Personification

Comments

359 comments posted
Is "a scream burst from her"

Is "a scream burst from her" personification

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/23/2015 - 19:55
:)

The water catched the boy.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/16/2015 - 03:05
Is this personification

"I must remember to give my stomach the word"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/15/2015 - 21:42
of course its personification..

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/23/2015 - 11:09
Ummmm

I don't think that it is because he is giving his stomach the word. The HUMAN is giving the stomach the word. If the stomach gave the human the word, then it would be, but I don't think that his sentence is.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/11/2016 - 00:28
This would be personification, right?

"The plants were stressed, and the bugs loved that."

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/05/2015 - 00:23
Reply

Yes, it would; the plants in real life wouldn't be able to be actually stressed out.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/10/2015 - 00:18
Personification

Is this personification? The TV looed older than a 97 year old man.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/28/2015 - 00:59
I don't believe so because

I don't believe so because the TV is not the one doing the action of looking.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/16/2015 - 02:34
Metaphor

Its comparing the Tv to the man, and its not using Like or As

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/15/2015 - 03:18
That substantial death is amorous

Is this personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/26/2015 - 20:44
is "play over your head" a

is "play over your head" a personification

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/20/2015 - 22:56
is this personification??if not what literary device is it?

Exposed to the light that seep

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/12/2015 - 21:19
Help me

I need help what is give me a hand? Is it a simile or personificatinon or onomatopoeias or hyperboles or idioms or metaphor plz help me

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/07/2015 - 04:08
Its an Idium

I don't think the person is actually going to give you one of their (Or someone's) hands.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/15/2015 - 03:19
Is this personification

The pumpkins sat there

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/02/2015 - 02:50
yes

pumpkins can't sit humans can

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/18/2015 - 17:32
this is not personification

this is not personification

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/13/2015 - 22:52
same to you

same to you

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 10/17/2015 - 21:28
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/13/2015 - 01:12
Is this Personification?

Pretty Pictures

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/29/2015 - 01:35
Is this personification, if not what is it?

Not sure whether "she rendered it simple in but a few moments of close-up" is personification or not?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/26/2015 - 05:39
No it's not

No it's not

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/27/2015 - 00:18
Help please

"put not another sin on my head" is this personification?
Thank you in advance

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/23/2015 - 07:37
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/18/2015 - 04:09
Personification

No, this is not personification because neither your head or the sin is given a human trait.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/15/2015 - 17:02
Personification versus Synecdoche

Don't know you still need it, but "put not another sin on my head" sounds to be more synecdoche than personification, as the writer is using head to refer to the entire self.

Also, it seems that the writer is not trying to ascribe a human quality to the head, that is he isn't describing the head according to the word "sin."

Does that make sense? If I described the sun as sinful or the trees as sinful, then that'd be using the word "sin" to describe them and directly to humanize them. But if I say, 'let not another sin fall upon this earth," I am not describing the earth as "sinful," nor am I trying to give it a human characteristic to make it feel alive or capable of sin.

But especially, in this case, because the head is meant to refer to one's self, I can't see this as personification, unless the speaker was personifying him/her self, which would require him/her to be something other than human, which could happen in some contexts. Rather they were using a part of something to refer to the whole, meaning synecdoche.

Hope that helped.

Full disclosure: I'm no English professor, I'm no published writer, I'm not even a grad-student or anything like that. I'm just a sophomore in college who likes to think of himself as a writer.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/13/2015 - 00:38
Is this personification?

The wrath of the moon.

The warrior that is the sun.

Thank you for your advice.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 07/08/2015 - 23:26
what i think...

the first is but the second one is more of a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/12/2015 - 05:47
Personification with animal qualities

My child's teacher said, the tea cup took a lot of tea, was not personification, because a dog can take a bone.
Also, the wind roared was seem as personification.
Does it have to be something only humans can do, attributed to a non-human?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/26/2015 - 16:17
Zoomorphism

I'm not sure I agree with the teacher's response to "the cup took a lot of tea," since a person can certainly take something.

"The wind roared" is an example of zoomorphism, where a person or object takes on qualities of animals. Lions roar. People do not typically roar; if they do, it's seen as an animalistic attribute. Zoomorphism is not taught often among literary elements, even though it is a fairly common occurrence in literature. Your child's teacher may not have been aware of the term, and so had trouble explaining why roaring wind is not personification.

Personification *is* giving only HUMAN attributes to non-human things. Notice that the word "person" is within the word itself.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/13/2015 - 20:18
Is "happy torment"

Is "happy torment" personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/12/2015 - 19:47
is black dark

is black dark personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/08/2015 - 01:02
Is this personification?

“her heart talked to her as she saw the love of her life"

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/30/2015 - 02:59
Yes

Yes, it is personification because your heart can't talk.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/02/2015 - 06:08
No

It has to be something more eternal

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/01/2015 - 06:28
HELP NOW

is shining heart personification

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/28/2015 - 01:00
yesssss!!!!!! :)

yesssss!!!!!! :)

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/19/2015 - 02:23
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/29/2015 - 01:08
Personification

"Wheezing and Gasping"
Is that expression personification

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/16/2015 - 17:29
These are verbs - doing /

These are verbs - doing / action words

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/24/2015 - 16:16
personification

"The sand wiggles beneath your toes." Is this personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/08/2015 - 02:21
yes because sand can't wiggle

yes because sand can't wiggle between you'r feet

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/10/2015 - 16:15
onomatopoeia

they are so easy

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/06/2015 - 17:45
sad heart- personification??

sad heart personification??

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/03/2015 - 18:22
sad heart

yes cause hearts can't be sad

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/06/2015 - 14:25
personification?

"We made a joyful noise," Mom said.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/29/2015 - 20:02
NO

Its not personification because you are not giving a non human object human traits. Hope this helps.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/26/2015 - 04:19
Literary Devices

What Is The Difference Between Personification And Pathetic Fallacy?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/07/2015 - 09:55
Personification and pathetic fallacy

One is about feelings the other is characteristics

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/15/2015 - 17:53

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options