Paradox

Comments

169 comments posted
Is this a paradox? Or hyperbole?

"Whether I bring the world to it's knees and present it as a gift for them"

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/01/2017 - 16:45
Is this a paradox He is the

Is this a paradox

He is the strongest but most fragile. He is the calm and the storm.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/20/2017 - 03:02
Oxymoron

That's an oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/07/2017 - 07:39
Lies

Everything I say is a lie...

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/08/2017 - 16:27
It could be, because no

It could be, because no matter how hard you try, at some point of your life you will have to tell a truth

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/14/2017 - 06:43
This is a paradox

Everyone is unique...just like everyone else

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/05/2017 - 02:14
I agree

Wow...that is one hell of a paradox that takes time to analyze...

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/10/2017 - 02:45
is this a paradox

There are defeats more triumphant than victories.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/25/2017 - 14:18
an example of paradox

is this a paradox?
"calling soundlessly"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/22/2017 - 16:05
That's a Oxymoron

That's an Oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/05/2017 - 17:28
Is this a paradox?

A short story I was reading has really nice weather (sunlight, nice breeze) right before something bad happens to one of the characters.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/23/2017 - 04:28
Juxtaposition

This is more of juxtaposition, a purposeful contrast between two things in a story that creates more emphasis.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/29/2017 - 21:03
Irony

wouldn't that be irony specifically situational irony?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/03/2017 - 00:33
Foreshadowing

That's foreshadowing

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/25/2017 - 20:08
lolz

no it isn't
dramtic irony maybe

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/20/2017 - 00:56
wrong again

that would be situational irony unless the reader already knew it was going to storm and the characters didnt

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/24/2017 - 19:34
is this a paradox

"Wi-Fi with no lag

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/20/2016 - 17:42
It Is, depends where you live

If you live in Hong Kong then that is not a thing, but if you live in a pleb country like England then yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/08/2017 - 09:59
Well

I guess your right because almost all Wifi has it's share of lag but if you look at the internet in China it is signifigantly higher than the WIFI we are given in America.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/25/2017 - 19:12
Alternative

Alternative fact

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/25/2017 - 17:54
Is this considered a paradox?

"They move around in these webs almost blind, yet they never misstep or get lost".

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/10/2016 - 21:59
Is this paradox?

Freedom to and freedom from. In the days of anarchy, it was freedom to. Now you are being given freedom from. Don't underrate it.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/16/2016 - 13:26
ooh boy

Handmaid's Tale, right?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/14/2017 - 00:15
Is this a paradox?

"a paradise who’s skies were the colour of hell flames"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 06/12/2016 - 20:41
Is this a paradox?

More like oxymoron.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/17/2016 - 12:55
Though the words do

Though the words do contradict each other - paradise/hell-flames; I don't believe it would be considered a paradox and more of a description.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/13/2016 - 18:41
Today Is Opposite Day

Today is Opposite Day.
Or is it?
Or is everyday Opposite Day?
Today is Not Opposite Day.
So it is?
Or is it?
It's impossible to know
PARADOX

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/25/2016 - 00:40
Is this a a paradox? "She

Is this a a paradox?

"She could not preserve it, she could not destroy it."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/08/2016 - 15:51
Antithesis.

Antithesis.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/11/2016 - 20:32
Of mice of men

is this a Paradox:

"Now her rouged cheeks and her reddened lips made her seem ALIVE and sleeping very lightly."

as it's talking about when Curley's wife has just died

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/12/2016 - 20:52
Is this a paradox? "This many

Is this a paradox?

"This many summers in a sea of glory,
But far beyond my depth."

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/28/2016 - 22:08
the doctor

In an episode of Doctor Who, two doctors meet. it is a paradox because having the same person twice in one place is impossible yet it is.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/09/2016 - 18:48
Dr Who

Yay I love dr who too!!!!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/12/2017 - 21:24
Yes, it is definitely a pair

Yes, it is definitely a pair o' docs!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/22/2016 - 10:44
two different paradoxes

that's a completely different type of paradox. We're talking about literary paradoxes, which, as stated above, are almost like oxymoron's. You have to think about them to actually get the meaning- you can't take direct definition from the words.

The paradox you're referring to is more of a scientific concept. The theory that two of the same person cannot meet as it creates a wormhole in time.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/21/2016 - 22:20
Not a real paradox

The Doctor is a time traveler so it is possible for him to meet himself; however, him meeting himself can cause a paradox such as the Bootstrap paradox or so temporal paradox that could change his past self or his future self.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/15/2016 - 02:55
Bow ties

Bowties are cool

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/06/2016 - 05:39
what.

what do you mean.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/09/2016 - 21:06
Is this a paradox?

Certain that if he gets it wrong the whole world will go up in a blaze of light

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 03/05/2016 - 20:10
I think that it is a

I think that it is a hyperbole, because of use of exaggeration.
I'm not sure though...

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/16/2016 - 18:39
Little Green Men

All little green men are liars.
I am a little green man.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/26/2016 - 08:37
another paradox

Pinocchio said my nose will grow. He lied so his nose will grow but that means he was telling the truth so it wasn't a lie meaning that his nose shouldn't grow. and it repeats in an endless circle basically resulting in Pinocchio's nose blowing up.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/02/2015 - 18:07
cool to think about

saying "I am lying"... think about it

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/21/2016 - 03:56
Paradox

"Here's some advice: Never take my advice."

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/26/2015 - 17:44
okay

okay

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/31/2015 - 06:34
paradox

is 'true lies' one

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/23/2015 - 04:13
I think that is more of an

I think that is more of an oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/28/2016 - 19:20
true lies is more of an

true lies is more of an oxymoron, but a paradox is essentially an extended oxymoron

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/03/2015 - 08:17
Is this a paradox?

One of these is false.
Red is blue,
blue is green,
Green is red.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/19/2015 - 18:32
This is an isocolon.

This is an isocolon.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/07/2015 - 09:35

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options