Simile

Comments

142 comments posted
So we could say that The MLS

So we could say that The MLS is to Wheel of Fortune as The EPL is to Jeopardy.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/24/2016 - 21:18
Simile?

Is this a simile? My head was burning as if on fire.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/23/2016 - 05:47
Is "I remember it like it was

Is "I remember it like it was yesterday" a simile???

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/10/2016 - 04:08
Technically

Technically yes. You are comparing what happened long ago to what you feel when it happened. I guess so.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/11/2016 - 00:40
Is this a simile the line

Is this a simile the line from poem leisure by w. H Davies. No time to stand as long as sheep or cows

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/25/2016 - 11:39
No

a simile is a comparison

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/25/2016 - 19:54
What are some similes in the

What are some similes in the book standing in the light

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/24/2016 - 02:34
simile?

Simile - “I think he’d had about four different girlfriends, but he kept them totally secret, and if I asked, he would deny it, as if girlfriends wasn’t cool.”

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/04/2016 - 17:51
not a simile:)

no it is not a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/10/2016 - 00:09
You can't have double

You can't have double negatives in one sentence

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/03/2016 - 18:00
is this a simile

he is luring you in to make you easy prey

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/11/2016 - 07:19
Is this a simile reply

No, it is not a simile. A simile compares one thing to another using like or as.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/18/2016 - 03:28
Not quite

The phrase you used is a metaphor, not being a simile because there is no comparison.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/16/2016 - 23:54
Is this a simile?

I never dreamt of him, I never slept.
Stretched out at the foot of the grey oak, I watched his step.
And all of the burning winter, our love made the earth sing!
Like a revival, like an orison!

Is the last line two uses of simile?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/07/2016 - 17:26
yes is is

yes is is

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/10/2016 - 22:24
is this a simile?

sewage and sickness looked like life.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/15/2015 - 00:40
No

no, this is personification. the sewage and sickness cannot look like anything, so the author is giving the sewage and sickness human qualities

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/23/2016 - 17:33
Simile

Is this a simile

The fact that he was all of the time made her feel as if her heart was being crushed into little pieces.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/14/2015 - 00:02
Simile

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/21/2016 - 17:36
SImile

Is this a simile "It looked like an old painting but real"

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/07/2015 - 23:41
simile?

Certainty unfolded in her the way morning light fills a north room.

it is comparing but it does not use like or as. is it a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/26/2015 - 00:22
No, it is a simile. You are

No, it is a simile. You are not saying the certainty IS the morning light, which is what the metaphor version would be.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/16/2015 - 07:20
is this a similie or a metaphor

Like a crab, he inched his way down the hill

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/08/2015 - 16:20
is this a similie or a metaphor

yes it is a similie

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/11/2015 - 00:45
Answer

Simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/08/2015 - 01:40
it is

it is

a

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/01/2015 - 18:16
all of the above

all of the above

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/04/2015 - 20:19
simile

thats it bro

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/25/2015 - 22:07
Yes, because it uses the word

Yes, because it uses the word "like"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/22/2015 - 22:21
Simile

Is this a simile??

Maybe when things happened they left an echo. Like a yell travelling over a vast distance, until it was too faint to hear.

Or just some of it ?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/26/2015 - 12:21
sim ilie

only some of it the first bit is a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/13/2016 - 22:20
The echo is a metaphor, which

The echo is a metaphor, which is elaborated on using a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/16/2015 - 07:21
yes. i do believe that is a

yes. i do believe that is a simile due to the word "like" in the second sentence, describing the echo.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/03/2015 - 22:22
Simile????? Or what

I wonder further in the wood

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/04/2015 - 21:32
no

not a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/08/2016 - 22:54
A similie uses like,as or

A similie uses like,as or such as.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/18/2015 - 02:10
no it wouldn't be classified

no it wouldn't be classified as a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/12/2015 - 04:46
Simile:she was as mean as my

Simile:she was as mean as my 3rd grade teacher, like a hag.
Simile?,??

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/15/2015 - 01:51
yes it is. as she is compared

yes it is. as she is compared to the third grade teacher with the help of 'as'

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/02/2015 - 05:39
Is this a simile

"Reinforce vaccination as a social norm "

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/01/2015 - 00:51
english (simile)

Itz a simile Anonymous

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/08/2015 - 21:33
is this a simile? It feels as

is this a simile?
It feels as if I’ve been waiting for 10 years instead of 10 minutes for the sluggish nurse to come back.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/04/2015 - 04:37
Yes this is a similie as it

Yes this is a similie as it uses the word 'as' to compare it to
Another statement

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/08/2015 - 16:58
Smile

Getthing chased by 4 7feet tall teenage boy is this a smile or nah

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/25/2015 - 17:51
simile

no is is not, however this is, my life was going crazy as if getting chased by a 7 foot tall teenage boy.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/20/2015 - 16:34
Not sure is this is a simile

"Correct us like a kind father."
If not a simile, what literary device could this be?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/22/2015 - 00:32
mhmmm

Yup it's a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/31/2015 - 03:09
with a massive effort,* like

with a massive effort,* like lifting a weight much too heavy for me *, tried to shift my mind where I knew it needed to be.

Is that a simile?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/15/2015 - 17:17
similar or not?

with a massive effort,* like lifting a weight much too heavy for me *, tried to shift my mind where I knew it needed to be.

This looks like a simile to me. You are comparing the effort of shifting your thoughts to the supreme effort of a weight lifter trying to shift a heavy load.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/05/2015 - 18:51
Hmmmmm???

I believe it isn't. When you're giving a simile example you have to make sure that describing someone to something or something to something. Although, if you were to wait that long that would be impossible

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/01/2015 - 00:50

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options