Personification

Comments

354 comments posted
Help me I'm desperate

Are animals talking in stories examples of personification??? Help me I'm desperate!!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/17/2014 - 23:03
no it is not because it isn't

no it is not because it isn't saying it is doing something that a human can do. For example

"The trees whispered in the wind"

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/26/2014 - 19:13
Wrong

Talking animals is, if it is in human language, as talking is normally what only humans can do.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/26/2014 - 01:01
You came to me like heavens

You came to me like heavens caring arms.Is this an example of personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/14/2014 - 18:30
Yes!

Yas it is.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/17/2014 - 11:19
soccer

is " I feel the nervous excitement spread throughout my body as a game begins" personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/10/2014 - 01:41
Depersonification

The man braked and went back.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 08/30/2014 - 13:49
HELP!!!!!!!!

Is "...that all hearts finally are bruised and scarred, scored and torn, repaired by time and will, patched by force of character..." a form of personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/26/2014 - 03:07
yes, hearts can't literally

yes, hearts can't literally be scarred and bruised.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/26/2014 - 18:05
not communly

not communly

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/14/2014 - 05:13
Personification

Is this personification? "The sun came in through the frosted glass so that even in early summer, it felt like autumn light."

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 08/23/2014 - 09:00
That is a personification

That is a personification

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/07/2014 - 01:10
no it isn't you are wrong

no it isn't you are wrong

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/26/2014 - 19:14
YES

YES BECAUSE THEY COMPARE THING WITH CERTAIN OBJECT

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/25/2014 - 12:47
No

No it isn't... they aren't giving the sun or the suns rays human personalities.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/29/2015 - 04:37
is this personification?

tonight could not be more gorgeous

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/13/2014 - 20:23
Help

I heard the clock begin to strike? Is that personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/11/2014 - 00:58
I don't think so. In better

I don't think so. In better words personification is when you give a non living thing human traits.
Ex.the fall leaves danced in the wind.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/14/2014 - 23:05
school

Help me! A personification about education?
Help me! I'm begging you!

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 07/29/2014 - 18:12
My pencil danced across my

My pencil danced across my paper leaving a wonderful masterpiece.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/14/2014 - 23:08
The blackboard was watching

The blackboard was watching all the students. This is personification

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/23/2014 - 18:50
Personification

A strong wall- I am searching for personification using this phrase- Any?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 07/08/2014 - 17:02
Drug Personification

Plz help what is personification for drugs?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/06/2014 - 13:01
The demanding drugs. The

The demanding drugs.
The merciless drugs.
The crippling drugs.
The controlling drugs.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 07/09/2014 - 05:55
Help!

when a song says " when the horizen fell" is that Personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/13/2014 - 16:39
Personification...

Do the two "character's in the following passage fall into the personification
category? The pin and the needle cried "Stop! stop!" and said that they could not go a step father, that the ways were very muddy..."

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/09/2014 - 19:57
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/04/2014 - 01:37
Owl Personification

What's a personification I could use for an owl? I'm stuck. Help me

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/04/2014 - 08:29
Reply

A wise owl :p

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/21/2014 - 12:55
personification?

these socks will make you happy

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/03/2014 - 22:21
personification

Is this a personification - fear was alive in every heart

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/08/2014 - 18:49
yup.

yup.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/28/2014 - 23:31
Is this personification???

The frightened brain, the nervous will,
The knowledge of what must be done,
The passion to acquire the skill

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/28/2014 - 02:34
sorry

sorry its not an personification. It is an internal rhyme.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/03/2014 - 04:48
Help?

Is this personification? If not what is it?
"in the living room, the voice clock sang, 'ticktock seven o'clock, time to get up, time to get up seven o'clock' as if it were afraid nobody would."

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 00:41
yes

yes, of course.
you an also make the phrase more personificationy if you remove "voice".

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/23/2014 - 23:48
is this one

the undead rose out of their graves

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/14/2014 - 23:32
not really, no

Assuming that the undead can already do that in accordance with most pop-culture, that is not personification. Personification would be more like, "The dead rose out of their graves." This shows an actual object that exists doing something that a human can do but it alone can't. The undead may be able to rise from the grave in the fiction world but even the dead can't rise from the grave, so this can be controversial.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 07/30/2014 - 23:19
nice

it helped me a lot.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/23/2014 - 05:00
Difference?

Is there a difference between anthropomorphism and personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/24/2014 - 21:24
what literary term is this?

"until the thorns hid him from sight"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/19/2014 - 17:02
Until the thorns hid him from sight

Personification. The thorns are 'hiding' from sight. Hiding is a human characteristic. It compares a human hiding and the thorns

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/18/2014 - 06:28
Not too sure

The way he said it was that the thorns were hiding someone from sight, not that the thorns were hiding from sight so I believe it wouldn't be personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 06/07/2014 - 20:54
Personification

Vehicles are great subjects for personification. Examples:

"The car couldn't decide whether to turn left or right, and so, jumped straight ahead into the pond."

"The car hesitated when the light went green, before it timorously crossed the intersection."

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/14/2014 - 05:58
persinification

cows like to eat grass

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/17/2014 - 05:44
can you personify fingers?

"his fingers danced around the guitar strings" can that be personification or would it be a metaphor? hyperbole?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/10/2014 - 23:48
You can personify fingers

Yes, you can. Its a personification. Its comparing the fingers to a human characteristic ; dancing. Fingers are not human characteristics . Its humans physical appearance

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/18/2014 - 06:35
NEED HELP ON PERSONIFICATION

this one is a personification "I wish i had a wife as a beautiful as the forest

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/28/2014 - 19:32
I wish i had a wife as beautiful as the forest.

No its not. Personification is comparing a HUMAN CHARACTERISTIC to an INANIMATE OBJECT. For yours, its comparing the forest to a human characteristic. (Its the opposite.) Instead, its a simile. Its comparing the wife to the forest using 'as...as...' thus not a personification but simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/18/2014 - 06:32
No, that is an example of a

No, that is an example of a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 00:33

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options