Metaphor

Comments

445 comments posted
Help

But the hands were the hands of death

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/12/2014 - 06:45
Metaphor?

Is this a metaphor:
" It was like talking to the wall of the house"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/09/2014 - 23:02
Or...

"I was talking to a wall, for all the good it was doing."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/30/2014 - 17:10
Yes

Metaphors don't use like try: It was practically talking to the wall of the house

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/12/2014 - 03:55
simile

uses like

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/20/2014 - 23:51
Its a simile

That is a simile because it uses the word like

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 03/15/2014 - 23:07
Is This a Metaphor & Personification?

Mama said, "You're a pretty girl".

(Mama is referring to society)

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/04/2014 - 21:59
Using pretty would be

Using pretty would be personification but as it says "a pretty girl" it makes it a metaphor.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/06/2014 - 03:01
Symbol and Metaphor

What is the difference between a symbol and a metaphor if the metaphor is extensively used in a longer work? Can they be used interchangeably?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/02/2014 - 13:46
is this a metaphor? if not what is it?

Destroy it and man is destroyed

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/27/2014 - 03:54
Help!

Is this a metaphor?? :The man left without a backward glance

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/27/2014 - 03:02
Metaphors

Hi, I am writing a free verse poem for ELA and I was wondering about a line in my poem.
Is this a metaphor?
"She had washed the inside"
It's pertaining to hunger because we are writing about Anne Frank during the time of the Holocaust in which many Jews died from malnutrition in concentration camps. Please answer ASAP (-: Thank you

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/25/2014 - 04:21
Nope

No this is not a metaphor. Something like
"Hamsters were running in her stomach"
would be much more metaphorical,however it has waaaaaaaay more syllables than your line has..but then you said it was a free verse poem.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/04/2014 - 16:57
Is this a metaphor?

im slicker than an oil spill

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/25/2014 - 01:34
Simile not Metaphor

This is a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/06/2014 - 03:03
Not a similie

No... It says Slicker than an oil spill. Not Slick as an oil spill. Keep in mind similes are "Like" or "As." This is likely a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/18/2014 - 19:18
Is this a metaphor?

I was trying to fly without leaving the ground.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/13/2014 - 21:50
not a metaphor

no

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/19/2014 - 00:38
Is this a metaphor?

Heaven has a long arm if it is minded to save a man.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/11/2014 - 06:29
reply

its not clear on whether it is or not but i would say it is because of the fact that you put a long arm on heaven when in real life heaven is not a being

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/11/2014 - 13:49
confused

Is this metaphor?

Poverty is rage and envy

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/10/2014 - 16:30
no but i think it could be

no but i think it could be "personification" if am right..............

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/18/2014 - 10:33
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 02/22/2014 - 01:03
Would this be one from King Creole?

He don't stop playing til his guitar breaks.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/07/2014 - 06:28
Is this a metaphor

A vivid memory of being opened like a book

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/06/2014 - 03:30
No

"opened like a book" is a simile, because it is a comparison using the word 'like'

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/13/2014 - 02:41
Answer

Yes

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/10/2014 - 19:09
Is "Zack was a cheetah

Is "Zack was a cheetah running a marathon" a Metaphor.??

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/28/2014 - 17:53
Yes, but its not very strong,

Yes, but its not very strong, also using "like" a cheetah, that's a simile rather than a metaphor. Could do something like "In the race, Zack was the cheetah ahead of everyone".

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/26/2014 - 07:06
Doesn't sound correct.

"In the race, Zack was the cheetah ahead of everyone." This is not very strong at all. You are saying he is a cheetah. I believe the original comment is stronger.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/06/2014 - 03:23
Is "Zack was a cheetah"

Instead of saying "zack was a cheetah running a marathon" you could say "Zack ran like a cheetah during the marathon."

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/12/2014 - 17:30
Not correct

If the person had used like it would be a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/26/2014 - 04:22
Adding like makes it a simile

Adding like makes it a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/26/2014 - 01:57
is this a metaphor

only the night of love is worthy

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/25/2014 - 21:37
i tink it is

i tink it is

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/05/2014 - 14:58
would "tide of war" be a

would "tide of war" be a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/14/2014 - 22:35
HELP!

Is this a metaphor: sea of liberty

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 00:35
I think "yes"

I think "yes"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/24/2014 - 23:33
NOPE!

no

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/05/2014 - 00:41
is this a metaphor i need help

let me Be the one to light a fire inside those eyes

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/11/2014 - 23:29
sounds painfull

sounds painfull

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/19/2014 - 21:42
??

would, "i'm frozen in time" be a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/10/2013 - 18:48
Considered

I see it as a hyperbole. This would be used as a description of another [person] who has not changed obviously in appearance since a long past meeting. Or, literally, but highly unlikely, the abstract idea that someone was lost in time due to their "frozen" status

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/03/2014 - 07:46
No it would not, it is not

No it would not, it is not implying that you are soemthing

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/04/2014 - 23:22
is this a methaphor?

if what I want is a paradise made of concrete

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/10/2013 - 17:53
is this a metaphor

Slowly, it dawned onto him.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/01/2013 - 23:28
No

No because it is telling us what he is doing.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/24/2014 - 04:29
I DONT KNOW

I might be wrong but it might be its how u want it to be reconised.I THINK

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/05/2014 - 20:55
seriously

seriously

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/17/2014 - 01:18
Nope!

A metaphor has "is" in it

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/19/2013 - 03:53

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options