Metaphor

Comments

423 comments posted
Is this a metaphor:

"I was the seed of the coming free".

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 06/10/2017 - 18:15
Metaphor in poem

Would "heart has left" be considered a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/20/2017 - 02:48
NO IT WOULDNT

NO IT WOULDNT

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/06/2017 - 20:47
no because nothing is being

no because nothing is being comparaed

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/20/2017 - 02:00
is this a metaphor

“The backyard fun of my homemade hockey rink had melted away”

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/26/2017 - 09:17
Is this a Metaphor

. Freedom and fear, justice and cruelty, have always been at war, and we know that
God is not neutral between them.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/21/2017 - 03:56
What is an extended Metaphor

What is an extended Metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/13/2017 - 22:53
is Chummy, the giant was as

is Chummy, the giant was as tall as the Redwood, a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/30/2017 - 23:28
Metaphor or Simile

I believe that similes use the word "as" or "like", so your example is a simile. Metaphors don't tell you what you are directly relating the object to. For example " the thunder growling in the bass of the piano" as opposed to a simile " like thunder growling in the bass of the piano".
correct me if I'm wrong but I hope that helped.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/13/2017 - 07:50
metaphor

You are right

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/09/2017 - 10:50
Chummy the giant

No, this is an example of a simile. Similes use "like" or "as". Chummy the giant was AS tall AS the redwood.
Metaphors state that one thing IS another. For example: Usain Bolt was a flash of lightning on the track.
This sentence conveys the message that Bolt was fast, even though it states that he was a literal streak of lightning.
Hope this helps!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/02/2017 - 06:46
No it is a simile.

No it is a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/15/2017 - 23:32
that's a simile

that's a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/12/2017 - 08:10
metaphor???

gotta cancer stick.

referring to a cigarette

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/26/2017 - 04:48
That's Kennings

That's Kennigns

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/05/2017 - 15:56
mataphor?

Is "the whites tickled their funnybone" a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/21/2017 - 23:16
Metaphor | Literary Devices

Helpful info. Fortunate me I found your website accidentally, and
I'm shocked why this accident did not came about earlier!
I bookmarked it.

I do not normally leave comments here's my exception. I've spread this
to my Tumblr.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/03/2017 - 06:04
Metaphor??

Mia is a mouse when she reads.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/28/2016 - 21:09
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/14/2017 - 02:25
mice dont read

mice dont read

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 02/18/2017 - 12:22
Metaphor??

Yes it is a metaphor, as metaphors compare one subject or idea to another. Usually they describe or rename the subject of the sentence, and in this case "mouse" describes or complements "Mia." I've noticed that metaphors always or almost always have a linking verb connecting the two objects together.

Hope this helped!

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/08/2017 - 23:06
Metaphor?

Are "her heart filled with joy" or "his heart filled with fear" metaphors?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/13/2016 - 05:16
is this a metaphor

is an apple a day keeps the doctor away a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/06/2016 - 18:28
Not really

If you know what a simile is, it's a comparison using the words like or as. A metaphor is basically the same thing but instead, you don't use like or as.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/16/2016 - 20:48
METAPHOR

consent is always necessary,
is that a metaphor.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/29/2016 - 10:31
no it is not

no it is not

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/30/2016 - 00:58
is it a metaphor

My lips were wet, my throat was cold,

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/16/2016 - 15:55
No

Those are just statements

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/16/2017 - 20:32
Metaphor?

"Than that poor Brutus, with himself at war"

"with himself at war" a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/14/2016 - 21:03
why is it metaphor?

"his world began to spin as he realized he was looking at the severes right hand og peter solomon."

"his world began to spin" is metaphor, but i dont know what is the explanation
help me please

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/14/2016 - 16:36
Is this a metaphor?

"...with the drum and gush of water, with the sweet crystal fall of showers and the concussion of storms..." -All summer in a day

Is the "sweet crystal fall of showers" or "concussion of storms" a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/05/2016 - 01:13
Is it a metaphor

Lonley as a pea in a bowl of soup is that a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/30/2016 - 22:21
no Simile

it's a simile if it has like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/11/2016 - 04:45
nope, uses "as"

^

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/31/2016 - 21:26
Is this a metaphor? "The time

Is this a metaphor?

"The time has come for you to be tamed," he told her.
-Chronicle of a Death Foretold

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/30/2016 - 22:03
metaphor?

fighting with death

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/18/2016 - 03:07
No

It's personification

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/09/2016 - 01:50
metaphor?

that are the beating hearts of their communities

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/07/2016 - 01:18
is this a metaphor?

'my fate would know no winter,never die

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/25/2016 - 05:15
No Sorry.

No its a personification because humans die not winter.
Its about describing like a human.
A metaphor is saying about something but actually it isnt that or like it.
Hope you understand bye.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/17/2016 - 20:54
metphor from Dracula

Is "This man belongs to me!" a metaphor because he doesn't actually belong to Dracula

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/04/2016 - 08:16
no its not because he is not

no its not because he is not comparing anything

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/02/2016 - 03:59
Is this a metaphor??????

'The country wears perfect rows of shining teeth'
(The Planners by Boey Kim Cheng)

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/31/2016 - 23:00
I swear that is

I swear that is personification

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/16/2016 - 22:20
Yes it is...

Yes it is...

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/02/2016 - 09:15
Is this a metaphor?

Come in and take all the glory.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/03/2016 - 21:57
What I think

I'm not sure but I don't think so because it's not comparing anything

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/12/2016 - 16:20
Is this a metaphor?

You give the air an edge

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 07/14/2016 - 14:52
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/30/2016 - 18:37
Metaphor

Is this a metaphor

"Death of a Giant"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 07/04/2016 - 23:10

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options