Personification

Comments

424 comments posted
personifiation

the room sucked people in and left the elders to stay at home. Personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/14/2018 - 12:46
is "His eyes weren't bright

is "His eyes weren't bright and soft; they looked dull." personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/01/2018 - 02:37
Personification

It is not as bright, soft and dull can be used to describe the eyes. Not only a human can be soft, bright or dull. For example, "the cake was sweet and fluffy". They are descriptive words for cake and not only attributed to humans.

An example of personification is, "His eyes darted from side to side" which conveys that he is searching or looking around frantically when eyes cannot actually "dart" or run away from you. Hence, it is considered personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/04/2018 - 16:15
is this personification?

my eyes were glued to me phone?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/30/2018 - 23:41
it is not

it is metaphor.no human traits involved in the sentence.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/04/2018 - 07:16
Is this Personification?

The race towards death had begun

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/24/2018 - 17:06
no, it isn't

it's not making death have a quality a person would have

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/26/2018 - 04:23
Zoomorphism

In a way it is a reverse personification, but does it count as a literary device?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/29/2018 - 19:26
Is this personification?

The door cracked open

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/26/2018 - 00:05
personification

no pls

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/21/2018 - 13:06
Personfication

No it's not

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 06/17/2018 - 12:00
would this be personification?

A dense cloud looms behind us.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/11/2018 - 14:09
Personificatioon

For decades, the forest, hugging the eastern side of Birch Hollow, had no visitors.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/30/2018 - 00:10
Anthropomorphism vs Personification

Difference between Anthropomorphism and Personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/28/2018 - 18:22
Personification

personification is making something not human, or incapable of human actions or feelings or thought, do that.

ex. The book commanded me to read on.

ex. I turned around to see his eyes burning deep into my soul. They locked with mine as they ripped out my heart and replaced it with fear.

The incorrect way to use personification would be to refer to something human like or human, and make it do something human.

ex. He turned around, and yanked my hair

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/18/2018 - 20:02
Here's an answer to all of you

If you're asking "is this a personification?", stop and think if it it referring to anything human-like, if not, then it's not a personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/05/2018 - 01:07
Personification

Is this personification?’
Eyes burning my back ?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/01/2018 - 01:35
what?

I get what its suppose to mean, but I don't think that that is a personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/05/2018 - 01:03
Would this be personification

Would this be personification "it sounded frozen"? If not what would it be instead?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/18/2018 - 00:55
Is this personification?

Daylight peeled away the shelter of darkness.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/26/2018 - 01:35
It is personification.

Yes, it is personification. Daylight is not a living object that can peel something away.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/05/2018 - 00:15
Help

'Pregnant clouds' a metaphor or personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/23/2018 - 17:11
Yes

You are giving a human characteristic to a not living item.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/07/2018 - 03:53
Is this??

Gates of hell

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/23/2018 - 05:45
Is it personification

Hungry eyes

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/30/2018 - 19:43
yes

yes it is

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/13/2018 - 20:42
Is this?

Is "blue vault" personification if it refers to the sky?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/27/2018 - 17:36
No

No, because Blue Vault does not present any human like characteristics to the reader. It provides description instead. What you're referring to is a periphrasis because the author chose to write the sky as Blue Vault, using a useless and unnecessary excess amount of words.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/01/2018 - 03:05
is this an example of

is this an example of personification: “They felt hard, those words; sharp and pointed on my tongue” (3837).

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/10/2018 - 04:35
no

no because you said the word "felt"

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/23/2018 - 23:58
Is the phrase " the axe went

Is the phrase " the axe went flying" an example of personification

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/13/2017 - 07:09
No it is not

No it is not

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/08/2018 - 23:40
Who’s only companions would be the gentle woodland

Is this personification

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/11/2017 - 21:39
Is this?

Is "Sweet Dove" personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/23/2017 - 21:15
no it isn't

no it isn't

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/15/2018 - 01:54
is this?

he just has some blind spots

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/18/2017 - 17:37
Is this personification?

The front door slammed.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/09/2017 - 17:20
No, it isn't personification.

The front door slamming is not personification because front doors could be slammed by human force. Personification is like this: "Hunger stared down from the smokeless chimneys and stared up from the filthy street." (That is a quote from A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens) In that example, hunger does not stare down in real life.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/05/2018 - 00:19
dancing through blister night

Is this personification

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/13/2017 - 10:38
Personification

The words on the page pointed a finger right at me

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/02/2017 - 20:40
thanks for this sentence. it

thanks for this sentence. it help me a lot

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/25/2017 - 15:33
Nope

No. Because doors slam-people do not.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/25/2017 - 00:43
Is shivering bundle a personification

Is shivering bundle a personification

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/02/2017 - 21:39
depends on what the bundle

depends on what the bundle is. If it's of people then no. If its a bundle of tree's then yes.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/26/2017 - 00:26
Is the personification

Romeros face was very brown

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/20/2017 - 03:59
Who's Romero?

No, this is not personification. Brown can be used as a descriptive term for anything human or non-human. A personification of Romero's face would be "His face whispered tales of his long and storied life". Can faces really whisper? No. But can faces be brown? Yes.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/27/2017 - 00:22
Personification

the chair walked straight at me is this personification

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/15/2017 - 09:08
yes

chair's don't walk, so yes.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/18/2018 - 07:05
personification

Is it correct to say "Thank you for personifying teamwork" ?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/16/2017 - 01:54
Personification ?

"She (a doll) was two inches tall, with yellow hair pulled up in a high ponytail and her hands on her hips..."
Could hair pulled up be personification
And her hands on her hips?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/04/2017 - 00:16

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options