Questions and Answers

Here you can ask general questions related to literary devices and site visitors can try and help answer them. If you have a question about a specific literary device please use the list on the left and ask your question in the comments section for that literary device.

Comments

636 comments posted
which technique is this?

“It was as cold and dark inside her as out in the frosty night.”

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/30/2017 - 04:05
Technique

That would be simile. A simile is a sentence/phrase that uses like or as to compare two objects, or animals.
e.g. 'His eyes where like endless pools of ocean green', 'she was sick as a dog' etc.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 07/08/2017 - 04:50
What literary device is this

“I discovered a gift for lies. I looked straight at them and offered up the best story i could muster”

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/14/2017 - 15:11
metaphor??

metaphor??

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 06/17/2017 - 08:05
which literacy device is....

the sun sank reluctantly behind the tree tops?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 06/06/2017 - 07:29
alliteration

alliteration

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 06/09/2017 - 09:16
What literary device is used

What literary device is used in this sentence below?

If he could not convince his Elders, how would he be able to make the people see eye to?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/25/2017 - 10:28
literary device when the title is referred to in the work itself

What is the literary device when the title is referred to in the work itself?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/21/2017 - 09:12
ASAP

What is it when someone is lying?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/19/2017 - 02:29
value

Fallacy

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/26/2017 - 06:39
Is there a technique for the repetition of questions?

^

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/18/2017 - 04:05
what literary device is

what literary device is this?
"Cause I found a way to steal the sun from the sky"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/10/2017 - 16:35
what literary device is

what literary device is this?
"Cause I found a way to steal the sun from the sky"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 06/04/2017 - 04:35
urgent!!!!!!!!!!!!!

what literary device is this?
it is raining cats and dogs outside.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/04/2017 - 19:49
:)

Its an idom

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/21/2017 - 23:01
hyperbole

hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/19/2017 - 19:05
It's an idiom.

It's an idiom.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/09/2017 - 05:41
What is the literary term

What is the literary term used in "I would rather die a thousand deaths"

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/02/2017 - 18:48
hyerbole

hyerbole

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/21/2017 - 21:01
hyperbole

hyperbole

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/09/2017 - 05:51
what is the device where Questions answer questions?

Q. Do you like it?
A. Is the pope Catholic? (Yes, it's good.)

Q. When will we finish?
A. How long will it take you to finish your task? (Implication is that the task is the only one on the critical path for the project.)

More complex usage examples would be appreciated, but mainly I'm curious if this verbal/written device has a name.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/29/2017 - 01:33
need help

what literary device is this using?
"Jazmyne just might ask more questions than Dennis does."

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/20/2017 - 02:49
I guess its alliteration...

I guess its alliteration...

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/21/2017 - 23:01
allegory

True or False:
Allegories contain allusions which are indirect references to something else (Biblical Allusions, Classical Allusions, Historical Allusions, and Literary Allusions)?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/12/2017 - 18:24
true

true

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 07/01/2017 - 00:40
Help urgent please!

"It was a proud face " which literary device is it ??

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/12/2017 - 08:31
what literary device is used for

"More than likely a sure thing"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/10/2017 - 20:07
What device is used?

"It was the sweetness of his tounge and the tenderness of his soul."

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/07/2017 - 06:34
cannibalism

cannibalism

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 06/10/2017 - 08:23
What literary device?

"Adam looked out of his covered brain —out the long tunnels of his eyes —at the people of his world ."

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/07/2017 - 06:33
Identify Literary Device

I screamed to wake up my parents, and "they burst into the room"

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/06/2017 - 04:00
literary device?

"the yelling went on and on, the way yelling does if only to hear itself"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/05/2017 - 23:09
Literary Device .

What literary device is "stomped and beat and kicked and punched" ?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/31/2017 - 18:47
The actual answer

It would be listing actually

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/05/2017 - 08:46
asonance

asonance

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/03/2017 - 06:39
What litery technique is this

“…it must be done by law. It’s just a matter of finding the right law, or making one.” from a man for all seasons

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/29/2017 - 12:01
What are the romantic

What are the romantic elements in frankenstein

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/16/2017 - 18:52
Literary Device

“as a girl she built the usual castles in the air; but all her girlish hopes and aspirations have long been dead”

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/16/2017 - 12:01
Why do writers use literary

Why do writers use literary devises gave mr five reasons

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/08/2017 - 16:40
What is the poetic device

Ma is bittering. I can see it in her mouth.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/05/2017 - 19:28
what is mental substitution in literature

..

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 03/04/2017 - 11:47
What literary device is "But

What literary device is "But now I have a real thirst for knowledge."

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 03/04/2017 - 08:40
What literary devices are these?

boatplant
boatflowers
boatfruit
boatworld

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/03/2017 - 18:23
uh

compound words? or neologisms (new words)

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/23/2017 - 19:39
What literary device is this?

"She hated her grandmother and had hidden it from herself all these years under a cloak of pity. She had been getting ready for her great journey to the horizons in search of people; it was important to all the world that she should find them and they find her." What literary device is this

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/03/2017 - 14:59
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

What type of literary element/device is,"Have I just put my foot in it?" when they're talking about family?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/26/2017 - 06:02
Idiom

The device used is an idiom...to set your foot in something simply means to interfere

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/31/2017 - 19:07
What literary device(s) are

What literary device(s) are in the sentence below?

"It was cloudy, but the heat hit us immediately, lugging our bags behind us, saying nothing,"

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 02/25/2017 - 21:57
value

It Is Personification

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/01/2017 - 22:52
What literary device

What literary device is used in "harvest of corruption"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/09/2017 - 15:35

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options