Personification

Comments

386 comments posted
is this?

he just has some blind spots

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/18/2017 - 17:37
Is this personification?

The front door slammed.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/09/2017 - 17:20
dancing through blister night

Is this personification

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/13/2017 - 10:38
Personification

The words on the page pointed a finger right at me

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/02/2017 - 20:40
thanks for this sentence. it

thanks for this sentence. it help me a lot

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/25/2017 - 15:33
Nope

No. Because doors slam-people do not.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/25/2017 - 00:43
Is shivering bundle a personification

Is shivering bundle a personification

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/02/2017 - 21:39
depends on what the bundle

depends on what the bundle is. If it's of people then no. If its a bundle of tree's then yes.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/26/2017 - 00:26
Is the personification

Romeros face was very brown

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/20/2017 - 03:59
Who's Romero?

No, this is not personification. Brown can be used as a descriptive term for anything human or non-human. A personification of Romero's face would be "His face whispered tales of his long and storied life". Can faces really whisper? No. But can faces be brown? Yes.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/27/2017 - 00:22
Personification

the chair walked straight at me is this personification

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/15/2017 - 09:08
personification

Is it correct to say "Thank you for personifying teamwork" ?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/16/2017 - 01:54
Personification ?

"She (a doll) was two inches tall, with yellow hair pulled up in a high ponytail and her hands on her hips..."
Could hair pulled up be personification
And her hands on her hips?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/04/2017 - 00:16
Personification

No. It describes the style of hair the doll has. Although the doll is inanimate, her hands are really on her hips. the author is trying to describe how the doll looks like. Don't confuse that with personification which uses non human-like items and gives it human qualities. For example "Everything was screaming: the sea, the wind, my heart."

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/16/2017 - 01:14
JK Rowling Personification or Metaphor?

I'm curious, would "talent and intelligence never yet inoculated the caprice of the Fates..." from JK Rowling's speech be considered personification since talent and intelligence are not inanimate objects. Would this instead be a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/02/2017 - 04:17
Personification/Imagery?

The wind whispers in my ears.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/09/2017 - 10:46
Personified imagery.

Personified imagery.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/05/2017 - 03:07
Personification question

Is "the roaring library fire" personification or metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/22/2017 - 15:55
personification

personification

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/31/2017 - 16:50
"And Yet His Heart Grew Cold"

When something's heart grows cold, is that personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/09/2017 - 02:57
Yes it is because hearts

Yes it is because hearts don't actually get cold.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/25/2017 - 19:57
no, inanimate/non-human

no, inanimate/non-human objects can still grow cold regardless of whether they're human or not.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 10/21/2017 - 19:14
animals instead of human

Could personification be describing wind as an animal rather than as a human?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/30/2017 - 19:50
That would e then known as a

That would e then known as a metaphor not personification. Personification only occur's when an object is described as if it were human as personification contains the word person in the device. :)

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/19/2017 - 20:23
does "moonlight burst in the

does "moonlight burst in the room" count as a personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/27/2017 - 20:30
yes it does

yes it does

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/30/2017 - 16:24
is this personification?

Would this count as personification?
"Love can change the world"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/17/2017 - 00:29
Personification

Yes, because it is giving a non-human object human characteristics.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/19/2017 - 13:50
what impact does

what impact does personifaction have on it's reader?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/13/2017 - 12:28
personification

is 'his eyes felt hungry' personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/26/2017 - 01:36
yeah

yeah

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/12/2017 - 08:37
yes

you can say "his eyes felt hungry" or, "his hungry eyes"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/05/2017 - 02:00
figure missed

"his eyes felt hungry" is not only personification, it is more specifically the figure of synesthesia, which is the action of one sense (eyes for seeing) imitating another sense (feeling hunger). Eyes do not feel, except when you speak in the figure of speech called synesthesia.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/09/2017 - 18:47
personification

is the faint sounds float up personification

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/13/2017 - 20:31
personification - help ASAP pleaseee

is "her eyes light up when she laughed" personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/10/2017 - 03:15
'curious wine' personification but also ?

From Emily Dickinson

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/08/2017 - 04:56
personification

He spoke to the machine........ Is this personification???

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/07/2017 - 11:35
The machine spoke to him

The machine spoke to him would be though, the machine itself can not actually speak therefore it is personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/23/2017 - 07:41
no it isnt

nope

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/08/2017 - 06:30
answer today plz!!

In the house of seven gables, the house is described as "a great human heart, with a life of its own, and full of rich and somber reminiscences..." Is this personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/01/2017 - 18:39
analogy or metaphor

depends on the words in front of the quot. The house was a heart- metaphor, was like--simile
comes close to personification

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/08/2017 - 04:47
the world can change its

the world can change its heart count as personification

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/28/2017 - 02:11
metonomy

use of world but meaning people/populations living in this world

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/08/2017 - 04:50
Cows call to each other

Is "cows call to each other as they slowly plod along" personification? I feel the "call" part is what humans do, however, animals do that too so I'm not sure it is personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/12/2017 - 03:44
anthropomorphism

cows are given human characteristic of speaking or calling

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/08/2017 - 04:48
need help

Is the phrase, "speak their minds", an example of personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/27/2017 - 07:48
Is this personification reply fast please

"sweat was running down my face"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/18/2016 - 18:33
no

water runs so can sweat, common term

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/08/2017 - 04:51
Is this personification

after he threw the fruit, The Spinning apple shined because of the sunlight

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/14/2016 - 02:35
No

No

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/17/2017 - 05:12

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options