Simile

Comments

172 comments posted
Hahahaha

Thx helps a lot

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/09/2012 - 02:34
awesome work

awesome work who ever created this extrememly helpful!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/20/2012 - 19:03
Is this a simile?

im not totally sure but is this a simile..."The previous reciever seemed just as old to me as i do to you. He was just as tired as i am today." Please help.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/28/2012 - 22:44
answer

No, that is not a smilie.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/24/2012 - 17:28
Please...

Please tell me this is sarcasm. Of course it's a simile your COMPARING ages.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 04:12
Very helpful website

Very helpful website

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/28/2012 - 16:46
simile?/Idiom?

is "As the crow flies" considered a simile or a idiom? Or both?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/28/2012 - 03:56
Depends on Context

If it means the "while" form of "as" then it is not a simile (e.g. He is sleeping as/while the crow flies.)

If it is a comparisons, then it is a simile (e.g. He sleeps as well as the crow flies.)

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/25/2013 - 00:59
both

both

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/07/2012 - 03:42
Is this a simile?

“We were conducted immediately to the merchants’ yard, where we were all pent up together like so many sheep in a fold, without regard to sex or age”

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 07/19/2012 - 23:46
Yes

Yes, because "where we were all pent up together" is being compare to "sheep in a fold"

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/25/2013 - 01:01
simile

it means a simile is figure of speech that uses like or as

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/30/2013 - 18:16
thx

thx

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/07/2014 - 22:37
i think so

i think so

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/11/2012 - 21:48
yes, it is. :)

yes, it is. :)

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/09/2012 - 03:19
great site!!!

my english teacher gave us a 56-word vocab list, and their all on here! i wonder if this is just a coincidence... >.>

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/17/2012 - 19:02
I dont like that example the author gave.

More examples are "as happy as a lark" , "as cool as a cucumber" etc

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/02/2012 - 17:57
yes, the "you lie" song

yes, the "you lie" song lyrics are similes.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/24/2012 - 04:45
You Lie

If anyone has heard the song "You Lie" by The Band Perry, are the choruses similes?

"You lie like a priceless Persian rug on a rich man's floor"
"You lie like a coon dog basking in the sunshine on my porch"
"You lie like a penny in a parking lot at the grocery store"

"You lie like the man with the slick back hair who sold me that Ford"
"You lie like the pine tree in the back yard after last month's storm"

Are those considered similes?

Thanks!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/17/2012 - 03:07
SIMILIE

YES. THEY ARE SIMILIES BECAUSE THEY ARE COMPARING THE PRONOUN "YOU" WITH OTHER THINGS

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/28/2013 - 14:26
Great work whom ever created

Great work whom ever created this site!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/14/2012 - 02:17
I know right? =D

I know right? =D

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/19/2012 - 01:39

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options