Simile

Comments

127 comments posted
Is this a simile?

I never dreamt of him, I never slept.
Stretched out at the foot of the grey oak, I watched his step.
And all of the burning winter, our love made the earth sing!
Like a revival, like an orison!

Is the last line two uses of simile?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/07/2016 - 17:26
yes is is

yes is is

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/10/2016 - 22:24
is this a simile?

sewage and sickness looked like life.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/15/2015 - 00:40
Simile

Is this a simile

The fact that he was all of the time made her feel as if her heart was being crushed into little pieces.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/14/2015 - 00:02
SImile

Is this a simile "It looked like an old painting but real"

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/07/2015 - 23:41
simile?

Certainty unfolded in her the way morning light fills a north room.

it is comparing but it does not use like or as. is it a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/26/2015 - 00:22
No, it is a simile. You are

No, it is a simile. You are not saying the certainty IS the morning light, which is what the metaphor version would be.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/16/2015 - 07:20
is this a similie or a metaphor

Like a crab, he inched his way down the hill

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/08/2015 - 16:20
is this a similie or a metaphor

yes it is a similie

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/11/2015 - 00:45
Answer

Simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/08/2015 - 01:40
it is

it is

a

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/01/2015 - 18:16
all of the above

all of the above

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/04/2015 - 20:19
simile

thats it bro

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/25/2015 - 22:07
Yes, because it uses the word

Yes, because it uses the word "like"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 06/22/2015 - 22:21
Simile

Is this a simile??

Maybe when things happened they left an echo. Like a yell travelling over a vast distance, until it was too faint to hear.

Or just some of it ?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/26/2015 - 12:21
sim ilie

only some of it the first bit is a metaphor

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/13/2016 - 22:20
The echo is a metaphor, which

The echo is a metaphor, which is elaborated on using a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/16/2015 - 07:21
yes. i do believe that is a

yes. i do believe that is a simile due to the word "like" in the second sentence, describing the echo.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/03/2015 - 22:22
Simile????? Or what

I wonder further in the wood

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/04/2015 - 21:32
no

not a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/08/2016 - 22:54
A similie uses like,as or

A similie uses like,as or such as.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/18/2015 - 02:10
no it wouldn't be classified

no it wouldn't be classified as a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/12/2015 - 04:46
Simile:she was as mean as my

Simile:she was as mean as my 3rd grade teacher, like a hag.
Simile?,??

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/15/2015 - 01:51
yes it is. as she is compared

yes it is. as she is compared to the third grade teacher with the help of 'as'

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 08/02/2015 - 05:39
Is this a simile

"Reinforce vaccination as a social norm "

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/01/2015 - 00:51
english (simile)

Itz a simile Anonymous

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/08/2015 - 21:33
is this a simile? It feels as

is this a simile?
It feels as if I’ve been waiting for 10 years instead of 10 minutes for the sluggish nurse to come back.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/04/2015 - 04:37
Yes this is a similie as it

Yes this is a similie as it uses the word 'as' to compare it to
Another statement

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/08/2015 - 16:58
Smile

Getthing chased by 4 7feet tall teenage boy is this a smile or nah

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/25/2015 - 17:51
simile

no is is not, however this is, my life was going crazy as if getting chased by a 7 foot tall teenage boy.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/20/2015 - 16:34
Not sure is this is a simile

"Correct us like a kind father."
If not a simile, what literary device could this be?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/22/2015 - 00:32
mhmmm

Yup it's a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/31/2015 - 03:09
with a massive effort,* like

with a massive effort,* like lifting a weight much too heavy for me *, tried to shift my mind where I knew it needed to be.

Is that a simile?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/15/2015 - 17:17
similar or not?

with a massive effort,* like lifting a weight much too heavy for me *, tried to shift my mind where I knew it needed to be.

This looks like a simile to me. You are comparing the effort of shifting your thoughts to the supreme effort of a weight lifter trying to shift a heavy load.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/05/2015 - 18:51
Hmmmmm???

I believe it isn't. When you're giving a simile example you have to make sure that describing someone to something or something to something. Although, if you were to wait that long that would be impossible

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/01/2015 - 00:50
Nope

it's is not

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/18/2015 - 19:14
with a massive effort,* like lifting a weight much too heavy for

This looks like a simile to me because the effort of shifting their mind is compared to a weight lifter trying to shift a heavy weight.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/05/2015 - 18:48
Simile or not? "My face turned pale as deadly pale" ????

Simile or not? "My face turned pale as deadly pale" ???? If not what literary device is it? Repetition? Imagery? Both ?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/14/2015 - 18:31
yes

yes it is!

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 03/31/2015 - 17:29
simile

Imagery

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/11/2015 - 23:09
Help

Is " He wants to stay like this forever" a simile???

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/18/2014 - 04:48
not really

it is not because what is he comparing to.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/27/2015 - 01:38
No.

No.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/06/2015 - 02:02
I dont think so bc your not

I dont think so bc your not comparing two unlike things

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/04/2015 - 01:15
simile

It es a Simile?

I am a good as edad if I can say

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/05/2014 - 04:23
simile

lol words can say like im as quick as a mounse

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/04/2015 - 18:01
THANKS :D

WHY IS ENGLISH SO CRUEL TO ME. MY ENGLISH TEACHER MAKES WRITE SOOOOOO MANY ESSAYS WITH LITERARY DEVICES AND THIS SITE HAS HELPED ME SO MUCH. :) THANKS FOR THIS SITE.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 11/30/2014 - 05:02
Simile or Not

She takes a lot of pictures like a photographer

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/22/2014 - 17:12
She takes a lot of pictures like. . . .a photographer?

Wow. Not grasping the phrasing. Would you write "She paints like a painter"? "She bets like a gambler"? "She played a solo like a musician"?

I would recast your sentence: She takes a lot of photographs.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/15/2015 - 04:08
yes

But barely

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/04/2014 - 04:55

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options