Oxymoron

Comments

267 comments posted
Yes

Yes. Yes it is because ice can't be hot.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/20/2014 - 01:52
Is Freeze In Hell An Oxymoron ?

Is Freeze In Hell An Oxymoron ?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/17/2014 - 23:14
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/20/2014 - 10:08
"You Scholarly Moron"

Is this one?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 06:40
Oxymoron

Destiny has another purpose. Or perfectly proportioned. Are these examples of oxymorons

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/08/2014 - 03:32
old fashioned fancy

is this one

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/28/2014 - 02:13
Is quiet tension one?

Is quiet tension one?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/28/2014 - 02:00
Quiet Tension

No, this would be like "tension building" in the cycle of abuse or, the quiet before the storm.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 07/29/2014 - 03:03
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/29/2014 - 03:51
funny oxymoron

Of course I can keep secrets. It’s the people I tell them to that can’t keep them.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/26/2014 - 02:44
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 07/29/2014 - 03:05
Another Oxymoron

"To preserve the peace, we must go to war."

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/18/2014 - 19:44
I THINK THAT IS A PARADOX

I THINK THAT IS A PARADOX

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/03/2014 - 01:03
Is 'spirit lives' an

Is 'spirit lives' an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/10/2014 - 07:09
I'm very sure...

Oxymorons are two words only. They have opposite qualities when used individually, but when put together have slightly different meaning or use.
working vacation (still having to work during a vacation)
jumbo shrimp (a big prawn)
alone together (together, we are alone)
bitter sweet (a certain kind of chocolate)
civil war (war within the country or civilization)
clearly misunderstood (no doubt that there was a misunderstanding)
crash landing (crashing, but somewhat controlled)
freezer burn
dull roar
found missing
ill health

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/18/2014 - 03:10
Oxymorons

Oxymorons can be phrases and more than two words.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 07/02/2014 - 17:45
No

No, because that would mean it's a paradox.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/20/2014 - 01:54
errors

"Jumbo shrimp" is not an oxymoron, unless you are referring to a person who is a "shrimp."

Civil war is not an oxymoron, because "civil" doesn't mean polite in this instance.

Ill health is not an oxymoron; health can be good or bad.

In fact, in your entire list, "working vacation" may be the only one.

Neither are "military intelligence" or "microsoft" oxymorons. These are more like "Buckleyisms", false oxymorons popularized by Wm F Buckley.

A proper oxymoron contrasts two words or phrases that are clearly and purposely placed in conflict to create an ironic effect: A thunderous silence, cursed with good luck, etc.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/27/2014 - 04:24
Found missing sounds legit

Found missing sounds legit

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/09/2014 - 02:46
OXYMORON

ARE 'SILENT SCREAMS' AND 'A GRIEF AGO' EXAMPLES OF OXYMORON?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/17/2014 - 19:22
is 'comfort of the darkness'

is 'comfort of the darkness' one

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/02/2014 - 17:58
No

It isn't, because comfort has nothing to do with darkness.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/06/2014 - 07:39
His dog was pretty ugly

is this one?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/04/2014 - 20:59
Pretty ugly dog

Yes. The dog cannot be pretty and ugly at the same time

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 07/29/2014 - 03:17
Yes, "jumbo shrimp" is too.

Yes, "jumbo shrimp" is too.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/10/2014 - 02:47
No

No it is not.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/14/2014 - 01:15
OXYMORON!!!

THE SILENCE WAS DEAFENING

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/24/2014 - 03:55
A rotten smile

A rotten smile i not an oxymoron as you can smile coldly - a smile which isn't a nice one - smiling slyly .

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/05/2013 - 19:49
is it an oxymoron?

IS this an oxymoron "Betrays me back, till the heart weeps to belong"

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/30/2013 - 20:18
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/02/2013 - 08:33
rotten smile

is rotten smile an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/29/2013 - 02:44
is cold vision one?

is cold vision one?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/18/2013 - 02:15
No

No, it isn't since cold has nothing to do with vision. It's the opposite of what we think the word means like jumbo shrimp or climb down.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/10/2014 - 03:17
normal miley Mind=...oh that

normal miley
Mind=...oh that makes perfect sense

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/16/2013 - 23:57
almost exactly !

Almost exctly is an oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/13/2013 - 20:13
f

i think my friend is an oxy moron

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/10/2013 - 21:49
beautiful lie

Is beautiful lie an oxymoron??

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/08/2013 - 19:02
no

no an oxymoron would be beautifully ugly or a truthful lie or something like that

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/03/2014 - 05:59
Oxymoron

Is family vacation an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/11/2013 - 13:47
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/28/2014 - 23:39
is devilish smile an oxymoron?

is devilish smile an oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/10/2013 - 00:19
sure

or maybe a devilishly innocent smile. :)

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/26/2013 - 17:04
Nora Roberts used great

Nora Roberts used great Oxymorons for her titles in the 80s:

Hot Ice
Brazen Virtue
Sacred Sins
Public Secrets
Genuine Lies
Carnal Innocence
Divine Devil
Honest Illusions

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/16/2013 - 15:20
Whats the difference?

Whats the difference between oxymoron and paradox????

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/14/2013 - 14:26
what

Whats the diffenrence between paradox and oxymoron?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/13/2013 - 02:14
Is?

Is (...) a oxymoron? Then they’ll feel they’re thinking, they’ll get a sense of (motion without moving.)???

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/01/2013 - 21:18
aadi

is laboured ease an oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/03/2013 - 11:20
Answer

Yes it is an oxymoron. 'Laboured' means work done with difficulty. Ease is definitely its opposite so laboured ease is an oxymoron.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 07/17/2013 - 18:10
Pink Floyd/ Oxymoron

Running over the same old ground. Is this one?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/22/2013 - 04:42
A good example

Bitter Sweet

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/18/2013 - 15:09

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options