Metaphor

Comments

423 comments posted
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 02/22/2014 - 01:03
Would this be one from King Creole?

He don't stop playing til his guitar breaks.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/07/2014 - 06:28
Is this a metaphor

A vivid memory of being opened like a book

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/06/2014 - 03:30
No

"opened like a book" is a simile, because it is a comparison using the word 'like'

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/13/2014 - 02:41
Answer

Yes

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/10/2014 - 19:09
Is "Zack was a cheetah

Is "Zack was a cheetah running a marathon" a Metaphor.??

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/28/2014 - 17:53
Yes, but its not very strong,

Yes, but its not very strong, also using "like" a cheetah, that's a simile rather than a metaphor. Could do something like "In the race, Zack was the cheetah ahead of everyone".

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/26/2014 - 07:06
Doesn't sound correct.

"In the race, Zack was the cheetah ahead of everyone." This is not very strong at all. You are saying he is a cheetah. I believe the original comment is stronger.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/06/2014 - 03:23
Is "Zack was a cheetah"

Instead of saying "zack was a cheetah running a marathon" you could say "Zack ran like a cheetah during the marathon."

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/12/2014 - 17:30
Not correct

If the person had used like it would be a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/26/2014 - 04:22
Adding like makes it a simile

Adding like makes it a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/26/2014 - 01:57
is this a metaphor

only the night of love is worthy

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/25/2014 - 21:37
i tink it is

i tink it is

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/05/2014 - 14:58
would "tide of war" be a

would "tide of war" be a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/14/2014 - 22:35
HELP!

Is this a metaphor: sea of liberty

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 00:35
I think "yes"

I think "yes"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/24/2014 - 23:33
NOPE!

no

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/05/2014 - 00:41
is this a metaphor i need help

let me Be the one to light a fire inside those eyes

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/11/2014 - 23:29
sounds painfull

sounds painfull

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/19/2014 - 21:42
??

would, "i'm frozen in time" be a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/10/2013 - 18:48
Considered

I see it as a hyperbole. This would be used as a description of another [person] who has not changed obviously in appearance since a long past meeting. Or, literally, but highly unlikely, the abstract idea that someone was lost in time due to their "frozen" status

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/03/2014 - 07:46
No it would not, it is not

No it would not, it is not implying that you are soemthing

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/04/2014 - 23:22
is this a methaphor?

if what I want is a paradise made of concrete

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/10/2013 - 17:53
is this a metaphor

Slowly, it dawned onto him.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/01/2013 - 23:28
No

No because it is telling us what he is doing.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/24/2014 - 04:29
I DONT KNOW

I might be wrong but it might be its how u want it to be reconised.I THINK

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/05/2014 - 20:55
seriously

seriously

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/17/2014 - 01:18
Nope!

A metaphor has "is" in it

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/19/2013 - 03:53
no it doesn't. A simile uses

no it doesn't. A simile uses is, as, or like

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/24/2014 - 23:35
mmm...

Maybe it is a metaphor...probably yeah!

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/06/2013 - 02:12
i think so

i think so

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/08/2013 - 21:21
please help asap

what literary device is used in this title 'writing with light' ?
i think its a metaphor as you cant write with light but i would like to double check before i hand my assignment in.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/05/2013 - 16:09
Difference b/n metaphor and juxtaposition

What is the basic Difference b/n metaphor and juxtaposition?
Please help!!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/24/2013 - 14:06
This is metaphore?

My english teacher said that this was a big example of metaphore and I don't understand how. It's from "Gaston" by William Saroyan.
"He's Gaston, the grand boulevardier." (Boulevardier means man about town)

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/17/2013 - 03:13
Your teacher is right

Your teacher is right because Gaston is the subject and the grand boulevardier is describing Gaston as that. It's like saying "He's Gaston, the turtle." Which would mean I would describing him as being slow.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/24/2014 - 04:36
metaphor?

what is 'the lust of battle died inside me'
and 'i sank into the roof'?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/16/2013 - 18:02
"The lust of battle died

"The lust of battle died inside me" is personification because it gives battle an emotion. I don't quite remember what the second term is called.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/24/2013 - 23:25
I sank into the roof could be

I sank into the roof could be hyperbole as in an exaggeration of how someone fell to the level of the roof.

Or, it could be a metaphor if it was referring to the roof being water-like
... as in I sank into the roof amid a sea of shingles.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/24/2014 - 23:38
what literary device is this one?

the tall buildings, looking down on the bustle in the streets with their heavy doors and wickets still shut, seemed to add to the gloom

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/20/2013 - 01:56
that would be personification

that would be personification because it's giving life to an inanimate object (the building)

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/28/2013 - 05:45
Personification (:

Personification (:

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 10/19/2013 - 06:29
An answer?

I believe this is personification; Tall buildings, "looking down." Not sure though. I do not know the list on this website in its entirety... sorry. Hope this helped.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/22/2013 - 01:47
An explanation

It is personification because human qualities are given to an inanimate object. Buildings don't have eyes to see yet in the text they are 'looking down'.

Hope this helps :)

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/20/2013 - 10:22
HELP PLEASE, FIFTH BUSINESS BY DAVIES

Here's the quote, I can't figure out what kind of literary device this is, or if it is one at all. It's possibly a metaphor but I could be wrong:

"He thought himself as important an actor in the drama as any of the others. This is one of the cruelties of the theatre of life; we all think of ourselves as stars and rarely recognize it when we are indeed mere supporting characters or even supernumeraries" (Davies 13)

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/18/2013 - 00:51
is this a metaphor

i started to get the hang of reading

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/13/2013 - 03:33
you arent comparing

you arent comparing anything/saying something is another thing. I would say thats a figure of speech/idiom

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/20/2013 - 09:51
the kisses that foam and

the kisses that foam and bleed

or

the flowers that bear no seed

which one is a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/10/2013 - 14:54
ANSWER!!!!!!! :D your welcome :P

The top one, "the kisses that foam and bleed," kisses don't foam and bleed, its a metaphor because "kisses" and "foaming and bleeding" have nothing to do with each other, but it describes the kisses without saying like, as or such as. If it did say like, as or such as, it would be a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/04/2013 - 00:44
is this sentence a metaphor:

is this sentence a metaphor: The Tahoe roared to life.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/08/2013 - 22:26
personification

personification

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/16/2013 - 19:05

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options