Simile

Comments

197 comments posted
simili

"our cities are gems " is this a simili?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/09/2018 - 01:43
"Our cities are gems"

No this is a metaphore, since it is saying that the cities "ARE" gems. Instead of the cities are "LIKE" gems. Since similes use"Like" and "As"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/19/2018 - 00:37
Is this a simile?

"They made the river seem like a soft, green tunnel."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/19/2018 - 20:50
Yes

Yes, this is a simile comparing a river to a tunnel using "like"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/29/2018 - 22:06
no, its a metaphor

no, its a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/12/2018 - 19:57
“As far as I go”

Is this a simile? “As far as I go”

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/28/2018 - 20:07
is this a simile?

In black t-shirt and jeans, rings and bracelets on both arms, Fujita is dressed more like an artist than a chef.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/20/2018 - 19:19
Yes it is!

Yes it is :)

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/23/2018 - 15:05
Simile?

Is this a simile?

-"resemble"

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/15/2018 - 14:44
Answer

Not entirely, but it could be used in one.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 07/23/2018 - 05:12
What is the difference b/w

What is the difference b/w Simile and Metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/01/2018 - 14:51
While a simile utilizes the

While a simile utilizes the words "like" or "as" in the comparison, a metaphor is a direct comparison between two things without the use of "like" or "as"
Ex.
Simile: "Her eyes are like the ocean"
Metaphor: "Her eyes are the ocean"

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/15/2018 - 19:13
Simile compares two unlike

Simile compares two unlike quantities by employing the word "like" amd "as' while Metaphor is a comparison in which one thing is said to be another. The word "as" and "like" are not used in metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/14/2018 - 12:00
A simile utilizes the words

A simile utilizes the words "like," "as," or "similar to."

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/05/2018 - 21:45
Is this a simile? Her eyes

Is this a simile?

Her eyes are nothin like the sun

or

Her skin is not like the snow

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/15/2018 - 21:24
Is this a simile?

From Charles Dickens' "A Christmas Carol"-
Stave One, the first description of Scrooge.
"...and solitary as an oyster."

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/09/2018 - 02:22
simile

Yes - and a very good one too.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/18/2018 - 15:21
Is this a simile? I remember it just like it was yesterday

Is this is a simile, I remember it just like it was yesterday

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/30/2017 - 00:15
no

no

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/29/2017 - 17:07
Is this is simile?

"They looked like four-legged, pointy-nosed kites"- Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics

Would this be considered a simile?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/27/2017 - 01:40
No

I love that book! Mr. Lemoncello's Library is the best! Getting back to topic, no, it is not a simile. I'm glad to help!

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/19/2018 - 20:24
Well you need to compare 2

Well you need to compare 2 things but in your phrase you are not comparing 2 things so the answer is no

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/29/2017 - 15:42
Well..

What was the sentence before that sentence. Because it would not be a simile if it just looked like something, you would have to compare something and in this sentence that u put it does not look like it.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/20/2017 - 00:44
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/16/2017 - 18:05
yes, that is definitely a

yes, that is definitely a simile. It compares two subjects and uses the word 'like'.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/18/2017 - 11:59
Simile use

Do similes only appear as simple sentences or can they appear as paragraphs? e.g., two different people, giving two different perspectives, one of nature and the other of man. In a sense, the author is drawing the parallels between two unrelated things.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/18/2017 - 17:09
Is this a simile

"Like clouds and wind without rain is one who boasts of gifts never given." Are statements that make the comparison, using the word like in the beginning of the sentence, still simile's?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/05/2017 - 19:57
Is this a simile?

sharks are more like dolphins than fish

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/10/2017 - 01:50
no

this is not a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/14/2017 - 03:21
No

This is not a simile because they are comparing sharks to dolphins also fish

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/11/2017 - 19:31
No

It's not a simile, it's a comparison; similes are usually closer to something like this: "He was like a zombie"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/05/2017 - 13:04
Yes

Yes it's a simile because he used "like"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/05/2017 - 18:24
No

Just because he used like does not mean that it is a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/07/2017 - 20:45
Is this a simile?

I don't think it is a simile since both sharks and dolphins are of the same kind. I mean they are animal and can't be simile. When you use simile, you need to compare two different kinds of things. For example, you're huge like a pig: you're very fat.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/28/2017 - 09:11
Is this a smile I can't

Is this a smile
I can't found that perfecr definition for this
( i feel I could walk all night for freedom)

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/22/2017 - 23:35
Help!

I looked and can't find what I'm looking for. I am pulling my hair out right now ( I don't have any hair)

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/05/2016 - 06:30
Is this a simile?

"His black eyes flashed like his glass when struck by the sun's rays"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/03/2016 - 22:55
Yes

Yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/08/2017 - 16:53
yes

it would be

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/15/2016 - 05:08
Yes

It is

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/15/2017 - 04:04
Would this be a simile?

He looked rather poor, yet he had on a tremendous grin.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/29/2016 - 13:36
no

That would be imagery.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/30/2016 - 02:15
is this a simile/

broken bodies that drip like honey comb

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 10/21/2017 - 20:03
What kind of literary device

Terrible truths and lullaby lies.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/12/2016 - 15:00
alliteration

alliteration

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/20/2017 - 06:25
Alliteration

Teribble abd Truths are have the same letter in the beginning same as Lullaby Lies

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/13/2016 - 01:36
is

Is "is a simile" like Her heart is black

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/29/2016 - 00:11
No, it's a metaphor, unless

No, it's a metaphor, unless you had more, example:
Her heart is black like the night
Or
Her heart is as black as the night

Simply "Her heart is black" would be figurative language or a metaphor.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 07/30/2016 - 23:10
Simile or not?

Tom is just like his brother.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/16/2016 - 20:51
Not wrong,but not fully correct

You would want to have a great contrast between what you are comparing. For example, Tom and Batman.Tom and his brother seem a little too similar. Also,there is no need for the word 'just'.However,you have gotten the point of using the word 'like' and making a comparison.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/06/2016 - 14:43

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options