Personification

Comments

114 comments posted
Help?

Is this personification? If not what is it?
"in the living room, the voice clock sang, 'ticktock seven o'clock, time to get up, time to get up seven o'clock' as if it were afraid nobody would."

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 00:41
is this one

the undead rose out of their graves

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/14/2014 - 23:32
nice

it helped me a lot.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/23/2014 - 05:00
Difference?

Is there a difference between anthropomorphism and personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/24/2014 - 21:24
what literary term is this?

"until the thorns hid him from sight"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/19/2014 - 17:02
Personification

Vehicles are great subjects for personification. Examples:

"The car couldn't decide whether to turn left or right, and so, jumped straight ahead into the pond."

"The car hesitated when the light went green, before it timorously crossed the intersection."

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/14/2014 - 05:58
persinification

cows like to eat grass

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/17/2014 - 05:44
can you personify fingers?

"his fingers danced around the guitar strings" can that be personification or would it be a metaphor? hyperbole?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/10/2014 - 23:48
NEED HELP ON PERSONIFICATION

this one is a personification "I wish i had a wife as a beautiful as the forest

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/28/2014 - 19:32
No, that is an example of a

No, that is an example of a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 00:33
you are comparing your wife

you are comparing your wife with beautiful forest using "as" this means it is simile .

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/09/2014 - 19:48
No, that is simile, since you

No, that is simile, since you are comparing one subject to another. Personification would be, "The trees danced in the wind" or something of that nature.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/09/2014 - 22:13
How does personification help

How does personification help make your writing more interesting?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/26/2014 - 13:08
a little more description

a little more description

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/13/2014 - 04:41
how about bullet seeds?

how about bullet seeds?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/24/2014 - 06:31
It is definitely not. Bullet

It is definitely not. Bullet is not a human characteristic

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/29/2014 - 22:09
Is this one?

sea of liberty

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 00:50
How about...

The Sea Feels Liberty...

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/03/2014 - 09:32
No

No it needs to include "like" or "as".

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/29/2014 - 04:30
No thats a simile..not

No thats a simile..not personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/04/2014 - 00:11
human stew? monster fence?

human stew? monster fence?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/06/2014 - 23:43
i need help fast

Is this one? Tall grasses sway in the breeze.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/04/2014 - 23:28
no

no, you are just describing an action

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/06/2014 - 00:31
is this 1!!!!!

The fire bellows strong across the lava

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/05/2014 - 21:01
no

i think that would be onomatopoeia

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 00:48
No onomatopoeia is like BOOM

No onomatopoeia is like BOOM POW sounds in word form.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/04/2014 - 00:12
personification or not

I would sometimes pat it (the piano) as I passed in just the same way that I had patted R

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/16/2013 - 11:38
Nope

No it is not. You are not giving the piano human qualities. Patting something wouldn't make it personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/22/2014 - 01:52
help!

Her head was so full of ideas that it was ready to burst wide open.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/12/2013 - 16:33
personification

I was embraced by the warmth of the sun

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 19:35
The Wind climbed into the

The Wind climbed into the tree

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/24/2013 - 17:25
PROBABLY.... TEEHEE YOUR WELCOME! ;)

i guess that could be one but your not giving the 'tree' a name either the 'wind' a human like name, there are more simple ways of personification. E.g if you bought a new car instead of saying "the car is a beauty" you could say "she's a beauty" so giving human qualities to a non-human, being, objects. Hoped this helped! :P

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/08/2013 - 03:39
personification question

is this a personification?
"Thy fingers make early flowers," (Cummings line 1)

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/17/2013 - 01:10
Yes!

I would say so.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/10/2014 - 08:44
Is this personification? If not, what is it?

"the whole regrettable incident would be deemed not to have occurred."

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/11/2013 - 06:26
No

It is not a personification rather it is a simple statement.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 00:26
its not

thats not personification. its not giving a human quality to an yadayada
oh, and as to what that sentece is..its not anything; it just literally just translates to: "this mistake(incident) is going to be thought of as non-existent to all of us" as if it didnt happen.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/18/2013 - 10:14
is this personification

is this personification?
"She looked at me wistfully"

in reference to a duck

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/06/2013 - 22:36
Sort of

This is more metaphorical in nature.
" She looked at me (wistfully).

The duck was watching you like a human would. You can associate the way the duck was watching you with the way a human may. You wouldn't know how to describe the way the duck was watching you unless you could compare it to the way a human might.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 00:30
What Literary Device is this?

you'll be stuck in my mind
and
Bouncing around in my head

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/03/2013 - 17:48
Seems like metaphor

Stuck like an object. Bouncing like a ball.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 00:32
Here is some

The mountain gay over the valley the mountain gazed over the valley
The tree welcomed me into the park.

Need any more

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/06/2013 - 07:35
HELP

if someone is described as an object , for example " she was like a boulder in a road " , would that as well be personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/05/2013 - 20:01
No, it is a simile. You are

No, it is a simile. You are say she is "like" a boulder.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/29/2013 - 19:29
she was like a boulder in the road

That is NOT personification--the writer is not giving human traits to the boulder. It is a simple simile, comparing her to a boulder--it creates an image of her, perhaps being large and hard to move, and by extension, she is stubborn.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/28/2013 - 15:30
personification HELP

" I WAS PREGNANT WITH POVERTY" ????

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/25/2013 - 17:29
I think its a hyperbole

I think its a hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/17/2013 - 01:13
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/16/2013 - 02:28
nup

that's a metaphor :)

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/09/2013 - 13:30
It's a simile because it has

It's a simile because it has "like"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/20/2013 - 19:22

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options