Symbol

Comments

84 comments posted
pretty

Nice examples of symobls

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 01/23/2015 - 02:01
PLEASE

So, I've been trying to find what kind of literary device is in this verse(other than simile) :
'On a stormy sea of moving emotion
Tossed about, I'm like a ship on the ocean
I set a course for winds of fortune...'
I thought MAYBE it was a symbol, but with this, I'm kind of thinking maybe not. Does anybody know?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/12/2015 - 09:24
simile "like a ship on a sea"

simile "like a ship on a sea"

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/22/2015 - 06:12
Hyperbole maybe?

Hyperbole maybe?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 01/19/2015 - 01:18
CARRY ON MY WAYWARD

CARRY ON MY WAYWARD SON
THERE'LL BE PEACE WHEN YOU ARE DONE
LAST YOUR WEARY HEART TO REST
DON'T YOU CRY NO MORE

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/15/2015 - 18:11
Ds site z realy v

Ds site z realy v hlpful...thanx alot

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/18/2014 - 07:18
symbol of life

i need examples of life!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/08/2014 - 18:06
LIfe Examples

Things like water or trees...
They provide life, and life could not exist without them.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/14/2015 - 21:44
homeworkk!!!!

would a cabin used for vacation be a symbol?

also i don't get what symbols are. or how to find them in a passage

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/10/2014 - 00:35
Reply

It depends on if the cabin represents something bigger—if, for example, that is a cabin that everyone in one family has visited at one time or another. Then it would represent longevity and maybe some darker things.

Symbols are just things that allude to something else. A dove is a symbol of peace and so is an olive branch.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/02/2014 - 08:55
is river a symbol

hey i have a quetion is an actual river a symbol?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 10/08/2014 - 00:58
Anything could be a symbol as

Anything could be a symbol as long as it has some deeper meaning.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/20/2015 - 06:15
it can be. but what should be

it can be. but what should be distinguished is that symbol in literature is completely different

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/07/2014 - 23:25
*Hey, I have a question. Is

*Hey, I have a question. Is an actual river a symol?
-There isn't enough context given to adequately respond to this question.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/05/2014 - 04:17
Symbol=Symbolism?

Is symbol the same as symbolism?
BTW nice site

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/07/2014 - 04:27
Amazing

I loved this site. It helps me a lot.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/06/2014 - 03:08
k

Like a raven is the sign of evil and death.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 09/25/2014 - 19:55
kenning

For librarier who protects the city from an evil electrical villiam

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 08/27/2014 - 02:49
HELP!!!!!!

Is this a symbol if not what is it?
you gave me the roots to start this life and then you gave me wings to fly (its talking about mothers if that helps)

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/28/2014 - 02:03
I would say its an extended

I would say its an extended metaphore

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/29/2014 - 05:44
English

Pleace can you help me in this quote which literary device I can use "All conflict in literature is in its simplest form a struggle between good and evil"

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 05/02/2014 - 01:55
VERY HELPFUL!!!!!!!!!

Thank you soooooooooo much. This website is very helpful

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/29/2014 - 01:26
great

i like this site !

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 04/20/2014 - 17:33
Need Help??

How in the world could you Symbolize " Increase in violence in schools"?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 20:57
homework

is "as soon as one trail fades another appears"

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/10/2014 - 02:20
Yes it id. It id actually

Yes it id. It id actually very similar to the example provided above

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 09/30/2014 - 04:36
HOMEWORK!!!!

This helped so much with homework, I forgot my lit. book at school, THANKS!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/27/2014 - 02:02
Useful

This page proved much useful for me . It helps me to understand a literary genre SYMBOL easily...
IMRAN BIN RASHEED
SEER JAGIR SOPORE J&K

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 02/01/2014 - 16:54
Love This Site

This site is really amazing! I have a project due and a poet, my poet is Gary Soto, and this really helped! Thank you to all the people who posted helpful tips and answers, I appreciate it!

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 12/03/2013 - 06:09
nice!

Gary Soto is one of my most favorite writer. Do you know Buried Onions? its of my favorite.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/27/2014 - 06:37
question?

Hi! Is "I will expect a fresh, new life" a symbol???

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 11/27/2013 - 05:59
is aslan from the chronicles

is aslan from the chronicles of Narnia a symbol, as in he resembles Christ?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/01/2013 - 18:29
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/26/2014 - 03:28
Well

I thought it was more like comparison and contrast.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/07/2013 - 21:05
Yes

Yes

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/02/2013 - 20:10
thanks b

thanks b

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 07/23/2013 - 14:39
question

Is a symbol the same thing as symbolism??

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 06/01/2013 - 20:54
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/31/2013 - 16:03
kinda

A symbol is only a single symbol symbolism is a term that refers to the use of symbols

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 10/17/2013 - 14:47
yes!

yes!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 09/02/2013 - 00:19
thanks

this was helpful

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 04/29/2013 - 02:20
symbol

Can a character be used as a symbol? For example can one say Griffin symbolizes change?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/24/2013 - 02:23
Yes, it can. If the

Yes, it can. If the character's personality consists of it, than it is possible.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 06/12/2013 - 23:16
thx

thanks eh

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/20/2013 - 19:40
you're the best!

This is so useful! I'll use this again!

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/11/2013 - 05:54
Thanks...

This page is really nice...and it helps me slot 4 my upcoming exams....so thanks.
LITERARY DEVICES...

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 02/23/2013 - 10:13
can i ask

My teacher assigned a poetry assignment and we have to find literary techniques in the poems so would "My dreams are like a broken window" Be anything besides a simile!?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/07/2013 - 06:06
i think so

i belive that it might have a hidden meaning, don't know what that would be called though. sorry if it is a bit late.

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 05/27/2013 - 12:14
LOVE YOU!!

This is definetly an awesome websight :D you helped me so much in my essays and exams!! if i could marry this websight i could T^T

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 02/12/2013 - 19:46
confusion over which device to call it: methaphr or personificat

A rose is passion, love, romance.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/10/2013 - 03:13

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options