Metaphor

Comments

416 comments posted
personification

personification

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/29/2015 - 14:53
"I was a parrot that is

"I was a parrot that is searching for his partner" metaphor or not?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/22/2015 - 08:40
metaphor???

is "theres a fire in my chest" be one?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/12/2015 - 04:55
Fire in my chest?

Yes.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/20/2015 - 23:35
Would 'perfection is a

Would 'perfection is a disease of a nation' be a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/09/2015 - 09:18
Metaphor

Is this a metaphor ?
He felt as if he were in the skies
If it's not what device is it

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/23/2015 - 08:12
it is not a metaphor because

it is not a metaphor because metaphors can not use like or as. But in the text you have used as. This is a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/30/2015 - 18:42
Nanina

I´m not an expert but I think it is not a metaphor because you are not comparing "He" with "the skies" I mean, you´re not describing "He" as the being "the skies"
He just feels like being there.
So I think that would be just imagery. I´ll leave you the definition.

Imagery is intense, descriptive language in a poem that helps to trigger our senses and our memories when we read it.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/26/2015 - 16:55
Metaphor

its ot a metaphor but it is a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/26/2015 - 14:01
is this imagery

"the gusting brook stole it's way down the green mountion dotted with tiny flower in a riot of colours and trees coming alive with gaily chirping birds"?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/21/2015 - 12:19
I would say it's likely

I would say it's likely personification judging by verb choice.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/21/2015 - 18:13
Imagery

Hm. I believe that is imagery.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/23/2015 - 06:59
A metaphor??

Is "One can sort of overlook his peculiar nocturnal life style and feeding habits" a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/19/2015 - 16:26
a metaphor is something not

a metaphor is something not using like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/09/2015 - 02:14
metaphor

her cheek is a rose

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/08/2015 - 00:26
Is this a metaphor?

"I feel like an old man with a knife in my chest"

If not, what literary device is it?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 10/03/2015 - 00:18
simile

simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/05/2015 - 07:18
hmm

Is" his bedroom was a tornado!", a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/29/2015 - 02:11
Damn ass

Damn ass

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/01/2015 - 04:24
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/30/2015 - 01:42
is this a personification line.

"the waves are raging white"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/16/2015 - 16:39
Is "he was like a proverbial

Is "he was like a proverbial chicken" a metaphor? Hahaha a strange one

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/07/2015 - 03:17
no

no because it is using like

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/20/2016 - 08:21
That is a simile because it

That is a simile because it uses like or as.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/08/2015 - 13:29
Is this a metaphor?

Is "the breeze sank to stillness" a metaphor? Thanks.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/20/2015 - 01:20
Yes it is. Breeze is being

Yes it is. Breeze is being described in concrete terms (most specifically a ship).

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/01/2015 - 22:52
Nope

No it is not

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/07/2015 - 18:23
yes it is

yes it is

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/24/2015 - 03:04
is this a metaphor i can

is this a metaphor

i can hardly see

for smoke blinds my eyes

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/06/2015 - 15:12
No, that's a haiku.

No, that's a haiku.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/19/2015 - 01:46
A haiku is a Japanese poem

A haiku is a Japanese poem

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/06/2015 - 03:59
is Tv was a babysitter a

is Tv was a babysitter a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/30/2015 - 00:45
yes it is :)

yes it is :)

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 07/31/2015 - 14:35
Example

"Shot me out of the sky
You're my kryptonite
You keep making me weak
Yeah, frozen and can't breathe"

Kryptonite makes superman weak. Harry used it in describing a girl, who makes her weak.
both are different but have something in common.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/11/2015 - 15:45
Is this a metaphor

The sight seemed to paralyse me

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/09/2015 - 19:49
the sight seem to paralyze me is not a metaphor

The sight seem to paralyze me is not a metaphor, rather a personification, cause saying the sight seem to paralyze you means you are addressing sight as a living creature, and its personification that give living attribute inanimate objects

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/18/2015 - 01:50
no, i think this is more

no, i think this is more along the lines of a hyperbole. there's no comparison really, and it's not saying that something /is/ something.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/29/2015 - 19:58
is this a metaphor?

"you could not use magic in the great arts"

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/07/2015 - 03:08
Is this a metaphor

Nobody said life would be easy

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/28/2015 - 20:32
I think it is not

I think it is not a metaphor, just saying.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/02/2015 - 06:04
He's a pig.

He's a pig.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/18/2015 - 23:34
Yup.

it compares two things without using like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/05/2015 - 14:22
Is this a metaphor?

They crowned them with medals

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/15/2015 - 05:19
Is this a metaphor? If not, what is it?

"I wouldnt have to fight that little part of myself that wants to wake up, come alive."

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/15/2015 - 02:25
i think it should be

i think it should be considered personification? Giving something that isn't human a human attribute?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/01/2015 - 13:16
'face swollen with regrets"?

'face swollen with regrets"?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/08/2015 - 02:20
Is this a metaphor"keepin up

Is this a metaphor"keepin up with the pace"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/13/2015 - 22:27
is this a metaphor??or not??

die of happiness?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 03/28/2015 - 04:42
Not... i would say it is an

Not... i would say it is an oxymoron...

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/05/2015 - 22:33
its a paradox

its a paradox

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/06/2015 - 02:25

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options