Metaphor

Comments

441 comments posted
"Her morning elegance she

"Her morning elegance she wears" count as a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/25/2013 - 23:52
Yes all are metaphors

Yes all are metaphors

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/13/2013 - 04:41
metaphor???

he was drinking from a cup of withering flames

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/11/2013 - 03:05
Is this a metaphor

This ship will carry our bodies safe to shore
(as in, ship=death and shore= heaven)

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/03/2013 - 22:35
Symbolism

That would be symbolism. This is because in this case, the ship symbolizes death and the shore symbolizes heaven. It wouldn't be a metaphor because it isn't comparing two things in the sentence. An example is, "Her body was a ship that carried us safe to shore".

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/08/2013 - 06:27
Is 'The sun made amber roads

Is 'The sun made amber roads of shimmering sunlight upon the pond" A metaphor? If not what is it?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/13/2013 - 09:17
Confused by statement

I am trying to figure out which literary device is used in the following statement
"It felt like we had a taste of freeedom."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/18/2012 - 19:49
??

IS this a metaphor?
"the sunlight would flap out like a quickly opened fan"

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/16/2012 - 23:24
No.

This is a simile as it uses "like" to compare the aforementioned sunlight to a quickly opened fan.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/22/2012 - 04:21
"Dolores...guilty as sin"..is

"Dolores...guilty as sin"..is that one?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/17/2012 - 17:55
similie

whenever it uses like or as it is a similie.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/08/2013 - 23:14
NO

Cause you use "as" it is with :^

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/08/2013 - 01:49
is this a metaphor?

"a crack of lightening, an explosion of thunder"

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/07/2012 - 20:48
what is this?

his gray eyes were so colorless i thought he was blind

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/02/2012 - 01:55
hyperbole

it is an exaggeration, or hyperbole, if it even is a rhetorical device at all; "i" may actually have thought he was blind, but if "i" clearly seems to know he is not blind, i would go with hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/14/2012 - 22:13
This

"All slang is metaphor, and all metaphor is poetry."
-Gilbert Keith Chesterton
Hope this Helped!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 07/30/2012 - 21:31
destery moore

chilli powder is like a key to my heart.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 07/25/2012 - 04:35
NOOO IT'S A SIMILE

I love Destery Moore.
But no,
That is a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 06/23/2013 - 21:27
Aha destery moore?

i looove his shows and yeah its a metaphor...

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 07/30/2012 - 21:41
let the rain come down and wasah away my tears. what is this.

whats that.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 07/25/2012 - 02:47
help!!!!!11

An animal perfectly in harmony with it’s environment is a perfect mechanism

is that a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 07/02/2012 - 19:41
is this personification

• Desolately thin in the wet air

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 06/09/2012 - 04:08
Is this a metaphor?

If you wipe up love...

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/06/2012 - 04:25
im confused O_O

is love being rough a metaphor or not??????

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/31/2012 - 04:47
helpfulll

This is a really good site!! helps m ealot!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/23/2012 - 22:33
is this a metaphor?

,and shoes that shone like midnight.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/21/2012 - 14:29
is this a metaphor?

"he ruled with a heavy hand"

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/18/2012 - 04:03
is this a metophor?

"between the fringes of both worlds"
Legal Alien- Pat Mora

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/17/2012 - 01:59
yeah

it is

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 07/30/2012 - 21:40
what is this?

“Which is as thin of substance as the air and more inconstant than the wind, who wooes even now the frozen bosom of the north”

romeo and juliet

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/11/2012 - 00:26
metephor

Is this a metaphor: 'Feed the ooze of their pasture-ground'

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/10/2012 - 21:20
A metaphor

What I learned from my grade 4 teacher that I have always carried with me is that a Metaphor is a Similie not using like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/09/2012 - 01:39
this is a metaphor right

Took the "g" out your waffle all you got left is your ego

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/07/2012 - 03:27
is this a metaphor ?

"And Alice spins on, a tornado in flight

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/11/2012 - 20:55
bro, yo is dah best mannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

yo this site is like totaly epic broseph

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/11/2012 - 06:55
??

is this a metaphor
"...you resurrect every Sunday..."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/19/2012 - 22:28
hahahah

hahahah

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/29/2012 - 18:30
Is "Another misconception is

Is "Another misconception is that we tend to image the singularity as a little fireball appearing somewhere in space" a similarity or a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/24/2012 - 04:07
Metaphor?

Your eyes are waterfalls

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/21/2012 - 00:57
No

That sentence is a simile, since is uses plain AS salt.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/14/2012 - 18:13
is this a metaphor

We are as plain as salt

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/02/2012 - 20:59
wrong

that is a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/18/2012 - 01:42
Yeah

...At least I'm pretty sure it is.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/12/2012 - 16:49
Why

Why would someone be as plain as salt? Salt is not plain.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/12/2012 - 03:49
Metaphor

metaphors are lke a cat they are ferocious and hairy

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/09/2011 - 10:10
Similie

This is a simile because it is a comparison using the word like

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/09/2012 - 01:40
simile

i think that thisword meens that comparing two unlike thing the oras

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/07/2013 - 17:47
love is hate

love is hate

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/02/2011 - 01:03
A metaphor is

when you compare 2 thing to one another

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/26/2011 - 23:53
Metaphor

nice one

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/20/2011 - 17:25

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options