Personification

Comments

373 comments posted
Here is some

The mountain gay over the valley the mountain gazed over the valley
The tree welcomed me into the park.

Need any more

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/06/2013 - 07:35
HELP

if someone is described as an object , for example " she was like a boulder in a road " , would that as well be personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/05/2013 - 20:01
No, it is a simile. You are

No, it is a simile. You are say she is "like" a boulder.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/29/2013 - 19:29
she was like a boulder in the road

That is NOT personification--the writer is not giving human traits to the boulder. It is a simple simile, comparing her to a boulder--it creates an image of her, perhaps being large and hard to move, and by extension, she is stubborn.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/28/2013 - 15:30
personification HELP

" I WAS PREGNANT WITH POVERTY" ????

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/25/2013 - 17:29
I think its a hyperbole

I think its a hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/17/2013 - 01:13
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/16/2013 - 02:28
nup

that's a metaphor :)

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/09/2013 - 13:30
It's a simile because it has

It's a simile because it has "like"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/20/2013 - 19:22
That would be a simile

That would be a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/09/2013 - 01:55
That would be a similie

That would be a similie

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/03/2013 - 01:53
No, you cannot call that as

No, you cannot call that as personification because you are not addressing someone as something whereas you are comparing the girl with something.

HOPE YOU FIND IT HELPFUL.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/27/2013 - 15:02
No

No, definitely not. I'm not sure what term is used to describe that. Perhaps objectification? But personification is only when an object is given HUMAN-like charactoristics

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/14/2013 - 08:23
What is this??

what is when you compare a human as a person?
"The bark had gone out of his voice"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/28/2013 - 16:28
Is this personification?

"Minds like space."

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 07/19/2013 - 02:15
Is this a personification? Please help.

"A clumsy good-bye."

OR

"The floor board squeaked under my footsteps."

??Please help.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 07/04/2013 - 01:27
almost correct

1 clumsy is an action which can be done by anyone so it is not personification
2 it is personification as squeaked is a sound(action) made by a living being

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/04/2014 - 10:47
Is this a personification?

This speculation was sparked again"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/26/2013 - 02:23
Would this be considered a personification?

"rifles broke the silence like dogs barking on a lone farm"

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/06/2013 - 23:48
This would be a simile

This would be a simile because it uses the word "like".

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/22/2013 - 21:43
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/20/2013 - 03:15
Nope

That's a simile: a comparison using like.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/21/2013 - 06:23
it is using like OR as

it is using like OR as

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/05/2013 - 04:41
Is this a simile

raise your hands with burning candles

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/28/2013 - 16:23
Is this a simile

No. Similes make comparisons using the words "like" or "as."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 06/02/2013 - 23:02
would that be a personification?

"The river is sickly, sluggish and lazy"

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/09/2013 - 14:53
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/18/2013 - 04:17
yes that wud b

yes that wud b personification

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/14/2013 - 04:29
is "jets screaming" as used

is "jets screaming" as used in a poem to refer to a plane's engines a personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/08/2013 - 00:23
Wat are the effects of

Wat are the effects of personification on the text?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/01/2013 - 23:42
What is this “My chest

What is this “My chest tightened and I couldn’t draw enough air; I’d stand there, gasping in my own little airless bubble of atmosphere.”

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/19/2013 - 01:35
HELP

is the quote "plastics are a big killer of marine life" a personification?i dont think it is but could it be?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/12/2013 - 22:45
No

No it is a metaphor... it compares plastic to big killer of marine life.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/27/2013 - 10:22
Metaphor

its is a metaphor because its two unlike things that are conmpared.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/17/2013 - 16:23
not a metaphor

its not comparing anything, its giving something that's not a person, a description or adjective as if it was one

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/26/2013 - 06:18
Actually...

Actually reading the extract carefully we can conclude that the plastic is identified as an instrument or factor of death to marine life. We can therefore say the plastic is compared to a murderer based on the word (killer) used.We do not know whether killer refers to a person, animal or thing in the extract but we do see that there is a linkage in comparison between plastic and this other factor of death.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 04:20
Would "have to let my soal be

Would "have to let my soal be free" be personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/01/2013 - 01:23
Personification or no?

"Batches of duct devils swirling and dancing their way across the dessert"

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/15/2013 - 07:12
yes

swirling and dancing are humanlike verbs and they are being used to say what the duct devils are doing

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/01/2013 - 01:26
problems swelled

is " problems swelled" personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/21/2012 - 06:19
Thunder clapped

The engine hummed

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/11/2012 - 22:46
yes, its personification.

yes, its personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/12/2013 - 17:38
example

The freezing snow cut into the skin of his feet

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/11/2012 - 03:58
hear with eyes

is the line "hear with eyes" from Shakespeare's Sonnet23 a personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/14/2012 - 18:33
The second One

the second one

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/11/2012 - 06:38
is this personification?

"Birds are uneasy"

or this

"an ominous gale, a gust of ice-cold wind, startling in the otherwise humid air"

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/07/2012 - 20:46
Answer

Yea it is

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/11/2012 - 06:39
is it personification ?

he put his finger on the trouble at once ... is that personification

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/05/2012 - 00:49
Whats the difference?

Whats the difference between Personification and Anthropomorphism???

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/12/2012 - 09:59
Personification is an

Personification is an inanimate obj Anthropomorphism is an animal

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/06/2012 - 00:47

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options