Metaphor

Comments

453 comments posted
a metaphor is something not

a metaphor is something not using like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/09/2015 - 02:14
metaphor

her cheek is a rose

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/08/2015 - 00:26
Is this a metaphor?

"I feel like an old man with a knife in my chest"

If not, what literary device is it?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 10/03/2015 - 00:18
simile

simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/05/2015 - 07:18
hmm

Is" his bedroom was a tornado!", a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/29/2015 - 02:11
Damn ass

Damn ass

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/01/2015 - 04:24
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/30/2015 - 01:42
is this a personification line.

"the waves are raging white"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/16/2015 - 16:39
Is "he was like a proverbial

Is "he was like a proverbial chicken" a metaphor? Hahaha a strange one

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/07/2015 - 03:17
no

no because it is using like

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/20/2016 - 08:21
That is a simile because it

That is a simile because it uses like or as.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/08/2015 - 13:29
Is this a metaphor?

Is "the breeze sank to stillness" a metaphor? Thanks.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/20/2015 - 01:20
Yes it is. Breeze is being

Yes it is. Breeze is being described in concrete terms (most specifically a ship).

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/01/2015 - 22:52
Nope

No it is not

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/07/2015 - 18:23
yes it is

yes it is

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/24/2015 - 03:04
is this a metaphor i can

is this a metaphor

i can hardly see

for smoke blinds my eyes

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/06/2015 - 15:12
No, that's a haiku.

No, that's a haiku.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/19/2015 - 01:46
A haiku is a Japanese poem

A haiku is a Japanese poem

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/06/2015 - 03:59
is Tv was a babysitter a

is Tv was a babysitter a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/30/2015 - 00:45
yes it is :)

yes it is :)

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 07/31/2015 - 14:35
Example

"Shot me out of the sky
You're my kryptonite
You keep making me weak
Yeah, frozen and can't breathe"

Kryptonite makes superman weak. Harry used it in describing a girl, who makes her weak.
both are different but have something in common.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/11/2015 - 15:45
Is this a metaphor

The sight seemed to paralyse me

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/09/2015 - 19:49
the sight seem to paralyze me is not a metaphor

The sight seem to paralyze me is not a metaphor, rather a personification, cause saying the sight seem to paralyze you means you are addressing sight as a living creature, and its personification that give living attribute inanimate objects

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/18/2015 - 01:50
no, i think this is more

no, i think this is more along the lines of a hyperbole. there's no comparison really, and it's not saying that something /is/ something.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/29/2015 - 19:58
is this a metaphor?

"you could not use magic in the great arts"

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/07/2015 - 03:08
Is this a metaphor

Nobody said life would be easy

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/28/2015 - 20:32
I think it is not

I think it is not a metaphor, just saying.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/02/2015 - 06:04
He's a pig.

He's a pig.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/18/2015 - 23:34
Yup.

it compares two things without using like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/05/2015 - 14:22
Is this a metaphor?

They crowned them with medals

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/15/2015 - 05:19
Is this a metaphor? If not, what is it?

"I wouldnt have to fight that little part of myself that wants to wake up, come alive."

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/15/2015 - 02:25
i think it should be

i think it should be considered personification? Giving something that isn't human a human attribute?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/01/2015 - 13:16
'face swollen with regrets"?

'face swollen with regrets"?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/08/2015 - 02:20
Is this a metaphor"keepin up

Is this a metaphor"keepin up with the pace"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/13/2015 - 22:27
is this a metaphor??or not??

die of happiness?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 03/28/2015 - 04:42
Not... i would say it is an

Not... i would say it is an oxymoron...

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/05/2015 - 22:33
its a paradox

its a paradox

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/06/2015 - 02:25
metaphor

is "truth held in the jaws of crocodile" a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/26/2015 - 15:03
i think it is cuz similes

i think it is cuz similes relate things using as or like but this phrase has neither word so maybe

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/20/2015 - 05:59
a metaphor

Personification makes a strong comparison by giving human qualities to an inanimate thing, emphasizes themes.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/11/2015 - 12:45
is he flies from person to

is he flies from person to person a implied metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/11/2015 - 23:08
unless he actually flies

unless he actually flies

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/20/2015 - 06:00
Metaphors

Yes it is

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/09/2015 - 22:41
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/06/2015 - 00:17
Metaphor

Is "He is a giant" a metaphor ?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/04/2015 - 14:53
or it might be real (jack and

or it might be real (jack and the beanstalk)
This "He is a giant" is considered subjective/relative, really depends on what you plan on writing.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/07/2015 - 16:39
Hyperbole

Hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/25/2015 - 15:21
WHAT IS...

Is Skeleton in a closet a Metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/29/2015 - 12:11
Metaphor

Skeleton in the closet is an good example of a metaphor. In fact, it's a double metaphor. In this expression, a misdeed of someone's past is being compared to the skeleton and the secrecy behind the deed is represented by the closet.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/25/2015 - 17:21
Metaphor

I believe this is an idiom. The phrase "skeleton in the closet" means that you have an embarrassing secret that you wish to keep secret. It does not literally mean there is a skeleton in the closet, unless you really do mean that there is an actual skeleton is in the closet.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/16/2015 - 00:24

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options