Simile

Comments

66 comments posted
Help

What is "train your pupils to be observers" considered as?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/29/2014 - 00:03
THANX

I would have given anything for the power to soothe her frail soul, tormenting itself in its invincible ignorance like a small bird beating about the cruel wires of a cage.
to be continued..

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/15/2014 - 20:57
thanx

thanx that help
in my home work

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/19/2014 - 15:03
is this a simile

you look like a monkey or the door is like a pant

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/31/2014 - 22:58
YESSSSS

If a sentence has a person or object before like it is a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/29/2014 - 18:52
THANK U THANK U THANK U!!! :)

HELP SOOOOO MUCH... THNX ALOT!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/19/2014 - 00:36
this site is very good.

this site is very good. helped me a lot.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/09/2014 - 14:18
The problem is "LIKE"!

This is, like, a simile...right?? LOL!

Kids these days won't know a simile from everyday talking, like, ya know? :-)

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/04/2014 - 00:16
Wrong

"This is, like, a simile...right?? LOL!" is not using a simile because you're not comparing two things, you're just using the word "like" in a sentence.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/17/2014 - 19:33
thanks

this helped alottt

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/23/2014 - 22:09
thank you very much

thank you very much

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/12/2014 - 19:46
EXAM!!!!

THANKS EXAM TOMOROW!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/30/2014 - 01:33
Yes... I think it’s more

Yes... I think it’s more often used in poems and other literature writings to give written content some inner meaning and depth. Anyways thanks a lot for sharing your idea about what a simile is. I would like to see the examples of some similes.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/12/2013 - 14:03
helped with exam

Without this i would've been unaware of literary devices in poetry...

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/01/2013 - 20:40
thanks

this helped my homework
need to write a lot and a lot
easy Simile
thank you!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/18/2013 - 15:10
Omg

This really helped with my homework

THNX

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/25/2013 - 04:12
Excellent

Thanks.
This site is very informative.Got a lot of help from it...

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/20/2013 - 11:07
yes

helped with my studys

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/14/2013 - 23:18
is this a simile

his hand was shaking like a leaf

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/21/2013 - 16:39
YES

YES

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 02/22/2014 - 01:37
Yes it is

yes it is

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 12/04/2013 - 20:20
THANX

I LOVE THIS

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/03/2013 - 23:53
"He wore his happiness like a

"He wore his happiness like a mask and the girl had run off across the lawn with the mask and there was no way of going to knock on her door and ask for it back."
Is the part "he wore his happiness like a mask" a simile?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/30/2013 - 18:19
yes it is a simile

yes it is a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 12/29/2013 - 01:13
He wore his happiness like a

It is a simile. You are comparing two things (happiness and the mask) with using the word like. Hoped this helped you!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 11/04/2013 - 23:27
Simile or metaphor?

The very law that condemned her—a giant of stern features, but with vigor to support, as well as to annihilate, in his iron arm—had held her up, through the terrible ordeal of her ignominy

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/23/2013 - 03:35
Is "I carry them in my

Is "I carry them in my fingers, like suitcases." A simile? I don't know because its not a direct comparison.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 07/27/2013 - 02:13
Yes! That's in The Book

Yes! That's in The Book Thief, eh? When Death is carrying the souls? If so, then yes. Good book!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 08/12/2013 - 03:38
am lucky because all

am lucky because all vocabulary i found within this website became usable in to my examination surely i do congratulate who made this love and be blessed

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/24/2013 - 16:29
yes

yes it is cause its purple

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/03/2013 - 19:59
help!

what literary device is "a roar of laughter"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/15/2013 - 21:43
possibility

an idiom that uses onomatopoeia to convey meaning of something; most likely to show the pride and power of the people who laughed, and the undesired effect that the "roar of laughter" may create on the people who was laughed at.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/23/2013 - 13:50
Metaphor

Metaphor it compares the volume of the laughter to a roar. A roar is a steadily increasing loud noise that covers great distances and fills air spaces with resounding sound.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 04:08
Amazing site!!

Wow This Helped me alot in my Exams.!..Thanks To The Creators

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/19/2013 - 10:54
Can someone give me a simile

Can someone give me a simile using conformity?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/31/2013 - 23:20
Happy as a honey bee

Happy as a honey bee not hapy

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/10/2013 - 19:01
hapy as a honey bee

hapy as a honey bee

is that a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/09/2013 - 23:33
Is this a simile?

another shower of paper cylinders has covered the desk like a snowdrift.. Is that a similie?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/06/2013 - 21:07
Yes!

"like a snowdrift", they're comparing the amount of paper cylinders to a snow drift covering the desk.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/20/2014 - 02:09
Helpful trick

I often get confused with the difference between a simile and a metaphor, so my teacher taught us a helpful trick to remember what a simile is.

I am a simile, look at my as.

This doesn't exactly describe what it is, but it is a helpful little trick.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/31/2012 - 20:22
Yes

dude, I love you. perfect trick xD

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/13/2014 - 02:38
Hay

My teacher gave.me a attttttttt awsome

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/20/2012 - 04:28
LOVE IT!!!

I find this site very useful

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/07/2012 - 03:44
Amazing Site!!

I used this website to catch up in my English class. Thanks! :):)

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/24/2012 - 00:27
Hahahaha

Thx helps a lot

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/09/2012 - 02:34
awesome work

awesome work who ever created this extrememly helpful!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/20/2012 - 19:03
Is this a simile?

im not totally sure but is this a simile..."The previous reciever seemed just as old to me as i do to you. He was just as tired as i am today." Please help.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/28/2012 - 22:44
answer

No, that is not a smilie.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/24/2012 - 17:28
Please...

Please tell me this is sarcasm. Of course it's a simile your COMPARING ages.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 04:12
Very helpful website

Very helpful website

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/28/2012 - 16:46

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options