ago, so I might be wrong, but I was always taught that while a simile uses the words "as" or "like" , neverthless a simile is a metaphor ( which is the general term for a device connecting two ideas, while a simile describes a specific type of metaphor usins as/ like)

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/09/2015 - 18:01
Clarification!!!!!!! MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Personification- making an inanimate object appear to be human.
Metaphor- a comparison of two or more things WITHOUT using the words 'like' or 'as'.
Simile- a comparison of two or more things USING the words 'like' or 'as'.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/30/2014 - 17:15
King of the Jungle...

Lions live in the savanna, not the jungle. Tigers would be more apt.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/13/2014 - 08:34
Help!!

" Johnny was scared of his shadow after that."

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/30/2014 - 04:33
Euphemism

Euphemism

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/09/2015 - 21:43
Um...

I'm pretty sure it means what it means...

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 12/13/2014 - 19:54
I concur.

I concur.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/13/2015 - 03:34
Metaphor or Simile?

Is "like children in a swimming pool for the first time" a metaphor or a simile?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/21/2014 - 06:53
metaphor or simile

its a simile since it uses the word like

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/02/2015 - 00:47
Simile

Simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/13/2015 - 15:31
simile... it uses like or as

simile... it uses like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/21/2014 - 02:04
simile because there is a

simile because there is a word"like"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/19/2014 - 09:00
If it has "like" or "as" then

If it has "like" or "as" then it is a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/11/2014 - 21:34

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options