Stream of consciousness

Comments

12 comments posted
James Joyce

Joyce is the king of the stream. Check out Ulysses, he has sentences that last for pages. Literally.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/04/2014 - 00:42
annakrenina

Tolstoy uses it but not too often as Virginia does.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 05/03/2014 - 21:04
Naguib Mahfouz

uses this extensively in The Thief and the Dogs.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/31/2014 - 09:02
see William Faulkner

see William Faulkner

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/06/2014 - 20:53
My mother is a fish

Shudders
If you attempt to read William Faulkner be forewarned, it extrememely difficult to understand and grasp what stupid narators are actually seeing and trying to say.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/24/2014 - 14:42
An author in his book must be

An author in his book must be like God in his universe, present everywhere and visible nowhere.
-Gustave Flaubert

Professor Hill, I felt this proverb was an excellent introduction within understanding how authors employ narrative techniques.

Ravanna A. Heyward-Bey
English 102

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 02/24/2014 - 21:21
The story story "The Jilting

The story story "The Jilting of Granny Weatherall" is a great example of this!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/24/2013 - 15:17
William Faulkner

He is a prime example of a writer who uses stream of consciousness.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/26/2013 - 08:06
Jack Kerouac

can't believe nobody mentioned him!

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 08/17/2013 - 21:15
Example

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce also uses this :)

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/03/2013 - 05:37
example

I think parts of Catcher in the Rye has stream of consciousness but I'm not 100% sure.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/09/2012 - 05:13
haha! First Comment

crazy stuff lol

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/12/2012 - 02:12

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options