Tone

Comments

71 comments posted
I

Is proverb a tone?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/20/2015 - 04:51
nice i love tone

nice i love tone

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 11/07/2015 - 22:10
Attitude

How dose the attitude have to do with the tone?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 09/30/2015 - 17:23
What is Tone

Attitude deals with how someone thinks and feels about a topic or matter. So attitude, deals with how the author thinks and feels about the writing, or a character(s), or details of the story.

For example,

I don't know why think I cared of your thoughts; did I ask or suggest a response to what I am dealing with in the present. If you bother me with your concerns again, I will tell you matter-of-factly, "I don't give a darn, honey". Please do not add into my mind any thoughts or yours because I do not care. Is that clear?

In the example above, the author has an "I don't care attitude about the text he or she is dealing with. More importantly, the character the author is talking to, the speaker or author does not care what that person thinks, so why bother the author/speaker to give him or her what you think about anything. That is tone. What is the author's tone? One of "I don't care; I don't give a darn, and don't bother me."

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 10/11/2015 - 17:28
tone

I just want to know the scholars of tone and
how many types of tone have exactly been defined?

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 07/26/2015 - 09:53
me to

how many tones are there

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 12/03/2015 - 20:16
Tone Clarification

I know the difference between tone and mood. However, the rule for determining tone is a little unclear. The way I currently view tone is that it's the reader's job to determine what tone the author uses. So, with that being said, can tone be viewed differently from one reader to the next? For example, one of my students viewed the author's tone of a text more positively, while another of my student's viewed the same author's text in a more neutral light.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 04/30/2015 - 17:12
Shift

Can tone be used as a "shift" in a poem?

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/25/2015 - 19:54
yes it can

Yes, it can be used as a shift in a poem.

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 05/26/2015 - 01:21
The Volunteer by John Bailey .

what tone is this poem ?!?!?

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 04/15/2015 - 15:39
tone

is doubt a tone?

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/30/2015 - 12:55
Yes

Yes. Tone is the attitude or view of the author considering what he or she is writing. In the writing, the author could be doubtful about what is going on.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/05/2015 - 20:29
Question:

Can bravery be a tone and can tone be in context other than dialogue?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 09/05/2014 - 06:53
It cannot be a tone and it

It cannot be a tone and it can be in context

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 02/25/2015 - 04:58
What would be the tone of the

What would be the tone of the poem Caged Bird by Maya Angelou? since it describes a nice setting for a free bird and a much more negative for the caged bird?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 08/07/2014 - 23:50
Caged Bird

Of course, it's a poem and it's up for interpretation. However, I think you might be interested in the author's attitude towards the contrast and towards freedom (or lack thereof). I agree with you when you say "nice" and "negative" but you might want to read it again looking for some more specific words to describe its tone. The contrast between the free and caged bird is what makes the poem what it is, but it also makes the tone a bit harder to define. You could try saying this is the tone towards a caged bird, that is the tone towards a free bird, and the overall tone is...

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 01/07/2015 - 02:52
Potter

YAY POTTERHEADS

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 04/19/2014 - 02:21
Harry potter 4ever

POTTERHEADS FOREVER!!! We all rock!!

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 03/15/2015 - 14:58
ya

ya

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/27/2014 - 04:21
An easier way to summarize

An easier way to summarize the entire last part would just be to say the word "propaganda"- or manipulating someones opinion. For example, tone can help change your view on a character.

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/19/2014 - 04:22
Man English is the hardest

Man English is the hardest subject ever!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/04/2014 - 19:02
i agreeeeeee

i agreeeeeee

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 08/16/2014 - 19:47
GRAMMAR!!!!!!

It is actually "I agree."

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 03/19/2015 - 13:45
it is but...

...knowledge is power! :)

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 03/05/2014 - 00:26
knowledge is power

knowledge is power; but power gets corrupted. So study to be evil >:D

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/17/2014 - 04:33
And a drawf standing on the

And a drawf standing on the shoulders of giants sees the furthest of the two.

Fahrenheit 451 refrence

Posted by Anonymous on Wed, 05/07/2014 - 16:22
bo way! i think it's french!

bo way! i think it's french!

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 01/12/2014 - 20:09
French is not that hard

French is not that hard. I'd say that Math is the hardest subject

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 01/16/2014 - 06:25
js

I think we can all agree that all three subjects are pretty hard

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 01/25/2014 - 23:42
nah mate maths is easy

nah mate maths is easy

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 05/11/2014 - 15:15
Depends...

Depends on what math you're taking... Calculus? Advanced Functions? Sure, in elementary school it was easy, but it gets harder in high school...

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 10/02/2015 - 02:09
Hmm...

I think that no subject is hard... If you try your best, that is. And if you do 5-10 minutes of revision on each subject each night like me then of course it won't be hard!

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 02/16/2014 - 05:23
Huh

Yeah, I don't agree. Some people have a hard time trying to learn a subject that they are weak in. But they just don't get it. It's like this:
ME+MATH=WHAT?
You might just be really smart or have superhero magic. Cause I don't see how 10-15 minutes of studying helps. I work for at least two hours on math homework, and I still don't get it. But then again... everyone is different :P

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/04/2015 - 02:05
it depends on the person

what subjects a person finds easy differs accordingly. someone can be great at math without doing too much revision but can't be good at french at all like me.

Posted by Anonymous on Sun, 09/28/2014 - 17:49
thx

thank u your amazing i would not of learned with out you :)

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 12/02/2013 - 22:25
Grammar

*you're *have *without

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/15/2014 - 07:40
Grammar Nazi ^^

you don't have to be so stuck up.. people make mistakes

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 08/25/2015 - 22:33
Would this work?

Could determined be a an example of tone?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 23:53
yes

yes

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 01/14/2014 - 03:30
In my opinion on how the

In my opinion on how the English language works, I believe that determination is definitely an example of tone.

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 12/20/2013 - 03:39
Tone

Could the tone be reflective? As in the author reflects upon the events leading up to the death of an animal?

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 11/22/2013 - 02:44
can someone give to examples

can someone give to examples of tone

Posted by Anonymous on Mon, 10/21/2013 - 02:00
Tone vs mood

In case any of y'all are wondering, the difference between tone and mood is that tone is the feelings the author shows while mood is the feeling that is happening in the work. For example, if an author is talking about religion and he uses negative words then that's tone, but if it's a suspenseful scene, then that's mood.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, 09/21/2013 - 16:20
Not really...

Mood is the reader's feeling.

Tone is the writer's feeling.

It is READER vs. WRITER.

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 11/05/2015 - 20:33
literary def of tone

what is the literary definition of tone?

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/23/2013 - 01:45
yes or no?

im not sure which please help!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Thu, 05/02/2013 - 00:44
TEE HEEE

I dont like poetry YOLO

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/19/2013 - 06:19
you sir... are a king

you are a king, sir. we hail you, sipping from our cup till the run is over. HOLY GRAIL!

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 10/08/2013 - 18:08
COMMENT

you guys are awsome ,but do you have first and third person piont of view and if you don't can you put it up before tomorrow it's for my HW!! :0

Posted by Anonymous on Fri, 04/19/2013 - 00:45
tone and illustration

what is a illustration in a tone?

Posted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/09/2013 - 03:10

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options