Simile

Comments

171 comments posted
Is this is simile?

"They looked like four-legged, pointy-nosed kites"- Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics

Would this be considered a simile?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/27/2017 - 01:40
yes, that is definitely a

yes, that is definitely a simile. It compares two subjects and uses the word 'like'.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/18/2017 - 11:59
Simile use

Do similes only appear as simple sentences or can they appear as paragraphs? e.g., two different people, giving two different perspectives, one of nature and the other of man. In a sense, the author is drawing the parallels between two unrelated things.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/18/2017 - 17:09
Is this a simile

"Like clouds and wind without rain is one who boasts of gifts never given." Are statements that make the comparison, using the word like in the beginning of the sentence, still simile's?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/05/2017 - 19:57
Is this a simile?

sharks are more like dolphins than fish

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 02/10/2017 - 01:50
No

This is not a simile because they are comparing sharks to dolphins also fish

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/11/2017 - 19:31
No

It's not a simile, it's a comparison; similes are usually closer to something like this: "He was like a zombie"

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/05/2017 - 13:04
Yes

Yes it's a simile because he used "like"

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/05/2017 - 18:24
No

Just because he used like does not mean that it is a simile.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/07/2017 - 20:45
Is this a simile?

I don't think it is a simile since both sharks and dolphins are of the same kind. I mean they are animal and can't be simile. When you use simile, you need to compare two different kinds of things. For example, you're huge like a pig: you're very fat.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/28/2017 - 09:11
Is this a smile I can't

Is this a smile
I can't found that perfecr definition for this
( i feel I could walk all night for freedom)

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/22/2017 - 23:35
Help!

I looked and can't find what I'm looking for. I am pulling my hair out right now ( I don't have any hair)

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/05/2016 - 06:30
Is this a simile?

"His black eyes flashed like his glass when struck by the sun's rays"

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/03/2016 - 22:55
Yes

Yes

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/08/2017 - 16:53
yes

it would be

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/15/2016 - 05:08
Would this be a simile?

He looked rather poor, yet he had on a tremendous grin.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/29/2016 - 13:36
no

That would be imagery.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/30/2016 - 02:15
What kind of literary device

Terrible truths and lullaby lies.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 08/12/2016 - 15:00
alliteration

alliteration

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/20/2017 - 06:25
Alliteration

Teribble abd Truths are have the same letter in the beginning same as Lullaby Lies

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/13/2016 - 01:36
is

Is "is a simile" like Her heart is black

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/29/2016 - 00:11
No, it's a metaphor, unless

No, it's a metaphor, unless you had more, example:
Her heart is black like the night
Or
Her heart is as black as the night

Simply "Her heart is black" would be figurative language or a metaphor.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 07/30/2016 - 23:10
Simile or not?

Tom is just like his brother.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/16/2016 - 20:51
Not wrong,but not fully correct

You would want to have a great contrast between what you are comparing. For example, Tom and Batman.Tom and his brother seem a little too similar. Also,there is no need for the word 'just'.However,you have gotten the point of using the word 'like' and making a comparison.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/06/2016 - 14:43
Is this a simile

Is this a simile?
He wore a t-shirt as a paltry ruse against public humiliation

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 06/09/2016 - 10:16
no its not a simile because

no its not a simile because your saying what he's wearing the t-shirt for. a simile example would be:

His paltry ruse t-shirt is like an advertisement for public humiliation.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/06/2016 - 00:30
No

It doesn't compare anything so no.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/24/2016 - 19:06
So we could say that The MLS

So we could say that The MLS is to Wheel of Fortune as The EPL is to Jeopardy.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/24/2016 - 21:18
Simile?

Is this a simile? My head was burning as if on fire.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/23/2016 - 05:47
Is "I remember it like it was

Is "I remember it like it was yesterday" a simile???

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/10/2016 - 04:08
Isn't that more like an

Isn't that more like an idiom?...

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/18/2016 - 22:04
Technically

Technically yes. You are comparing what happened long ago to what you feel when it happened. I guess so.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/11/2016 - 00:40
Is this a simile the line

Is this a simile the line from poem leisure by w. H Davies. No time to stand as long as sheep or cows

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/25/2016 - 11:39
No

a simile is a comparison

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/25/2016 - 19:54
i think your right

i think your right

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/01/2016 - 23:25
What are some similes in the

What are some similes in the book standing in the light

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/24/2016 - 02:34
simile?

Simile - “I think he’d had about four different girlfriends, but he kept them totally secret, and if I asked, he would deny it, as if girlfriends wasn’t cool.”

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/04/2016 - 17:51
not a simile:)

no it is not a simile

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/10/2016 - 00:09
You can't have double

You can't have double negatives in one sentence

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/03/2016 - 18:00
is this a simile

he is luring you in to make you easy prey

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/11/2016 - 07:19
Is this a simile reply

No, it is not a simile. A simile compares one thing to another using like or as.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 02/18/2016 - 03:28
Not quite

The phrase you used is a metaphor, not being a simile because there is no comparison.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/16/2016 - 23:54
Is this a simile?

I never dreamt of him, I never slept.
Stretched out at the foot of the grey oak, I watched his step.
And all of the burning winter, our love made the earth sing!
Like a revival, like an orison!

Is the last line two uses of simile?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/07/2016 - 17:26
yes is is

yes is is

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/10/2016 - 22:24
is this a simile?

sewage and sickness looked like life.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/15/2015 - 00:40
No

no, this is personification. the sewage and sickness cannot look like anything, so the author is giving the sewage and sickness human qualities

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/23/2016 - 17:33
Simile

Is this a simile

The fact that he was all of the time made her feel as if her heart was being crushed into little pieces.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/14/2015 - 00:02
Simile

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/21/2016 - 17:36
SImile

Is this a simile "It looked like an old painting but real"

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/07/2015 - 23:41
simile?

Certainty unfolded in her the way morning light fills a north room.

it is comparing but it does not use like or as. is it a metaphor?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/26/2015 - 00:22

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options