Personification

Comments

354 comments posted
This would be a simile

This would be a simile because it uses the word "like".

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/22/2013 - 21:43
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/20/2013 - 03:15
Nope

That's a simile: a comparison using like.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/21/2013 - 06:23
it is using like OR as

it is using like OR as

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/05/2013 - 04:41
Is this a simile

raise your hands with burning candles

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/28/2013 - 16:23
Is this a simile

No. Similes make comparisons using the words "like" or "as."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 06/02/2013 - 23:02
would that be a personification?

"The river is sickly, sluggish and lazy"

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/09/2013 - 14:53
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/18/2013 - 04:17
yes that wud b

yes that wud b personification

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/14/2013 - 04:29
is "jets screaming" as used

is "jets screaming" as used in a poem to refer to a plane's engines a personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/08/2013 - 00:23
Wat are the effects of

Wat are the effects of personification on the text?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/01/2013 - 23:42
What is this “My chest

What is this “My chest tightened and I couldn’t draw enough air; I’d stand there, gasping in my own little airless bubble of atmosphere.”

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/19/2013 - 01:35
HELP

is the quote "plastics are a big killer of marine life" a personification?i dont think it is but could it be?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/12/2013 - 22:45
No

No it is a metaphor... it compares plastic to big killer of marine life.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/27/2013 - 10:22
Metaphor

its is a metaphor because its two unlike things that are conmpared.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/17/2013 - 16:23
not a metaphor

its not comparing anything, its giving something that's not a person, a description or adjective as if it was one

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/26/2013 - 06:18
Actually...

Actually reading the extract carefully we can conclude that the plastic is identified as an instrument or factor of death to marine life. We can therefore say the plastic is compared to a murderer based on the word (killer) used.We do not know whether killer refers to a person, animal or thing in the extract but we do see that there is a linkage in comparison between plastic and this other factor of death.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 04:20
Would "have to let my soal be

Would "have to let my soal be free" be personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/01/2013 - 01:23
Personification or no?

"Batches of duct devils swirling and dancing their way across the dessert"

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/15/2013 - 07:12
yes

swirling and dancing are humanlike verbs and they are being used to say what the duct devils are doing

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/01/2013 - 01:26
problems swelled

is " problems swelled" personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/21/2012 - 06:19
Thunder clapped

The engine hummed

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/11/2012 - 22:46
yes, its personification.

yes, its personification.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/12/2013 - 17:38
example

The freezing snow cut into the skin of his feet

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/11/2012 - 03:58
hear with eyes

is the line "hear with eyes" from Shakespeare's Sonnet23 a personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/14/2012 - 18:33
The second One

the second one

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/11/2012 - 06:38
is this personification?

"Birds are uneasy"

or this

"an ominous gale, a gust of ice-cold wind, startling in the otherwise humid air"

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/07/2012 - 20:46
Answer

Yea it is

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/11/2012 - 06:39
is it personification ?

he put his finger on the trouble at once ... is that personification

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/05/2012 - 00:49
Whats the difference?

Whats the difference between Personification and Anthropomorphism???

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/12/2012 - 09:59
Personification is an

Personification is an inanimate obj Anthropomorphism is an animal

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/06/2012 - 00:47
Difference

What is the difference between Personification and anthropomorphism? Is it the same thing?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/24/2012 - 12:34
Personification

Those aren't really good examples of personification you should say like the book shelf creaked and moaned as if it had something to say

Idk

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/13/2013 - 00:50
Personifiction

What is this?
we are living in a sickly state
-Komba

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/21/2012 - 11:49
Talking animals

Is having an animal talking considered personification?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/21/2012 - 01:00
Personification

The birds sang of times to come where warfare, famine, ailments, and poverty will cease to exist; the owl's sharp eyes spoke of times in the past where men have fought and died. The wind howled at the unforgiving nature of reoccurring history. I'm really high right now, but there you go.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/20/2012 - 05:19
Personification?

Just see Pinkie pie when she goes insane.
From her twisted point of view, she is not controling them or their voices, as it appears in the real point of view, but she sees a pile of rocks, a ball of lint, and a bag of flour all talk and move on their own.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/26/2012 - 19:43
Personification

The oak tree pointed its finger to the sky.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/09/2012 - 00:39
What literary device would this be?

Dude,this party is going to be sick.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/07/2012 - 21:12
Re: What literary device would this be?

That could be an example of a Personifacation because a party can't realy be sick.

-MuD

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/30/2012 - 22:17
Not sure about that?

But in this case, 'sick' has a different definition, so I don't tihnk it would be personification...

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/16/2012 - 03:49
me

ex:the rainbow danced across the sky

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/19/2012 - 18:19
Yes because rainbows cant

Yes because rainbows cant dance across the sky

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/18/2012 - 01:12
PURPOSE OF PERSONIFICATION

Personification is a literary device used to create an image in the mind of the reader. If images can be created in the mind of the reader, the reader will engage with the text and re-create the text so that they can relate to it.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/05/2012 - 13:09
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/24/2012 - 20:22
^^^^

mostly jus to emphasize the imagery in the phrase/sentence that its in

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/18/2012 - 03:40
whats the puropose of a

whats the puropose of a personifacation?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/17/2011 - 18:32
Personification

to give something a life like the tree hugged me like my mother so the thunderstorm shouted in my ear like that

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/22/2013 - 19:25
I think it adds a level of

I think it adds a level of intimacy to otherwise disconnected objects/ideas.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/22/2013 - 08:21
the purpose is

the purpose is that other things besides poems use personification, like fables when they have the animals act like people

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/08/2013 - 01:07

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options