Oxymoron

Comments

277 comments posted
What is the difference between an oxymoron and a paradox?

I don't know, they seem pretty alike

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/28/2018 - 01:25
Easy

Oxymoron = literal meaning contrasting
Paradox = concept/idea contrasting

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/28/2018 - 15:29
is this a oxymoron?

light shines through darkness

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/21/2018 - 06:36
Sweet and bitter

Oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/03/2018 - 17:50
no, "bitter-sweet" would be

no, "bitter-sweet" would be an oxymoron as they are supposed to be net to each other

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/08/2018 - 01:38
piercing cry is an oximoron??

piercing cry is an oximoron??

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/15/2018 - 22:07
It's not an oxymoron

More of a Hyperbole, intensifies crying

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/15/2018 - 03:45
Found one in real life

The new classic McChicken on the $3 McDonald's menu

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/20/2018 - 02:19
whats the difference between an oxymoron and a paradox?

i really dont get the difference

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/13/2018 - 06:27
Difference in Oxymoron and Paradox

oxymoron is usually two words, while paradox is any length but matter more on the ideas.
oxymoron: bittersweet (most common one), and usually oxymoron makes sense in a strange way
BUT
paradox also makes sense but usually conveys two ideas in one e.g. in the poem

    homecoming
      by bruce dawe. on the last line it says "too late too early" which means the soldiers came back to their country too late as in they already died and then returned home and too early as in they were young when they died.

sorry if its confusing, you should analyse more different texts and examples to understand it

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/20/2018 - 11:36
analyze analisis

awesome. truly understandable.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/07/2018 - 10:42
menacing geniality? is it an

menacing geniality? is it an oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/29/2018 - 03:08
Oxymoron

She was cool and fresh in the hot night.
Would this be an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/23/2018 - 16:11
not oxymoron

it'd be more of juxtaposition - two different/opposite ideas together

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/20/2018 - 11:31
deep silence

what is "deep silence of falling snow"? oxymorn?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/11/2018 - 21:57
he thought an ice princess was hot.

Is this an oxymoron? if not, what literary device is it? I need it for my English final.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/03/2017 - 07:55
This is more of an irony

This is more of an irony

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/27/2018 - 11:48
answer

In a manner of speaking, I suppose it could be considered an oxymoron, but it is truly more of a pun. (play on words)

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/14/2017 - 02:39
oxymoron

hi is being puffed with ambition an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/24/2017 - 04:09
Swift all her contorted movements

Is this an oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/13/2017 - 06:05
Swift all her contorted movements

no, it ain't. silent cries, and real fake are. its like complete opposites put together

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/15/2017 - 23:38
is bitter joy an oxymoron?

is bitter joy an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/08/2017 - 06:35
yes it is.

yes it is.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/22/2018 - 02:37
Yes....also the pessimistic optimistist

Yes it is

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/11/2017 - 09:11
oxymoron

please is suffering and smiling oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/02/2017 - 07:48
yes

in the sense of a suffering smile

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/24/2017 - 04:48
what is the difference between oxymoron and juxtaposition

what is the difference between oxymoron and juxtaposition

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/17/2017 - 20:18
no?

Is "shouting with laughter" an oxymoron. Normally I can recognize them but not right now.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/04/2017 - 23:35
Dude

Nah it ain't bruh

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/10/2017 - 23:13
pls help it's for my final english assignment

is "she was cruel in her fear" an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/02/2017 - 10:50
Nope.

Nope.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/02/2017 - 20:12
PRETTY UGLY

oxymoron? she's pretty ugly or he's a little big

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/31/2017 - 20:37
reply

YES it is

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/15/2017 - 23:39
Is "fierce little firefight"

Is "fierce little firefight" an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 08/12/2017 - 21:29
Is this an oxymoron

"privileged glimpse"

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/10/2017 - 03:22
no i don't think so

no i don't think so

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/02/2017 - 10:50
the Collective that cherish uniqness

I dont know, can anyone tell me if this is a oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 07/11/2017 - 12:13
Sluggish guttera race in slow time

is that an oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/24/2017 - 02:07
No, its more of a

No, its more of a amplification because "Sluggish" and "slow" are synonyms and they're being used to further describe the speed of the race.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/01/2017 - 22:20
Is this a oxymoron???

Is silent radio a oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/19/2017 - 23:52
Oxymoron

Or irony.......My stepfather is very talented, he built me a silent radio.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 07/21/2017 - 00:39
silent radio is an

silent radio is an ekphrastic.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/01/2017 - 22:26
its a sarcasm

its a sarcasm

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/02/2017 - 07:51
Sarcasm is a form of irony,

Sarcasm is a form of irony, called "Verbal Irony."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/15/2017 - 03:15
Oxymoron

It doesn't make sense, maybe a paradox

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 07/21/2017 - 00:35
Oxymorons

My friend has a sister that said, "I'm so humble! I'm the most humble person in the world!!!!!!" Then my friend goes, "And you're a walking oxymoron." Then her sister goes, "MOM! She called me a MORON!!"
So funny... ^^

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/24/2017 - 05:35
Ehhhhh...

I think that would be more of irony and not oxymoron but it is funny!

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/19/2017 - 20:17
lol

ok

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/14/2017 - 11:26
nice meme

ebin meme

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/27/2017 - 23:31
Empty Joy

Is that a oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/16/2017 - 23:07

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options