Oxymoron

Comments

254 comments posted
Swift all her contorted movements

Is this an oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/13/2017 - 06:05
Swift all her contorted movements

no, it ain't. silent cries, and real fake are. its like complete opposites put together

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/15/2017 - 23:38
is bitter joy an oxymoron?

is bitter joy an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/08/2017 - 06:35
Yes....also the pessimistic optimistist

Yes it is

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/11/2017 - 09:11
oxymoron

please is suffering and smiling oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/02/2017 - 07:48
yes

in the sense of a suffering smile

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/24/2017 - 04:48
what is the difference between oxymoron and juxtaposition

what is the difference between oxymoron and juxtaposition

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/17/2017 - 20:18
no?

Is "shouting with laughter" an oxymoron. Normally I can recognize them but not right now.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/04/2017 - 23:35
Dude

Nah it ain't bruh

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/10/2017 - 23:13
pls help it's for my final english assignment

is "she was cruel in her fear" an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/02/2017 - 10:50
Nope.

Nope.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/02/2017 - 20:12
PRETTY UGLY

oxymoron? she's pretty ugly or he's a little big

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/31/2017 - 20:37
reply

YES it is

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/15/2017 - 23:39
Is "fierce little firefight"

Is "fierce little firefight" an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 08/12/2017 - 21:29
Is this an oxymoron

"privileged glimpse"

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/10/2017 - 03:22
no i don't think so

no i don't think so

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/02/2017 - 10:50
the Collective that cherish uniqness

I dont know, can anyone tell me if this is a oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 07/11/2017 - 12:13
Sluggish guttera race in slow time

is that an oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/24/2017 - 02:07
Is this a oxymoron???

Is silent radio a oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/19/2017 - 23:52
Oxymoron

Or irony.......My stepfather is very talented, he built me a silent radio.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 07/21/2017 - 00:39
its a sarcasm

its a sarcasm

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/02/2017 - 07:51
Sarcasm is a form of irony,

Sarcasm is a form of irony, called "Verbal Irony."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/15/2017 - 03:15
Oxymoron

It doesn't make sense, maybe a paradox

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 07/21/2017 - 00:35
Oxymorons

My friend has a sister that said, "I'm so humble! I'm the most humble person in the world!!!!!!" Then my friend goes, "And you're a walking oxymoron." Then her sister goes, "MOM! She called me a MORON!!"
So funny... ^^

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/24/2017 - 05:35
lol

ok

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/14/2017 - 11:26
nice meme

ebin meme

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/27/2017 - 23:31
Empty Joy

Is that a oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/16/2017 - 23:07
Perfectly Imperfect Is that

Perfectly Imperfect
Is that Oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/16/2017 - 17:14
reply:oxymoron.

yes that is an oxymoron. other examples are thing such as: a big nothing;a tamed cat turned savage... if you wants to look at more a great poem by storm on the island by seamus heaney shows great oxymoron!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/26/2017 - 13:52
oxymoron?????

is "im ready to suffer and im ready to hope" one?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/05/2016 - 06:32
Are These Good Examples of Oxymorons, by Any Chance?

"Sickly sweet"
"Hellish paradise"
"Honorable treachery"
"Blinding darkness"
"Successful failures"
"Failed successes"

Also, can an oxymoron ever take place as a complete sentence with proper subject-verb correlations? Thus far I have only observed oxymorons as purely adjectives, or adjectives followed by a related noun, i.e. "bittersweet" and "deafening silence" respectively.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/29/2016 - 06:27
reply

its better to put bitter sweet

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/09/2017 - 20:48
Is this an Oxymoron?

"trampled calmly"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/06/2016 - 18:56
violent farewell

is this an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/02/2016 - 22:52
It seems like a good oxymoron

It seems like a good oxymoron gets away with using ambiguous language to create extra meaning.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 02/18/2017 - 20:34
No, not really

Though, I suppose you could argue that it is because typically, you would imagine a farewell to be good-natured. I think a better example would be welcoming farewell.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/08/2017 - 03:31
Bittersweet???

Bittersweet???

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/27/2016 - 16:22
Yes

Yes it is

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/23/2017 - 04:29
Small crowd, deep pockets.

Is this an oxy?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/31/2016 - 23:14
Oxymoron

I think small crowd would be an oxymoron as 'crowd' generally refers to a large group of people. However, I'm not certain about deep pockets.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/29/2016 - 01:30
help please

silent corpses?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/29/2016 - 05:45
technically, no

an oxymoron is two opposites used side by side to describe the same thing. like "jumbo shrimp" or "little value"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/26/2016 - 15:50
No, this is not an oxymoron.

No, this is not an oxymoron.

Examples:

The living dead
Deafening silence

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/26/2016 - 00:24
Smile with tears .... an oxymoron ?

Smile with tears .... an oxymoron ?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/14/2016 - 09:47
Sadly, I have actually seen

Sadly, I have actually seen this done... so, no.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 10/29/2016 - 07:17
"The Sound of Silence"

Is "The Sound of Silence" an oxymoron? It is my favorite song btw. Team Redefining Dance (A.K.A Nyle and Peta- pro dancer and deaf male model) danced to it on DWTS this season. They were awesome!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/09/2016 - 01:03
Re: "The Sound of Silence"

Yes, it is

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/15/2016 - 04:25
"Filled with the absence of respect"

An oxy moron?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 07/20/2016 - 02:04
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/24/2016 - 19:00
OMFG

I been thinking about that phrase "hello darkness my old friend" during weeks not knowing where it came from...

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/24/2016 - 01:52

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options