Metaphor

Comments

441 comments posted
Personification or a Simile

Would "Shoes become alive" be personification or a simile?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/04/2016 - 00:37
Personification

Personification

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/10/2016 - 08:20
is this a metaphor???

pearly white is a metaphor???????

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/17/2016 - 05:45
no, because pearl is a color,

no, because pearl is a color, it is being used as an adjective. if you wanted to make it a metaphor, you would say "as white as pearls" or something similar.

hope this helps!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/02/2016 - 07:49
That's a simile.

You can't use like or as in a metaphor. They would have to say that whatever it is actually is a pearl or that it is "a pearl of *blank*" in order for it to be a metaphor.

Although the metaphor of calling something a pearl is usually used to mean precious, like a 'pearl of knowledge"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/17/2016 - 03:04
Is "my life has been a

Is "my life has been a whirlwind" a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/07/2016 - 10:46
Yep

Yes, if your life has felt unstable and hectic, then a whirlwind would be a good metaphor to describe it.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/29/2016 - 02:58
An Extended Metaphor

An extended is the use of a metaphor which is spread throughout a story or a piece of text

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/07/2016 - 20:52
Metaphor?

She was a Parrot repeating everything she hears

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/14/2015 - 15:38
Yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/18/2016 - 23:59
metaphore

Jamal was a "LION" on the football field. Showing how he was "DOMINATING" the competition in the lovely game of football.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/06/2016 - 17:51
metaphor

In any nonviolent campaign there are four basic steps: (1) Collection of the facts to determine whether injustices are alive; (2) Negotiation; (3) Self-purification; and (4) Direct action.

is this a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/04/2015 - 01:03
Letter from Birmingham Jail

No, that is Logos. and a list that MLK is using to address the clergymen's issues, so that they can see that direct action wasn't the first step. to add more ethos to MLK's argument.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/19/2016 - 05:40
Is this a metaphor??

Neo Confucianism brought some intense hostility to the table.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/30/2015 - 08:43
oops

sorry, no

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/26/2016 - 17:15
?????

no that is a sentence.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/17/2015 - 03:57
Is this a metaphor?

She growled like a chained animal waiting to be released, with the power to claw through anything

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/28/2015 - 18:06
What is it...

It's a Simile

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/01/2016 - 19:06
NO

thats a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/25/2016 - 19:56
metaphors

No that is not 'cause a metaphor doesn't use these words "like", "as", & "such as". When you noticed that there's a word like I've written earlier it means ... it belongs to SIMILES

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/03/2016 - 14:36
no you cant say what its

no you cant say what its doing, how, or why

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/14/2015 - 15:37
Actually, that is a similie.

Actually, that is a similie. It follows the same rule as a metaphor but makes use of the words "like" or "as" as well.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/08/2015 - 21:56
It's a simile. simile uses

It's a simile.
simile uses "like" or "as"
metaphor does not use "like" or "as"

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/01/2015 - 02:36
thats a simile

thats a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/30/2015 - 19:58
Metaphor or Personification?

"My memory came alive".

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/26/2015 - 18:17
personification

personification

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/29/2015 - 14:53
"I was a parrot that is

"I was a parrot that is searching for his partner" metaphor or not?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/22/2015 - 08:40
metaphor???

is "theres a fire in my chest" be one?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/12/2015 - 04:55
Fire in my chest?

Yes.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/20/2015 - 23:35
Would 'perfection is a

Would 'perfection is a disease of a nation' be a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/09/2015 - 09:18
Metaphor

Is this a metaphor ?
He felt as if he were in the skies
If it's not what device is it

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/23/2015 - 08:12
it is not a metaphor because

it is not a metaphor because metaphors can not use like or as. But in the text you have used as. This is a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/30/2015 - 18:42
Nanina

I´m not an expert but I think it is not a metaphor because you are not comparing "He" with "the skies" I mean, you´re not describing "He" as the being "the skies"
He just feels like being there.
So I think that would be just imagery. I´ll leave you the definition.

Imagery is intense, descriptive language in a poem that helps to trigger our senses and our memories when we read it.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/26/2015 - 16:55
Metaphor

its ot a metaphor but it is a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/26/2015 - 14:01
is this imagery

"the gusting brook stole it's way down the green mountion dotted with tiny flower in a riot of colours and trees coming alive with gaily chirping birds"?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/21/2015 - 12:19
I would say it's likely

I would say it's likely personification judging by verb choice.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/21/2015 - 18:13
Imagery

Hm. I believe that is imagery.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/23/2015 - 06:59
A metaphor??

Is "One can sort of overlook his peculiar nocturnal life style and feeding habits" a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/19/2015 - 16:26
a metaphor is something not

a metaphor is something not using like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/09/2015 - 02:14
metaphor

her cheek is a rose

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/08/2015 - 00:26
Is this a metaphor?

"I feel like an old man with a knife in my chest"

If not, what literary device is it?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 10/03/2015 - 00:18
simile

simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/05/2015 - 07:18
hmm

Is" his bedroom was a tornado!", a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/29/2015 - 02:11
Damn ass

Damn ass

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/01/2015 - 04:24
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/30/2015 - 01:42
is this a personification line.

"the waves are raging white"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/16/2015 - 16:39
Is "he was like a proverbial

Is "he was like a proverbial chicken" a metaphor? Hahaha a strange one

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/07/2015 - 03:17
no

no because it is using like

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/20/2016 - 08:21
That is a simile because it

That is a simile because it uses like or as.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/08/2015 - 13:29
Is this a metaphor?

Is "the breeze sank to stillness" a metaphor? Thanks.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/20/2015 - 01:20

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options