Personification

Comments

130 comments posted
Personification

A strong wall- I am searching for personification using this phrase- Any?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 07/08/2014 - 17:02
Drug Personification

Plz help what is personification for drugs?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/06/2014 - 13:01
The demanding drugs. The

The demanding drugs.
The merciless drugs.
The crippling drugs.
The controlling drugs.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 07/09/2014 - 05:55
Help!

when a song says " when the horizen fell" is that Personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/13/2014 - 16:39
Personification...

Do the two "character's in the following passage fall into the personification
category? The pin and the needle cried "Stop! stop!" and said that they could not go a step father, that the ways were very muddy..."

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/09/2014 - 19:57
Owl Personification

What's a personification I could use for an owl? I'm stuck. Help me

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/04/2014 - 08:29
personification?

these socks will make you happy

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/03/2014 - 22:21
personification

Is this a personification - fear was alive in every heart

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/08/2014 - 18:49
yup.

yup.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/28/2014 - 23:31
Is this personification???

The frightened brain, the nervous will,
The knowledge of what must be done,
The passion to acquire the skill

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/28/2014 - 02:34
sorry

sorry its not an personification. It is an internal rhyme.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/03/2014 - 04:48
Help?

Is this personification? If not what is it?
"in the living room, the voice clock sang, 'ticktock seven o'clock, time to get up, time to get up seven o'clock' as if it were afraid nobody would."

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 00:41
yes

yes, of course.
you an also make the phrase more personificationy if you remove "voice".

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/23/2014 - 23:48
is this one

the undead rose out of their graves

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/14/2014 - 23:32
nice

it helped me a lot.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/23/2014 - 05:00
Difference?

Is there a difference between anthropomorphism and personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/24/2014 - 21:24
what literary term is this?

"until the thorns hid him from sight"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/19/2014 - 17:02
Until the thorns hid him from sight

Personification. The thorns are 'hiding' from sight. Hiding is a human characteristic. It compares a human hiding and the thorns

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/18/2014 - 06:28
Not too sure

The way he said it was that the thorns were hiding someone from sight, not that the thorns were hiding from sight so I believe it wouldn't be personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 06/07/2014 - 20:54
Personification

Vehicles are great subjects for personification. Examples:

"The car couldn't decide whether to turn left or right, and so, jumped straight ahead into the pond."

"The car hesitated when the light went green, before it timorously crossed the intersection."

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/14/2014 - 05:58
persinification

cows like to eat grass

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/17/2014 - 05:44
can you personify fingers?

"his fingers danced around the guitar strings" can that be personification or would it be a metaphor? hyperbole?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/10/2014 - 23:48
You can personify fingers

Yes, you can. Its a personification. Its comparing the fingers to a human characteristic ; dancing. Fingers are not human characteristics . Its humans physical appearance

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/18/2014 - 06:35
NEED HELP ON PERSONIFICATION

this one is a personification "I wish i had a wife as a beautiful as the forest

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/28/2014 - 19:32
I wish i had a wife as beautiful as the forest.

No its not. Personification is comparing a HUMAN CHARACTERISTIC to an INANIMATE OBJECT. For yours, its comparing the forest to a human characteristic. (Its the opposite.) Instead, its a simile. Its comparing the wife to the forest using 'as...as...' thus not a personification but simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/18/2014 - 06:32
No, that is an example of a

No, that is an example of a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 00:33
you are comparing your wife

you are comparing your wife with beautiful forest using "as" this means it is simile .

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/09/2014 - 19:48
No, that is simile, since you

No, that is simile, since you are comparing one subject to another. Personification would be, "The trees danced in the wind" or something of that nature.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/09/2014 - 22:13
How does personification help

How does personification help make your writing more interesting?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/26/2014 - 13:08
a little more description

a little more description

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/13/2014 - 04:41
how about bullet seeds?

how about bullet seeds?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/24/2014 - 06:31
It is definitely not. Bullet

It is definitely not. Bullet is not a human characteristic

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/29/2014 - 22:09
Is this one?

sea of liberty

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 00:50
How about...

The Sea Feels Liberty...

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/03/2014 - 09:32
No

No it needs to include "like" or "as".

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/29/2014 - 04:30
No thats a simile..not

No thats a simile..not personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/04/2014 - 00:11
human stew? monster fence?

human stew? monster fence?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/06/2014 - 23:43
i need help fast

Is this one? Tall grasses sway in the breeze.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/04/2014 - 23:28
no

no, you are just describing an action

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/06/2014 - 00:31
is this 1!!!!!

The fire bellows strong across the lava

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/05/2014 - 21:01
no

i think that would be onomatopoeia

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 00:48
No onomatopoeia is like BOOM

No onomatopoeia is like BOOM POW sounds in word form.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/04/2014 - 00:12
personification or not

I would sometimes pat it (the piano) as I passed in just the same way that I had patted R

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/16/2013 - 11:38
Nope

No it is not. You are not giving the piano human qualities. Patting something wouldn't make it personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/22/2014 - 01:52
help!

Her head was so full of ideas that it was ready to burst wide open.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/12/2013 - 16:33
personification

I was embraced by the warmth of the sun

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 19:35
The Wind climbed into the

The Wind climbed into the tree

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/24/2013 - 17:25
PROBABLY.... TEEHEE YOUR WELCOME! ;)

i guess that could be one but your not giving the 'tree' a name either the 'wind' a human like name, there are more simple ways of personification. E.g if you bought a new car instead of saying "the car is a beauty" you could say "she's a beauty" so giving human qualities to a non-human, being, objects. Hoped this helped! :P

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/08/2013 - 03:39
personification question

is this a personification?
"Thy fingers make early flowers," (Cummings line 1)

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/17/2013 - 01:10
Yes!

I would say so.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/10/2014 - 08:44

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options